We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
While in Chandigarh,you don't find dolls in Rock Garden alone!!

I want to congratulate the Chandigarh Administration for this small yet serene museum of dolls . It... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
vipul74
,
Chandigarh, India
fine collection of dolls

the museum is explicitly for kids . the dolls indicating dresses of all indian states & other... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2018
kkarthikeyan2105
,
Bathinda, India
Read all 65 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Chandigarh
from $32.00
More Info
from $305.00
More Info
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
18
22
21
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
22
21
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews different states different parts information provided small kids chandigarh administration tales depicted collection fairy 5rs india sector showcase bal model upkeep place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 65 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

A must on Chandigarh visit. Read about countries who maintain 99% Christianity n 99% literacy. Think over it. Development lies in our religious heritage n education. Long live Hindus.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Journey46433475644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

the museum is explicitly for kids . the dolls indicating dresses of all indian states & other countries are displayed . statistics are also provided . also many creations on fairy tales are also kept in the museum . found to be part of school tours for kids ..well maintained ..must visit for kids

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kkarthikeyan2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2018

This museum is like international dolls museum in new delhi where dolls from different countries with their cultures are displayed. Although, it needs very little maintenance.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 965anuragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

As a traveller, I have started to realize that many times the place appears better in pictures than in reality. And the same appears to be the case of Doll House. We made two unsuccessful attempts to go to the museum – first it was the 1st of October – a Monday and holiday for the place. I soon realized that possibly half of Chandigarh was closed on a Monday. And if that was not enough, the national holiday of 2nd October meant that we could not go there either the next day. Luckily, our Chandigarh stay got extended by the persuasion of our kids that meant that on 3rd attempt we managed to go there for a quick visit. But I still wondered what business was a tourist place to be closed on a long weekend and holidays – it should have been definitely kept open.

Established in 1985, the museum is located at Bal Bhawan, in Sector 23, Chandigarh. But the place was possibly a government run center unlike a popular tourist place. There was a moderate fee for adults (10 Rs) – kids being free and small fee for camera (5rs) . There were ladies as care takers who hardly cared about the visitors.

The place did offer interesting insight into the culture and dresses of a number of countries. However, the collection was limited and could have definitely been enhanced. It was obvious that the place was not well maintained and parts of ceiling was falling off – It was definitely a disappointment. Furthermore, it also seemed that after initial excitement that led to creation of this Bal Museum, there were not many champions of the idea – and the time seemed to have paused for the museum. That is why the collection was not improved. A stark contrast for me was the Shell Museum which was brilliant to say the least – again due to the brilliance of its creator.

Nonetheless, located in heart of the city with easy reach, for small kids and girls, it could be interesting place for 30 min or so. If not for the falling ceiling, I could have given 4 stars – Buckup Chandigarh!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sumit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We went there as my friend had promised his grand children to take here . I also decided to relive my childhood . There is good variety of dolls of different times and different parts of states of India and other countries . Governor Amolak Rattan Kohli

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank AmolakRattanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews