We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cozy and comfortable room with a great view”
Review of Maya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maya Hotel
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, cozy and comfortable room with a great view”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Let me keep the review short n sweet. The location of the hotel is perfect especially if you are on a business trip. It's in the main market where you'll get everything at a walking distance. Though, the breakfast is basic, the food is really good. I'm a huge fan of eggs. The omelette served at breakfast is quite yummy... Didn't get the chance to have lunch or dinner at the hotel, so can't really comment on the room service.

Their housekeeping staff is very prompt and efficient. The room is equipped with all the modern and fancy amenities (speakers in bathroom, electric panel for curtain control and indoor lightings) which makes the room huge value for money especially at this rate.

In Chandigarh, I've stayed at Hometel and Oyster and in my opinion I rate Maya Hotel way better than these properties in mostly all respects. Hometel has excellent breakfast spread but the rooms are very small without any view. All in all, I really enjoyed my stay at Maya Hotel and would definitely like to come back whenever I'm in town.

Room Tip: Room on the 1st floor have extra large windows and provide excellent views. I stayed in 106 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contactshail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaHotelsIndia, Head-Corporate Sales, Mkt. & Development at Maya Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Greetings from the City Beautiful and Maya Hotel, Chandigarh!

Dear Sir,

We are grateful to you for letting others,how are we doing?

Dear Sir,Hotel like homtel having 100 rooms can afford to offer 40 items in breakfast,where as we at Maya Hotel having 25 rooms serving around 30 items in buffet breakfast. Serving more items is not feasible considering number of guests.

Warm regards & best wishes,

Kranti Mohan| T: +91(0172) 4688774 X (D) / 4688700| M: +91 (0) 9915707030 | sales@mayahotels.in
Geo Code: 30.725144N,76.765755E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    70
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
26
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed there for three days in May 2013. The rooms are good, clean and well maintained. The drawback is that there is no fitness center. The hotel can accomodate one for the tariff they are charging. Tried the lunch there, very spicy and oily. Authentic taste of punjab was sorely missing. Breakfast was very poor. Same dishes on a daily buffet. The poha was poorly prepared. Poha was very hard on the first day, slightly hard on the second day and I did not try it the third day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABVivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaHotelsIndia, Head-Corporate Sales, Mkt. & Development at Maya Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Greetings from the City Beautiful and Maya Hotel, Chandigarh!

Dear Mr. Vivek Palaniappan

Thank you for taking your time to review the Maya Hotels, Chandigarh.

Yes, we do not have swimming pool & health club as per our existing product offerings & pricing.

We do have system in place of rotational/periodic buffet breakfast menu on daily basis, however it was not followed during your stay dates with us.

We remain committed to resolve the points w.r..t. food & beverages quality.

We deeply apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

It is our endeavor to improve our services.

Warm regards & best wishes,

Kranti Mohan| T: +91(0172) 4688774 X (D) / 4688700| M: +91 (0) 9915707030 | sales@mayahotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hi,
I had stayed in Maya Hotel for 2 days as it was my honeymoon.It is centrally located as sector 35 is nearby various food chains and movie theater.Hotel rooms were clean and tastefully made bathroom which has nice warm water all time and is made of glass. Music in bathroom was like icing on cake.Breakfast buffet was also good had number of food.Me and my husband had awesome time there and their services were also quick. Last but not the least i would highly recommend this hotel,everyone must go this hotel stay for at least 1 night.
It is value for money hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had just stayed overnight in this Hotel. Cumbersome Check in Formalties. Had power cuts during Night..They are technically advanced, they have remote controlled Curtains for Windows. But i think instead they can concentrate on improvng services.
The Restaurant was good, but again the menu was limited for breakfast. Price was moderate for Room Rent. I will give it 2.5 out of 5.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BalaHier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaHotelsIndia, Head-Corporate Sales, Mkt. & Development at Maya Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Greetings from the City Beautiful and Maya Hotel, Chandigarh!

Dear Mr. BalaHier,

We thank you for letting others know how are we doing.

Question1: But i think instead they can concentrate on improvng services.
Ans.1; Pls. let us know any specific issue, we guarantee that it will be resolve ASAP.

Question2.;Cumbersome Check in Formalties
Ans.2. We follow local govt. rules where in valid govt. Photo ID is mandatory of which hotel take photocopy & signature of guest on Arrival &Departure register & Reg. form, which a hotel can not copy & rest other information Hotel can post on guest behalf. We would not like to jeopardize guest & hotel security, If others are not following it or skipping some steps.

Question3.: Had power cuts during Night.
Ans3. Power cuts is general & common everywhere during peak summer time but having a DG(diesel generator) set ,which take 30 seconds to restore power back up is regular system for our hotel.

Question4.; menu was limited for breakfast
Ans.4. Serving periodic rotational below breakfast is not really limited:
Two type of juices, Egg Preparations, Two type of cereal with hot & cold milk, Asst.cheese platter with cracker & Melba toast,
Morning bakery:
Two types of Muffin (Chocó chips / banana bran / nuts & raisins)
Two types of croissant (Plain / cheese / chocolate / herbs)
Danish pastry (Pineapple / custard / snail / cinnamon)
Toast bread (White & brown)
Two types of loaf (Multi grain / sesame seeds / garlic / whole meal)
Open face sandwich (veg / cheese / chicken)
From The Chaffer:
GRILLED BACON & SAUSAGE / SALAMI / HAM
Hash brown potato / parsley / sauté / garlic
Tomato (Grilled, stuffed or baked)
Veg or cottage cheese cutlet / croquette
Pan cake / French toast / baked beans / porridge
Vada pao / aloo bonda / pao bhaji
Poori – bhaji / Chana bhatura / parantha
Poha / Upma
Or
Vada / idli with sambar two types of chutney
Tea/coffee/hot chocolate


It is always our endeavor to improve it further.

We shall be delighted to serve you in the future also.

Warm Regards & best wishes,


Kranti Mohan | T: +91(0172) 4688700 | sales@mayahotels.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you are looking for a budget-3.5k kind of place with some genuinely decent service in Chandigarh , this is a good place to stay. Stayed for 2 nights , post one night , when I informed them that their faucet was leaking ( not that it mattered ) as it was only for the night and I was away during the day , the manager changed the room to a nice suite. I was also pleasantly surprised by their vegetarian pasta. I have eaten in some really good italian restaurants , but this arabiatta pasta - vegetarian was one of the best I had ever eaten in my life. In the land of butter and tandoori chicken , got some excellent italian fare :) , hence the review .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeysofmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Sector 35 has nice market walking few steps is Pizza Hut which i simply love, Hotel rooms are clean and tastefully made bathroom has nice hot water all time and is made of glass but can be hidden by curtain, i had nice time secure too which is most important, waiters and their service is good.
I loved their butter Naan and yellow dal and yes yummy malai kofta, im veggi so cannot comment on non-veg food but it seemed people love eating there.....buffet breakfast is tasty and most importantly clean i recommend it to all.

Room Tip: all rooms are quieter just for your preference personally check room size that suits you most, AC is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaidev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is a good hotel in chandigarh.

They have renovated their hotel and has a nice modern look to it.

Food is good, especially the break fast.The room size is ok, but they have kept too many things which makes it a bit crowded.

Staff is also ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
1.7 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
626 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#2 of 100 in Chandigarh
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#3 of 100 in Chandigarh
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#9 of 100 in Chandigarh
610 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Hotel

Property: Maya Hotel
Address: Sco 325 - 328 | Opp.BSNL,Canara Bank,Himalaya Marg,Sector-35B,, Chandigarh 160022, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live life to discover at Maya hotels serving hospitality across Punjab through Chandigarh and Jalandhar in India, a perfect choice for business and leisure traveler alike. Maya Hotel, Chandigarh is back again to serve you a refurbished, reoriented & lifestyle home away from home.Location: Situated most conveniently at Sector-35B in the heart of the city, surrounded by lush greenery; just 09 kms from city railway station & airport, 2.5 kms away from ISBT (Sector-43), 2 kms away from old inter state bus terminal (Sector 17), and 10 kms from Chandigarh Technology Park. Accommodation: A choice of 25 lifestyle refurbished rooms complemented with a home away from home. All rooms are equipped with wireless & wired high speed internet access, electronic door lock privacy, in-room safe security, Satellite TV’s audio is also piped into marble bathroom, private bath and shower with herbal toiletries, working desk station, refrigerated mini bar, tea/coffee maker and bedside console for individual control of multi electronic and mechanical functions in a room.Buzzczar: The all day dining restaurant offering a collection of cuisines from all Bazaars of the world, where taste is the magic and our guests are the Czars! Discover on-the-road eating that truly suits your schedule and style.Mix and mingle with a drink and snack at our bar lounge. An ideal place to unwind with a selection of premium international and domestic spirits. 24X7Cafe: Round the clock in your service for making fill of selected bakery delicacies, pizzas, burgers, frankie, desserts and variety of tea, coffee, mocktails. Conference & Meetings: With multiple options available, we offer you the most contemporary facilities in Chandigarh, ensuring a matchless experience. These facilities are available for special occasions including weddings, corporate & informal gatherings, product launches, exhibitions etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing