We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food”
Review of Flamme Bois Bistro

Flamme Bois Bistro
Ranked #226 of 1,520 Restaurants in Chandigarh
Price range: $5 - $100
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“ok food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm writing a review of Basil n' Bean Sec-35, which is a part of the Bistro-Flamme Bois.

Pasta's ok. Pasta standard for me has been set by Oven Fresh (esp. mushroom pasta with white sauce) and frankly nothing's beaten that in Chandigarh, not even that of the pricey Toy Hotel's. So I wasn't expecting much from Basil n' Bean and they catered well (by being just average).

I'm a li'l confused about Service Charge that some restaurants charge and some don't, then there's Service Tax on that and of course there's the VAT.
So we were taxed 97/- on a bill of 500/- and frankly their preparation wasn't good enough to titillate the tongue (the wine was fine but then it was decanted from a bottle!!).

Ambiance is not bad, albeit a bit cramped.

Verdict: mildly avoidable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Je S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible vegetarian preparation”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Flamme Bois chef needs to learn a few lessons in cooking decent vegetarian continental. I had ordered a veg moussaka. The eggplant in the dish was off-tasting, it had that horrible rancid flavour that comes from frying something in pre-used oil. Terrible. The potato slice were the size of and flatness of a coin, the tomato sauce too tart and the promised deep crusty cheese-breadcrumbs topping totally missing instead a cheese-less tame white sauce, which could have been a flavoursome bechamel sauce, was the topping. AND, Flamme Bois it seems believes in masking all its follies in veg preparation by packing their dishes with excess cream (I can say that having tried a few pastas on earlier occasions). Food, Mr Chef, is about flavour. What you do is what the shadiwala cooks do.... cream it up. For the price charged it was completely unacceptable. We ordered pan fried fish in lemon sauce too, which was passable.
The Sector 7 outlet is somehow lacking in all ways when compared to the warmth of its previous Sector 35 outlet. I hear the chain is expanding. My advice is perfect one place before moving on and spoiling it all. It was a good place to come to when it started off. It's become one of the average restaurants now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Trotandcanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have been to Bistro few times and couldn't help but to write the review, thanks to the great food and service. Almost every time we have been there, have tried new things and it's yummy all the way. Loved the fish and fettuccine pasta (extra spicy) the most. Ambience can get better and home delivery should be provided.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delhichd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good for continental food”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Bistro- Flamme Bois. Infact, I was amongst their first diners when it opened to the public in December 2010.

Location: Its is located on the backside of Showrooms on the Madhya Marg in Sector 7, Chandigarh, close to the buzzing restaurant line on Madhya Marg, Sector 26. Since it is on the backside, ample parking space is available which is a big plus over other restaurants nearby.

Ambience: It is tastefully done up and has a mix of chairs and sofas. The walls are adorned with nice paintings. The lighting is dim in keeping with the theme. One can see the the pizzas being prepared in the wood fired oven.

Drinks: They have a large selection of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. I have only tried the latter and they are quite good. The glasses are big, the drinks tasty and the embellishments are quite nice.

Food: This is their high point. The woodfired pizzas are quite good though they do not remain warm for very long. Their grilled fish with lemon butter sauce is very popular and quite tasty. They serve a big portion and it is best to share it with someone. Once, I tried to eat it all by myself but towards the end it tasted quite salty! One problem I have with the fish is that it is sold as "Sol" fish whereas actually it is Sea Bass! The best item on the menu for my money is the Sasquatch burger. I order the Chicken burger with the cheese and bacon sauce. It is huge and difficult to finish unless one has an empty stomach. It is definitely the best burger available in Chandigarh!

Desserts: They have a number of interesting items on their dessert menu. I usually have their Chocolate Lava cake which is sinfully delicious. Blueberry baked yoghurt is quite nice too.

Prices: The prices are on the higher side though the portions are decent. If one orders a mocktail, a main course and a dessert, the bill is likely to be around Rs. 1000/-. Their target audience is the creme de la creme of Chandigarh and they are successful in attracting the same.

Management: The staff is well trained and believes in service with a smile. The owner's young sons- Zorawer and Gurfateh are personally present to ensure a memorable experience for the diners.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IshwinderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
panchkula
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food nice ambience”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

You can have a good quality time here with good vegetarian and non vegetarian choices. Ideal for family and friends .

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amikap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamme Bois Bistro also viewed

Chandigarh, India
Chandigarh, India
 

Been to Flamme Bois Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing