We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously underwhelming rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mountview
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Seriously underwhelming rooms.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I get the sense it was quite the hotel in its heyday, but the rooms have gotten really run down and the overall flavor is a bit depressing.

Positives: beautiful exterior at the entry (gardens, etc); super-courteous doormen and front desk, tasty made-to-order omelettes in the morning at the lobby coffee shop/restaurant, a very nice upstairs bar. I hear the upstairs Chinese restaurant is amazing, though I didn't try it myself.

Negatives: by far, the rooms themselves. They are dilapidated, outdated, and unpretty. Very few electrical outlets, and most of them are completely unusable. I felt a bit peeved that you only get one hour of free wi-fi per day, but even then the wi-fi did not work a single time that I tried to use it. The bathrooms have huge buckets in each bathtub. Best I could figure, it's for throwing water at a fire should one break out. There are no dresser drawers in the room. No robes or slippers in the room. I called for a robe and it was a federal affair to get one; when it came, it was clean but obviously really old, on its last legs, and totally uncomfortable. A few other quibbles: the tea and coffee in the lobby restaurant were really not good.

I understand they are planning to renovate the rooms -- this would make the hotel far more attractive and worth staying in. Until then, I'd look for another place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dropofhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, General Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Greetings from Team Mountview, Chandigarh

Thanks for your valuable feedback. We would like to assure you that all the inputs given by you especially with regard to rooms, wi-fi and restaurant service are well taken and will be worked upon.
Hoping to serve you soon again

Warm Regards

Vijay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    69
    20
    14
See reviews for
49
40
16
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Elegant lobby. Very nice grounds and pool. Rooms are circa 1980 decor, but very clean and large and comfortable bed. The Magic Wok restaurant on top floor DELICIOUS. Good security. Excellent breakfast, included. I believe they are remodeling the rooms on one half of hotel. Considered a five star hotel in region - 3 star American. Excellent gym.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessPr0fessi0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, General Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings from Team Mountview, Chandigarh !!!

Thanks for your visit to the hotel and giving us a chance to serve you. Yours words of encouragement mean a lot to us.
Hoping to see and serve you in near future.

Warm Regards

Vijay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The place is located in a calm and quiet neighborhood. Easily connected by local transport of buses, departing every 30 mins to the place, or can take an auto rickshaw from outside the gate or can use the cab service. If u think the person is fleecing u can call a cab by simply dialing 0172- 4747474, 4343434.
The hotel has a great team and they help u in making your stay a pleasant one...

Room Tip: Enjoy the view from the rooms overlooking the pool on the west side....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prubhdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, General Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest
Greetings from Team Mountview, Chandigarh !!!

Foremost on behalf of my entire team I will like to express may gratitude for the heartwarming review left by you. Your words of appreciation have definitely given a boost to the moral of our staff.
We fervently wish to welcome you in near future.

Hoping to see and serve you in near future.

Warm Regards

Vijay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
233 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Once the only large hotel in Chandigarh, the Beautiful City of North-west India, Mountview is not for the discerning traveller. Taj & Marriott are now the better options. Even the Sarovar property behindTaj is a better choice.

The spa & health club, though physically in the hotel campus, has been auctioned off to a private party. It runs independently and the lady incharge demands cash payment for usage of the facilities. Massage is very expensive and clearly not value for money.

Reception is manned by people with Sarkari mindset. The English speaking skills of the girls are very poor. Wi-fi is very expensive when similar hotels nowadays offer it complimentary.

It would be nice if the govt. sells off the hotel or its operation to private entities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, General Manager at Hotel Mountview, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Greetings from Team Mountview, Chandigarh !!!

The feedback given by you would greatly help us improve our services. We assure you that suggestions particularly for the Health Club, Wi-fi charges are well taken and in future visits you will certainly find the difference.
We wish you all the success and hope to see you again.

Warm Regards

Vijay Sharma
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

New delhi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Am really happy to stay in Mountview recently on my business trip to chd...i was impressed with the service of hotel staff and food quality ....i look forward to stay again whenever i am next in Chandigarh...recommend my friend to stay whenevers they are in Chd...Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayNewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very true saying comes true when you experience this property.I stayed in this property and come to know about this as it was my most comfortable trip and special thanks to GM Mr. Vijay Sharma who made my trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinta_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A best stay in Mount View is all about the comfort nd the coziness. I felt it when I was looking for something special nd different, nd got it at d right time. I specially can nt forget the dec`or of all the rooms nd felt extremely pampared staying there. Love to visit the same again nd again.Special thanks to GM Mr. Vijay Sharma.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VashnaviB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
0.7 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#1 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#3 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#6 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountview

Property: Hotel Mountview
Address: Sector-10, Chandigarh 160011, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mountview 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing