We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Sukhna Lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukhna Lake

Sukhna Lake
Book In Advance
$57.00*
and up
Chandigarh Private Day Trip from New Delhi Including Camel Ride
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sukhna Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sukhna lake is a man-made lake in the northern part of Chandigarh touching almost the foothills. Half of the path around the lake ~ 2km is paved, well maintained and is excellent for early morning strolls and jogs ( parallel dirt track for jogging is available). Boating is available as well. You can often see migratory birds too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Samarth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    588
    205
    28
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place is nice for a relaxed visit. We went pedal boating in the morning. There are ducks in the water. We went again in the early evening. There are some food places and souvenir places around. There are also some rides for kids. I liked the walking track around the lake the best. The place is well maintained.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank freqvacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
174 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Crowded, yet good for a stroll in the early hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very close to the Rock Garden, this is more of a family picnic spot. If you wish to take in the beauty and calm, then go there early morning or late evening when its less crowded.

It's a man made lake, but the water level is fast depleting. I wish people would pay more attention to maintaining the cleanliness of the promenade. The wait for the boat ride can be quite a pain during peak hours. They have loads of ducks and swans that you can feed and enjoy hearing them quack.

Plus point is adequate parking opposite the lake.

The food court has yummy hot and cold chocolate...loved it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenobia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I went here after visiting the Rock Garden, we went in the evening so could not really enjoy the lake as it was dark. We sat and had a tea in the food court area which was nice. I'm sure if we came during the day we would of got more use out of the visit

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny-singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhiwani, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good picnic spot , when you are with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The children will definitly love to come here & will have the full enjoyment. Boating is good & during peak time you have to wait a long. Some problem comes in vehicle parking due to rush.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cytec G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhna Lake also viewed

 

Been to Sukhna Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing