We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations but nothing fulfilled” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Coffee House

Indian Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 29 Coffee & Tea in Chandigarh
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Expectations but nothing fulfilled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Today on 21 Sept, I happened to visit chandigarh and visited Sec 17 market. My surfing for a nice place for lunch ended up here, as I had heard of Indian Coffee House. The first glance at the prices on the wall and I could see that pricing is ok. There was very rush in the restaurant and there is virtually no space that you could see free except table and chairs.

Now when I asked the service to clean the table, it took them 15 mn to do it, then again 10 mn for taking the order. Now I was getting frustrated, since after 1 hr I got hold of my tomato omelet with cold coffee. The omelette was average and the cold coffee was literally horrible. So please avoid the place if you are looking for a nice place to eat in Sec 17. Service in the restaurant is poor and below average, not to mention bad hygiene of waiters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NitinArora8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    53
    19
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

I love their hotdog. They fry it unlike what we get these days. Even the filter coffee is good. Though. The dosas and other dishes are not too good.

The prices are so less! The seating will send you back in history. The service is quick.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bhavyaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food Served to a Maharaja”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A place which attracts each and every person with its smell of coffee and dosas. A place where u can eat proper south Indian style dishes like simple dosa, dosa with potato filling, wada with sambhar, idli with sambhar. The coffee is strong and is really tasty. Try to share ur table with some die hard fans of the place and learn the history and growth of Chandigarh from a sleepy village to the happening metropolitan. Relive the time when ur parents enjoyed their youth or relax with a friend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prubhdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cheap and Best place in Chandigarh Sector 17 market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Best thing about this place is that it is still the cheapest and best place in sector 17 market in Chandigarh. Food is good. Quick service. And taste is good.

Place is not very beautiful but it has a unique historical touch to it. It was established in 1964 one of the reason one can see more aged people here, Reliving their old memories here.

So all in all it is not a party place, but best place for Mutton Dosa and Shakes :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Got to be here week after week after week ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like I just said in my title, I can't just stop being to this place. My typical order is Masala Dosa with a cup of hot coffee. The sambar is simply divine. Maybe it is not an 'authentic' south indian sambar, but who cares.. it is a cousine in itself. And the great value at such low prices; I just hope that these ICHs don't close down trying to keep the prices low. (They had to shut down the one in Delhi, and also the other one in Chandigarh).

Only one thing i want them to improve is to properly receive the guests who have to wait for tables to clear up. I don't like people standing besides the tables waiting them to be freed. This is one thing that can be avoided.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank myreviews83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Coffee House also viewed

 
Chandigarh, India
 

Been to Indian Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing