We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Plaza 17
Ranked #85 of 106 Hotels in Chandigarh
Reviewed June 19, 2012

i stay in this hotel for 1 night with my family in june 2012, hotel in good location but rooms are too small. as per my view this is good for max. 1 night. service staff is average. food qualities is good but the crockery item are very bad in view. bathroom curtains are old and not able to cover complete windows. overall average hotel at city center location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikram2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

The one and only positive thing I can say about this place is that the staff are excellent – friendly and helpful. The rest of it is poor. Terrible when you consider that it is actually quite expensive. You get the idea as soon as you turn up, the web photo’s do not reflect reality. The place faces a grubby car park, the stairwell is worn out, dark and dingy, the rooms are straight from the 1950’s with the addition of a fluorescent tube, the toilet holder hangs off the wall, there is mould on the ceilings, the air-con is the very noisy old fashioned box style with one fan setting (max), the pillows did not appear clean, the windows are so dirty you cannot see through tem, the wifi did not work, the sheet on a double bed was only single so did not fit, the floors were so dirty that your feet are black in seconds – the list could go on. If this place cost 350 rupees a night, it might be expected, but at over 2400 it is rubbish. Quite why the other reviews are so generous I am not sure – maybe they are not real. Also, beware, many rooms do not have windows, furthermore the ”deluxe” rooms are the worst rooms, it you want a better room, it is super deluxe! It is just a name change and a bit of a con. I would never return and would never recommend anyone to go – the worst place we have stayed during 6 weeks in India and we have stayed in 350 rupee a night places too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Ok hotel, rooms are nothing to rave about but not bad either. The service is fine but it is noisy. We had a room on the third floor. The biggest advantage is it is located in the heart of the shopping area which is just a stone's throw distance. Fairly clean, quality of room is fine, staff is helpful but when it comes to arranging for transport, they make money out of you. Avoid doing that if you can. All in all, a decent experience for the cost.

Room Tip: Nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashray70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

the worst place ive stayed in. unheated rooms. noisy staff. pathetic service. hot water for bathing provided in buckets after heated arguments

Room Tip: dont ever try this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is a good hotel in the heart of Chandigarh shopping centre of sect 17.

Rooms were fairly large & toilets were cleaned with fresh toiletteries.

Though in house restaurant service was not at all good but since hotel is in the shopping area, hence it is sorrounded by some good restaurant.

Will recommend another stay.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank shahzadyusuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

I had booked, paid for and had confirmed my on-line reservation of 2 rooms at the Hotel City Plaza 7 but, on arrival and despite providing proof of my booking, we were told we were not staying there but at the Hotel City Plaza 17. This was a little annoying as I had specifically chosen the City Plaza 7 for its location and rating on Trip Advisor.

Cold water was provided whilst we awaited transport to transfer us to the other hotel. The transport arrived a few minutes later – an auto-rickshaw. For those who have not had the pleasure, a tuc-tuc can be quite cosy for 3 adults, let alone 3 adults, 3 large rucksacs and hand luggage.

Sector 17 is the bustling city centre area of Chandigarh, so if its shopping you want, this is the place to stay. Our rooms were adequately furnished and air conditioned, but could have done with a clean. Likewise the bedding on the rather firm and thin foam mattress would have benefitted from more detergent in the wash. Not that it was dirty, just a bit worn and greying.

The hotel has no restaurant so food is served in the room in a pretty efficient manner from a fairly standard Indian/Chinese/Continental menu.

Free Wi-Fi is available, but you probably won’t pick-up a signal in your room. However, the TV has plenty of channels, including live cricket.

The staff are polite, friendly and helpful but some do seem to struggle with anything more than very basic English. But, I did get them to acquire our Amritsar bus tickets for us with not too big a mark-up. They also provided free drop-off to the bus stand.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HullBuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

well my name is AMANPREET SINGH i stayed at this hotel on the night of 1st oct 2011.
the hotel is ideally located in sec 17 but that is the ONLY POSITIVE thing of this hotel.
for a budget hotel it is okay. but even for a budget hotel i expected better bathrooms. service is ok if you expect bare minimum. last but not the least they were not serving NON VEG due to navratras well ithink this should be left to customer to decide not the hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanpreetsingharora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Plaza 7
Hotel City Plaza 7
#52 of 106 in Chandigarh
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diamond Plaza
Hotel Diamond Plaza
#74 of 106 in Chandigarh
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Park Resort
Sun Park Resort
#26 of 106 in Chandigarh
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#27 of 106 in Chandigarh
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel City Heart 18
Hotel City Heart 18
#59 of 106 in Chandigarh
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Orbit
Hotel Orbit
#87 of 106 in Chandigarh
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Plaza 17? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Plaza 17

Address: Near Canara Bank | In Main Shopping Centre, Sector 17-c, Chandigarh 160009, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 106 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range: $30 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Plaza 17 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel city plaza is located in the heart of the beautiful city, Sector 17 Plaza with its 26 elegantly designed and furnished rooms. The hotel is reflected in the best quality interior having all the modern amenities of the present time. Here you'll find the finest tradition of hospitality with continuous commitment to provide the best facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel City Plaza 17 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing