We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mountview
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
New Delhi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Mountview in Nov 2010 and recently in May 2012, the stay was not worth the money. I did not like the stained carpeting on the floor of my room. The housekeeping staff was speaking so loudly in front of my room at 7:00am that I had to come out and tell them to please go some where else. The front office staff is not very conversant & helpful. However, the restaurant staff is nice & courteous and the food was decent too. The infrastructure of the hotel otherwise is good being a govt managed property.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ras_Baijal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    117
    69
    19
    14
See reviews for
48
39
15
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights here; excellent rooms and service. It would be nice though if they can provide internet/Wifi as part of the package. The buffet dinner was excellent and had a lot of choices. They also had a traveler desk who made it easy for me to go around and visit my customer sites. They offered both pick-up and drop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raj_sundar7252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

An ex-government officers hostel, now ran as a government managed hotel. This Hotel, in my opinion needs a bit of work - it could be very nice indeed. The rooms are ok; worn and tatty in parts (coffee table has burn marks for example, and pretty cheap furniture all round), but the bed was comfy and it is clean (yes, these should be prerequisites). The bathroom I had is in need of some urgent attention - very retro and tired and the bath had cracks in it!
The hotel lobby is pretty smart and vast - but this is not where one spends much time. The 24 hour coffee lounge has nice views over the gardens and there are a number of other restaurants (inc a Chinese) and a bar. The staff tend to fall into two camps - grumpy reception staff who boss around the other staff, and a second group composed of the waiters/security guards. The waiters are pleasant enough but you need to persistently ask them to do anything - they don't come to you to take your breakfast order for example. This includes drinks. It becomes a bit tedious having to ask for eggs, then toast, then coffee etc. The coffee is particularly poor - from an old automated machine that dispenses bland tasteless cappuccinos! It is the little things, such as the coffee, that let this hotel down. Although it claims to be 5 star – it is not!
There isn't really any 'drive' about the place - it is, well, very 'public sector'! I should have guessed when I was attempting to make the booking - they didn't get back to me to confirm the booking, wouldn't accept credit cards initially to secure the booking (wanted me to transfer money to their bank account), and generally made things difficult - they wanted me to send a copy of my passport/visa to them two days before I was due to arrive - as I was already in India this wasn't possible - all needlessly bureaucratic. When I came to check out they wouldn’t accept my company credit card for some reason, despite confirming this was ok in advance. I had to use my personal credit card in the end. The staff on the front desk are so rude – it is almost funny.
There aren't many international visitors to Chandigarh and I think the hotels in the city leave a lot to be desired generally, especially in light of the prices they charge. Mount View is in a convenient location in Sector-10 and there are some good coffee shops opposite if you need a decent coffee. It is within walking distance of the city museums, you can get to Sector-17 by pedal-rickshaw in about 10 minutes (don't pay more than Rs40!). The gardens/lawns are well maintained and there is also a pool/gym. WIFI internet is an extra at Rs170/hour (v. slow). If the other decent hotels in the city are fully booked then this place is an option, but ideally, I wouldn't stay here again, I popped into the Shivalik View hotel in Sector-17 and it looks a lot better (cheaper too), with a decent roof top restaurant and bar with good views.

Room Tip: I would try to stay at the front of the hotel - i.e. not overlooking the rear lawn, as it is used fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have stayed at this the Hotel Mountview three times now, it is what I would call a good old solid and reliable hotel. It is owned by the government, so the employees will tend to be there for life, as we seen the same hotel staff each year.

All the staff are helpful and charming, and the hotel is very clean too. It has great grounds which is very ideal if you have young children who want to roam around and play outside of the hotel room but within the hotel grounds, it is very safe to do this.

There is a also a very nice rooftop restaurant with the option to eat indoors or outdoors.

Wi-Fi is not free at this hotel, you have to buy coupons from reception.

This hotel advertises itself as 5 star, before any of the international hotels opened in Chandigarh you could see this would be a 5 star, however, now that the Taj, Marriot and a Plaza have opened I think the Hotel Mountview will need to improve its level of customer service and customer experience to claim it is truly a 5 star international hotel.

Room Tip: If you have a family, go for one of the Royal Suites on the ground floor, you can have the hotel put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaldron63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

its a nice hotel and stayed with my wife though a little old but decent service and good location as well

Room Tip: decent hotels and nice stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmehta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is good in every way, from the quality of the rooms to the food and the prices you pay.
Most recommended hotel for your stay in Chandigarh

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kishanganj
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

we stayed there few years back.was anxious as this hotel is a govt owned . however as we landed there we were helped along nicely. the best thing liked was was plenty of space be it lobby or rooms.food and service was good.pool area was nice.would like to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukhen Kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.7 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
2.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#2 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#3 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountview

Property: Hotel Mountview
Address: Sector-10, Chandigarh 160011, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mountview 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing