We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle experience in the city beautiful”
Review of Hotel Parkview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Parkview
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Chandigarh
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had the misfortune of staying at this 'hotel'.

The Parkview at Chandigarh is poorly run, is in terrible shape, has crummy room service & food and really needs a major overhaul. The only thing going for it is the location, which is great. And the laundry guy, who's really good.

Another thing going for them is consistency. Starting from bad tea, to dirty sheets, to dirty bathrooms, to lizards running helter skelter in & out of your room, it takes you through the whole routine of a jungle camp without faltering even once.

Overall, a dreadful experience. Wish I could say something nice but just can't.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarun71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 145 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

I've stayed in two types of room in this hotel. I don't remember what they're called maybe the deluxe (the basic) and the super deluxe. I believe there's a suite as well but I did not stay there. They're both fine.
The basic room (the deluxe): I stayed there in July 2011. The backrest of the bed in the basic room had come off loose and it wasn't fixed. Spring mattresses were alright. There was a window AC and a tiny balcony facing the balconies of the other rooms in the building in front ("park"-view?? Where where??). The bathrooms were neat and clean, just that the hot-water finishes very quickly, so if you wanna have a warm bath then you'll have to fill your bucket intermittently to have barely enough warm water. Rest all is fine, the rooms and bathroom are not small. For around Rs. 1600/- a night (back then) in Chandigarh, I think I got more than my money's worth.
The super deluxe room: It is roomy and nice. It has a split AC fitted which was perfect set at 29 degree centigrade (yes twenty nine, and I know you'll find me crazy if you're one of those who set ACs at 24 and below and then sleep without compunctions in a big quilt) in the blistering summer heat outside, mainly because it throws the air directly on the bed. It's a good room, the bathrooms good too. Here you wouldn't have the insufficient hot-water problem like you have in the lower category room. Lights are adequate. At around Rs 3000/- a night (if you have contacts or if they're offering a deal, you might get if for lesser). Food is ok too. There're tea-bags, coffee and powder milk sachets with an electric kettle in the room so you can help yourself with the same.

Problem:
Keep you cell-phones charged. If you wanna make a call through the operator at the hotel, they'd charge you Rs 20/- per call whether local or STD. Also I wish that there was some light in the room that would be operated by a dimmer as all the lights are bright and harsh. Needless to say keep the curtains drawn as the view outside is not that of a park but the other rooms facing yours. REALLY! Where's the park? Maybe some rooms do have the "Park View" but I've not been in one. Another thing, if you wanna order drinks, do so before the bar closes (I guess at 10pm), else be ready to be asked for Rs 100 EXTRA for a bottle of beer (that's priced at a 100 odd itself)...so its gonna be around Rs 200 for a bottle of beer past the bar closing time!! Shucks!

Final say:
Take the basic room if you don't have a choice or are short of money. HOWEVER, if in winter time it's best to take the super-deluxe room owing to the hot-water problem.

This place is good: neither great, nor bad (at all).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Je S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Went for a friends wedding and had a good stay for 3 days. Food was average but the service was good and timely. Good place for a short/long stay but food to be preferred from outside.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nvgaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults+2 kids) stayed at Hotel parkview for a night and found it very neat and clean. The room service was prompt and the food at the restaurant was reasonably good. The staff helped us book cabs to travel to Kasauli. The lady at the reception was efficient but not particularly helpful. The hotel is well-located to all the major tourist areas in Chandigarh. Good value for money. Remember to stay in the new block where the rooms are much nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aps_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and i stayed only for one night here, my husband choose this place because if it's location, tourist attractions and main shopping areas are easy to reach by a 10 minutes rickshaw ride.the hotel is simple but clean and provides all what one needs, basically this hotel caters more for business congregations and functions rather then a holiday accommodation. The hotel garden makes an ideal place to sit in the evening and chatt the time away.The hotel staff is polite and well mannered.The restaurant serves continental and local cuisine, we enjoyed the local cuisine.At this hotel it was value for money.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 204 which was spacious and had garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinasedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Well, before I review this hotel, I would like you to know that this is a government-run hotel. Now, if you have visited the gov-run hotels in India, you would immediately imagine this as pathetic...and to tell you the truth, for many years, this hotel indeed was pathetic. Till they revamped it in the early 2000's. Since then, its been a much better place. I know this, since I am a native of Chandigarh, and my family used to despise this place, till they revamped it. After that we started frequenting the restaurant - the grub was economical but surprisingly good. Couple of seasons ago, i had a few business associates come to Chd with me and since this hotel was closer to my place, I put them up here. These business associates were looking for a place to crash, and for those purposes this hotel works. Moreover, they were all males, so they didnt mid the unclean loos or smoke-odour filled rooms...The food was cheap so we could gorge on it...The lobby area, lawns etc are pretty well maintained and nice....Moreover, what I review as average as per CITCO (Chd administration) standards, is much better than the standards of the admin-run hotels in 90% of the cities in India, even including the metros....so you can expect above-average service....not world-class, but for its price-point, its above-average....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriosKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

the hotel is a good budget hotel under CITCO. the renovated rooms are good. It was nice of them to provide us with ice-cream (on demand) at 1am on arrival and also provide us with fresh water bottles. but maybe they can be swift in service. I will not comment on their food as I had stayed in transit and did not have the time to check on their restaurants. but rooms are value for money. plus the hotel is at a convenient location with the main sector-17 and the panjab university just 2-3 km. and rest of the places also not very far. If you have your own transport and have to stay in chandigarh for couple of days than its worth staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
Hotel Emerald Chandigarh
#22 of 112 in Chandigarh
135 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#26 of 112 in Chandigarh
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#21 of 112 in Chandigarh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 112 in Chandigarh
1,038 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
Hotel Turquoise Chandigarh
#16 of 112 in Chandigarh
509 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Orbit 34
Hotel Orbit 34
#82 of 112 in Chandigarh
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parkview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parkview

Address: Sector 24, Chandigarh 160023, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 112 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range: $30 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Parkview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing