We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometel Stay - comfortable”
Review of Hometel Chandigarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hometel Chandigarh
Ranked #12 of 107 Hotels in Chandigarh
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have now stayed quite a few times at Hometel and must say it is a good Hotel to stay while in chandigarh . Comfortable with modern rooms and bath. Functional amenities and good breakfast spread. Good meal choice also.
The biggest asset is the staff who are very polite and obliging. The check in and check out are efficient. Rooms though of normal size are well equiped .
Will recommend for business and normal travel .

Room Tip: Though all room sizes are same still the front facing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunilk_kapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share such a delightful feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to have been of service to you.

We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the ambiance, service and the facilities of the hotel.

Your feedback is very motivating and inspires the team to strive harder towards excellence.

We thank you for your recommendation and do hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 745 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Hometel is one of a new breed of economy hotels in India – 3 star, modern, and inexpensive. I normally stay at the 5-star Taj Chandigarh, or JW Marriott, and this visit wanted to try the new budget hotels in the fast growing new Chandigarh centre of Industrial Area Phase 1, close to the Chandigarh Railway Station, and the huge and modern Elante Mall – currently the largest shopping mall in the Punjab.

The two main economy hotels in the Phase 1 Industrial Area are the Hometel, managed by Sarovar Hotels & Resorts, and the slightly higher quality LemonTree Hotel. Other hotels are currently being built in the area, including the 5 star Hyatt Regency.
Hometel is literally a one minute walk from Elante Mall which offers many international high-street stores and an extensive range of restaurants, eateries and entertainment options including cinemas, bowling and children’s fun park. Also only a couple of minutes walk are the new City Emporium Mall and the longer established Centra mall – both also with multiplex cinemas. Roads in Chandigarh are well laid out, so it takes about 15-20 minutes by car to reach areas such as Sector 17 (Chandigarh City centre) or Rajiv Ghandi High Tech Park. Taxis have to be pre-arranged however, unless you want to use a hotel car.

The Sarovar website lists the Hometel as "luxurious 4-star." This description would be a bit of a stretch of the imagination, as the hotel is 3 star at best, and very modest and basic. It is relatively new and clean and functional though, and the various accommodation package rates that it offers on the hotel website are spectacularly affordable.
I paid just IDR 4,551 (inclusive of taxes), for a compact double room, including airport pickup, free wifi, buffet breakfast AND buffet dinner. Such a low price with so many benefits really can’t be faulted.

On arrival, first impression of the Hometel is that the location is definitely in the middle of an industrial area, with a horsecart yard on one corner, and steel fabrication yards beside. My room was on the backside of the hotel, with a rather unattractive view of a construction site and a derelict building filled with garbage.

The Hometel’s main guest entrance has the strangest designed access ramp I have ever seen, as it doesn’t make it all the way to the ground!
The reception lobby, main restaurant, evening bar/lounge, internet nook, and outdoor terrace grill all located on the 1st floor. Reception staff were helpful and prompt, but the reception is very small and could be slow in the mornings when checking out.
Bedrooms themselves are small with a design that is functional rather than decorative, but they are very clean. Unfortunately the walls of the rooms are thin, and sound carries – particularly noisy children in the hallways. The bedroom floors are tiled rather than being carpeted, and the wardrobe is a bit of an unusual addition in the corner of the room. Guest amenities in the bedroom and bathroom were minimal. The room phones had pre-programmed service buttons, but none of them actually worked. It appears that they purchased the phones, but didn't actually set them up.

The dining areas on the lobby floor are modern, attractive and well maintained. The main restaurant, “Flavours” serves a basic Indian buffet breakfast. In the evening they serve an a very affordable Indian buffet meal or you can order off an a’la carte menu. There is also a BBQ grill on the outside balcony terrace, opposite Flavours Restauant. Unfortunately staff won’t allow you to order from the Flavours menu, or the buffet if you want to eat al-fresco on the balcony terrace. Next to the restaurant and terrace is a rather bland bar/lounge area called “Chill”. The hotel doesn’t have a pool, but does have a very small fitness center. There is a banquet/wedding hall on the lower floor.

Personally, as a business traveller, after staying at both Hometel, and the neighbouring LemonTree hotel, I will probably choose to stay at the slightly more sophisticated LemonTree when I return to Chandigarh.

However if you are looking for a tidy budget hotel, then given the great location next to Elante Mall, and the great package deals at remarkably low prices that are offered at the Hometel, you can be assured of very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share such a delightful feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It gives me immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay.

As you rightly said, hotel model is to offer value for money for business travelers and with standardized facilities and services, Hometel Hotel is certified as 4 star hotel by Indian Tourism Authorities.

Location is strategically based on close proximity to Airport and Railway station and we have added advantage of being close to all the business hubs and city’s biggest eating and entertainment center - Elante mall.

Regarding the bathroom amenities, they are available on request, the wardrobe location is the most unused corner in all hotel rooms which also helps guest not to go to vestibule every time you require some item.

We assure you that it will be our constant endeavor to maintain and improve upon the same. The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.


Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Rooms:Small rooms but clean and Tide.(very imp aspect)
Service:Bady hampered as the day I visited it was full house with some management student group.But although slow but staff managed the show reasonable well.
Food:Breakfast was reasonably satisfying and restaurant was so well done and beautiful.
No major amenities and local transportation is not very nearby,need to walk to main road for a while.
I

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhishekM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for taking time to share such a delightful feedback with the Trip Advisor community. It was a delight to have been of service to you.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. The restaurant service quality is being fine tuned to meet the guest expectations even in busy times and we assure you that it will be our constant endeavor to maintain and improve upon our services.

Regarding local transportation, we have hotel cab service available as well as radio cabs are also available in the city.

The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.


Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our way to Mussoorie for shopping at Elante . Rooms are small but good for business travellers . We were our kid so we felt so. You can have very food good options in the mall than hotel. Breakfast was good .

Room Tip: Have a high rise room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inderjit_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you very much for writing the review for our hotel.

We are delighted to note that you had recommended the hotel as a business hotel. As you rightly said, its designed to basically meet the needs of business travelers and we do not have family rooms or suites, but certainly have interconnecting rooms to facilitate parents and kids.

We assure you that it will be our constant endeavor to maintain and improve upon the same. The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A Centrally located hotel with amenities as expected. We were there in the winters of North India...and the Air conditioning/ heating/ thermostat wasn't working...resulting in extreme discomfort say at 3 AM in the morning. Buffet Breakfast was as per standard. Since we were there as part of a large wedding party, the functions at the banquet hall went without a hitch. Service was prompt, as was bellboy and concierge services.

Room Tip: Ensure from the engineering staff/ housekeeping staff that the air conditioning thermostat is workin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmitra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at Hometel Chandigarh.

I am disheartened to note that your experience was unsatisfactory in terms of temperature maintenance in the room, as a process we check every room before allocating to the guest and we will ensure this is done more stringently now onwards.

It is our constant endeavor to maintain and improve upon the service standards and overall experience of the hotel. The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.


Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights with family - and the overall feeling that I got was - that I got a room and hotel which was way over priced!

Yes - that is correct....The location is in the middle of the Industrial area, and that is clearly mentioned. But, on the other hand the Industrial area is very neat and not as the typical industrial areas of other large metros where the roads are covered in filth etc...this part of the town was very orderly and neat!

The only other advantage that I saw of this hotel location was the extreme proximity to the newly opened Elante Mall. Just 1 min walking distance from the hotel!

As the other reviews pointed, the rooms are very small and the view gets worse as you go higher, as then you can see the insides of the factories or plants and it is not good...as they are doing industrial work! So lower floors towards the front are better.

Surprisingly, there were no standard toiletries - and we were told that they provide on request!

They don't have folding beds as an extra bed, it is a folding mattress - which becomes useless when you sleep on it....as it sort of collapses completely.

The breakfast was very ordinary, nothing special. Both days there was nothing elaborate or unique and I would say it was missing a lot of the common things such as live egg counter, nor was there any non-veg section serving anything such as chicken etc. Odd!

In all, it was better that we were in the hotel only for the nights and in the day time we were moving about in the beautiful city of Chandigarh.

Room Tip: Choose the front facing rooms and on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerPetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and posting a great review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It gives me immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. As you rightly mentioned, location is an added advantage with our hotel as it is very close to city center and all the business hubs, Elante mall – Chandigarh’s biggest eating and entertainment center.

Also we have taken a note of your comment regarding the prices and would like to clarify that its based on BAR rate which fluctuates every week. Regarding the toiletries and folding mattress its being looked into and will certainly try to improve upon the same. Also, based on your feedback, we have now added the live egg counter and non-veg items in breakfast menu.

We assure you that it will be our constant endeavor to maintain and improve upon the same. The team and I, look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.


Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on multiple occasions during business tours to Chandigarh. Perfect for 1-2 days visit. Room size is okay. Only concern is in room dining with very less options and priced on the higher side. Breakfast menu is reasonably good. Being a Sarovar hotel meets essential standards. Now on visiting chandigarh I don't need to think where to stay..... hometel is d automatic choice

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank AbhishekPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaibhav M, General Manager at Hometel Chandigarh, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and posting a great review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

It gives me immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the In room dining menu, since we have Buffet for all 3 meal times, mostly guests prefer to dine there. We will certainly consider increasing the Room Dining menu as well.

We assure you that it will be our constant endeavor to maintain and improve upon the hotel services.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back at Hometel Hotel Chandigarh and treat you to yet another memorable stay.

Warm Regards,
Vaibhav Mittal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
2.7 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 107 in Chandigarh
667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 107 in Chandigarh
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Fox Hotel, Chandigarh
Red Fox Hotel, Chandigarh
#2 of 107 in Chandigarh
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
#14 of 107 in Chandigarh
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#9 of 107 in Chandigarh
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometel Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel Chandigarh

Address: Plot No 147 - 148 | Industrial Area Phase - I, Chandigarh 160002, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 107 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range: $52 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hometel Chandigarh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hometel is an upscale 4 star business hotel defined by intelligent amenities and essential services which speak to the needs of the savvy, budget-conscious traveller. Its strategic location in the Industrial Area Phase 1 and proximity to the famous Rajiv Gandhi Industrial Park and CII Convention Centre make it ideally suited for business travellers. Leisure travellers will find exciting attractions such as Sukhna Lake, Rock Garden, Zakir Hussain Garden, Terraced Garden and the city's largest mall, Elante, easily accessible. The 114 rooms blend aesthetics with functionality to provide comfortable, restful stays. Other amenities include a fitness centre and multi cuisine dining option including buffet spreads for all 3 meals, Chill bar and a terrace restaurant that offer exciting culinary journeys. Outstanding business facilities such as a business centre and board rooms with banqueting facilities make any occasion, whether trainings, workshops, product launches, exhibitions, or other social events, perfect. The hotel offers the best, largest banqueting service with 8,200 sq. ft. of elegantly designed space to host guests from 12 to 600 with ease.Hometel Chandigarh is 3 Km away from Chandigarh Railway Station, 4 Km from Chandigarh Airport and is 2 Km from Delhi-Chandigarh National Highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hometel Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing