We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”
Review of Virgin Courtyard

Virgin Courtyard
Ranked #11 of 1,509 Restaurants in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

So we went to Virgin Courtyard recently for a quiet family dinner outing and it was absolutely the right choice.

There is a marked improvement in the service and food from last time I went there a few months ago. Due to the humidity issues we decided to sit inside this time where it was comfortably cool and the place also had more diners there this time than the last time I went there.We were on the safer side as we had reservations as people coming 30-40 minutes later had to wait for a table.

The service this time was impeccable. The servers were as well informed as they should be and were also nice.

I did not really find the dining table type chair too comfortable though. The back was a little too stiff for me.

They started with the traditional Italian Bread with Olive oil an vinegar which all of us really enjoy. The Tomato Bruschetta and Chicken stuffed with olives with honey chilli sauce was absolutely wonderful too.

For the main course we had ravioli, chicken stew and their pepperoni, salami and ham pizza from the weekend menu and the star of the night was definitely the Pizza!!

We also licked clean the dessert which we also chose from the weekend menu.

It was actually a perfect evening. Then it was ruined by some rude diners who were waiting for 5 minutes or so and the moment they saw that we had asked for a cheque they literally came to our table and started sitting down! I mean how rude is that??!! That left a bitter taste in the mouth and we gave a piece of our mind to the manager on our way out about not handling the waiting customers well enough (though it wasn't all his fault as they kind of snaked around him).

Other than the silly incident caused by other people, it was an absolutely wonderful evening with the family and I again recommend this place as they have actually improved from good to even better!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShavyDhaliwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    77
    16
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantabulous”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

When ever you get to know about a new place claiming to serve "good italian" food.. you have your reservations.. We went to this place with least expectations but we were really pleased to be at this place..

Ambiance (10/10) - the white does the magic and the rustic look nothing overboard.. all blends well
Staff (10/10) - polite and respectful plus more important had knowledge about the food served in the restaurant.
Food (10/10) - i not a avid veg eater but loved the veg stuff we ordered.. the veg lasagna was too good so was the wood fire pizza plus the garlic bread.. even my 4 year old loved it.
Price (10/10) - meal for 3 with 2 starters and 1 veg lasagna & pizza it was Rs 1446.. including taxes .. you kidding me.... reasonable from the other ones we have been to.

Definitely going back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandeepKang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful evening”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

me n my fiance visited virgin courtyard on our first date . we order veggie lasagne with soft drinks. Hospitality n food was good . It was our first experience with Italian cuisine but its awesome . The ambiance has European touch . I love to visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vandananubhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply Superb !!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

For Continental food and Italian kitchen - Simply Superb.....the food is always very good and it never fails. So far the food is consistent and hope it stays that ways....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arvindmahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced average food”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is a restaurant where you get Italian food only. Reaching here is a bit tough considering it is situated on the backyard of SCO 1, sector 7.Ambience insides is mediocre. Sitting arrangement in the courtyard is very likeable but in summer you would prefer to dine in the dining hall. Food is average. We ordered rissoto, ceaser salad and a chicken italian dish (do not rembee the name). Rissoto was below average and ceaser salad was average.the saving grace wasthe chicken dish which was really delicious. Drink ----three layered baman special was crap and mocha frappe was good.Desert---blueberry cheesecake was ok. We sat outside in the courtyard and reading the menu in candle light was a real pain in the neck.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Courtyard also viewed

Chandigarh, India
Chandigarh, India
 
Chandigarh, India
 

Been to Virgin Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing