We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to carry buckets of Hot Water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Central Park 17
Ranked #22 of 154 Chandigarh B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed here for a night on the 3rd/4th sept.. had checked in at around 2 am since we had a flight to mumbai the same morning.. we were travelling from manali to chandigarh and decided to stop over for the night at the hotel. the access to the hotel isnt great. though the location is very good.. right at the heart of the city beautiful. we were given one of the smallest rooms for the night.. there were hotel staff sitting right outside the window throughout the night.. we had to adjust the curtains and stuff to ensure no one can see through.. we had a tough nights sleep and then we woke up only to find there was no running hot water. We called the receptionists asking them to fix the problem or send us to a different room.. they said all rooms were full and every room has the same problem.. though we didnt see anyone else in the corridors with buckets of water. reluctantly the staff provided us with buckets of water and we had to carry them in to the bathroom.. definitely not what we expected. i have had fond memories of chandigarh but this completely caused a bump in my experience. The staff didnt even sound apologetic.. we even asked them to give us a discount on the booking price for our harrowing experience and they didnt even flinch.. i could only find complete arrogance by the hotel receptionist. Definitely not a place i would want to stay ever.

Room Tip: Ensure taps run hot water and all you have adequate space to walk around inside the room.. was too c...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corporateinn04, Owner at Hotel Central Park 17, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

thank you for the feedback and your observation of window opening towards the terrace is well taken and since has been renovated but regarding the hot water i find your demand of 16 buckets full of hot water against 4 or 5 already supplied to you because of malfunction in the heating system of that room was stretching too far and unreasonable .Had some other room been vacant we would have surely and more than happy to shift .But despite all this we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience and look forward to welcome you for a new experience in future, which i assure you of

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central Park 17
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had a 3 day stay at Central Park 17, sufficient to write a credible review. I had made an advance booking over phone (which I recommend if you wish to stay here) and was pleased to find that the room was impeccable and everything requested from my end was arranged.

The Central Park 17 is located at in one of the most favorable and accessible locations in Chandigarh. The rooms in actual are very close to what is portrayed in images. The staff is forth coming and cooperative. The bathroom fittings (an important factor for any traveler) are of high standard. Electrical & plumbing facilities were found to be up to the mark.

However, I happen to be cursed with a keen sense observation hence would share one feedback:
Paying attention to little details such as: replacing the used ash tray with a fresh one, serving salt & pepper with breakfast, ensuring the client's eggs are prepared per his request would take things to the next level and make Central Park 17 one of the best options. Also, kindly consider giving a false or modular partitioning in the common balcony for those who appreciate privacy.

In my overall experience, Central Park 17 is customer service oriented, the hotel staff serves well and Mr Virk has ensured that his guests have a comfortable & pleasant stay. I saw the owner himself evaluating the quality of service which is appreciable. I would definitely stay again at Central Park 17 when I visit Chandigarh.

JASRAJ SOHAL, NEW DELHI

Room Tip: Book in advance, request the staff to select a room per your preferences.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jasraj-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel has good eating places nearby. The rooms share a common balcony which is very nice indeed. Presently there is a construction going on and that will RUIN THE DAY. They stop in night but cannot guarantee. This is not hotel's fault but if it hurts you, I think I should point it out. The same applies to Oyster, Corporate Inn all will face construction noise problem. The rooms are very small but are good enough for two adults for a overnight stay. Overall I recommend.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this, Oyster and Corporate Inn hotels (all in same lane) due to ongoing construction...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenGlobalCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

i keep travelling to chandigarh for business purposes and sending my employees almost every week. we were booking them into another hotel in sector 17 until recently, but this time around we tried the Central Park. my colleagues and i were pretty happy with the hotel.for the price we paid, obviously we didnt expect a 5 star treatment, but the hotel amenities were apt if you are on business. the food was great, (must try the mushroom salt and pepper and butter chicken) and we all had a blast staying there as the staff was very helpful with our luggage and check in. the hotel is located in the heart of the city which is a big plus.
i would recommend to any one on business. good food, location and cleanliness especially for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Rooms by the balcony coridoor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmansales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

we had made hotel booking on phone but when we reached there the person told us there has been no booking made n gave us a very very DIRTY and EXPENSIVE room to stay, where the bed linen was stained, ashtray was full, and toilet was pathetic and stinking ( they had probably not cleaned the room after the previous check out ) . when we complained bout stinking toilet they put room freshner and ran away instead of cleaning it. one particular staff was very very rude to us, he offered little respect, had no decency and smoked inside the hotel in front of guests.. i can keep complaining about the place it is endless, but only ONE suggestion to people out there DONT EVER MAKE A BOOKING IN THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regulartraveler595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corporateinn04, General Manager at Hotel Central Park 17, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

With due respect and regards i want to make a statement that the guest in question had arrived one day before scheduled arrival and that too early morning and rather our front desk staff offered the only available higher segment room obviously at a higher price…… which was the bone of contention…. and was yet to be cleaned but they insisted to chk in immediately , wish they could have waited for 15 minutes . Most importantly on the earlier visit i.e. four five days earlier to the hotel they had showered all praises for the property. Though smoking is banned but suggestion is well taken . At the end I can only say the property in nutshell is value for money. Seeing is believing.Happy and comfortable stay to all our prospective guests .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

stay here only if your place of work is close by, too much of noise in the corridor, cant sleep - NO drinking WATER in the room, breakfast is served in the room -- Bed and Breakfast - ? Cheese omllette - with 2 slices of bread tucked inside neatly -- work of art -- Highlight of the stay. - Pathetic towels - stained bed linen.

Room Tip: stay only if your place of work is close by else avoid
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himanshu_Jaitly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Returning back from Amritsar to Delhi by bus, planned for a stop-over at Chandigarh - Sector 17 and tried to use market information for an over-nite stay when the auto-driver took me to the hotel for obvious reasons - which I don't complain. Though I was presumably offered a discounted rate, I found different rates being quoted to other people. The room was spacious and had good decor - but amenitiies and maintenance were average - single towel provided was unclean and could not be replaced, cockroach in electric kettle, billing made in a chit to avoid tax payment probably. Ordinary stay experience for an overnite stay but can be improved considering the location and investment made in property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ananyochowdhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oyster
Hotel Oyster
#35 of 100 in Chandigarh
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunbeam Premium
Sunbeam Premium
#16 of 100 in Chandigarh
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#34 of 100 in Chandigarh
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Plaza 17
Hotel City Plaza 17
#83 of 100 in Chandigarh
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corporate Inn
Hotel Corporate Inn
#80 of 100 in Chandigarh
49 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Park 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Park 17

Address: SCO 10-11-12, Sector 17-A, Chandigarh 160017, India (Formerly Comfy Central Park 17)
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Chandigarh
Price Range: $27 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Park 17 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chandigarh’s Sector 17, this hotel offers free Wi-Fi access in all areas. It also features a restaurant serving a breakfast buffet of Indian, Chinese and Continental favourites. Equipped with air conditioning and heating systems, modern rooms at Hotel Central Park-17 are fitted with a balcony and feature a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, a wardrobe and a seating area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Central Park 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing