We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No disappointment, but there are better options in Chandigarh”
Review of Hotel Oyster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oyster
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
delhi
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No disappointment, but there are better options in Chandigarh”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We just needed a comfortable room for night as our stay at Chandigarh was only for transit. Oyster was chosen primarily on its closeness to Sec 17 market. We took one luxury suite and it has everything to make you comfortable; a massage chair, bath tub, good quality beds, complimentary mini bar, space..no complaints from room. Buffet breakfast was of average quality and had moderate variety. Staff was courteous but not very professional. For the price, there are better branded options in Chandigarh and Oyster can surely be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
32
9
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

excellent room for 3500 . excellent food and value addition in room is massage chair and steam bath. interior is too good.
I am at 402.

next time when I visit chanfigarh , this is my default booking.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank official_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff was friendly but:
Room had filthy walls.
Knobs falling off shower door.
No hot water for shower.
Very noisy (dogs barking at night)
Housekeeping called me at 6:15 and again at 9 to clean my room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hooszr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

been there to show case my new samples as whole hotel was being used for booking purpose.
Hotel have nothing extra ordinary. all the regular stuff aprt from ocation which is good.
food in restaurant is again ok.
overall avoid is my call.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arunjain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Location wise this is in good location. This is the second time I am staying there. First experience was better. this time when we checked in the room the whole bathroom was flooding with water. after repeated follow up this was cleaned. I had to check out in early morning. Had to wake up the receptionist.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PullKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

a very good hotel in the heart of the city chandigarh with a very cool and nice restaurant. rates are also under limit and food is awesome. i will prefer to have food over here. rooms are good and interiors are excellent. every room has its its own look...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prashantgupta1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel is a bit hard to find if coming by feet from Sector 17 center.

Hotel looks and feels like any European business class hotel so my first impressions were good.

My room #209 had bad wifi connectivity due to low signal from the router. I asked for a different room and they gave me #203, which had the same wifi issue and as an added bonus non-working AC.

I went outside for a walk and asked to fix the AC meanwhile. When I come back I ask the lady at the reception if the issues with the room have been fixed. She said yes, and I come to the room to witness that the issues are not fixed. I go downstairs and demand to talk with the hotel manager. I was told to wait in my room. Instead of the manager, the maintenance guy shows up in my room and after 15 mins of work he got the AC working.

Now, why was the AC not fixed during my absence as per my request? Why was I not offered a room upgrade or some other compensation for not being able to offer me a room which provides the things I paid for?

Breakfast was included in the room rate, the buffet had only indian dishes and juices and cakes. However omelets and toast was provided on request for no extra charge. Restaurant is a bit on the expensive side, full meal is close to 400 rupees without drinks. Food was great though the one time I ate there.

Overall I am a bit disappointed. This hotel would have so much potential if only the staff would be more customer service oriented and would try to fix issues and not to deny them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElmoEnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#35 of 100 in Chandigarh
186 reviews
1.8 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#7 of 100 in Chandigarh
603 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 100 in Chandigarh
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Plaza 17
Hotel City Plaza 17
#78 of 100 in Chandigarh
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
#12 of 100 in Chandigarh
482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
#25 of 100 in Chandigarh
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oyster

Property: Hotel Oyster
Address: Sco - 1 - 2 -3 | sector 17-A, Chandigarh 160017, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oyster 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Oyster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing