We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel ever!”
Review of Hotel Chanakya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chanakya
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Patna
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is grossly overpriced for the comfort and service it is giving!
The staff is incompetent and everything but helpful.
There is absolutely no sound isolation, and at 3:00 or 4:00 am you enjoy every early departure as if you were in a middle of a busy Indian street.
Another strange point: no temperature control of A/C. It's only on or off!
I highly recommend not to book this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippe6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    76
    98
    35
    21
See reviews for
31
15
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The rooms are extremely small. We had booked Chankaya Tower, the room had a bed which was slightly larger than a single bed. We complained to the reception, who changed the room to a bigger one. However that had twin beds and was stinking of cigarette smoke. The Hotel is very run down. We vowed never to stay or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank AyushKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Patna hotels

Philippines
Level Contributor
232 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This Hotel is like a Oasis in Patna's desert of Hospitality. Located in the busiest Veerchand Patel Road at Veer Kunwar Singh Chowk, Hotel Chanakya is easiest to reach from Airport and Railway Station. I have stayed in this Hotel for two times in the last one year and it was perfect for a short stay. The rooms though are small, but are well equipped. The Hotel restaurants serve a variety of cuisines. Their best offerings are Indian and Chinese delicacies. Hotel needs to improve on wireless internet connectivity speed and uninterrupted service. If you are going to Patna between January-March of the year, be prepared for loud wedding musicals. Most Hotels in Patna are taken over by wedding parties during this season and if you are lucky to get a room in this season, its better to join the wedding parties than complaining about loud drums and bollywood songs that peak in the middle of the night. Hotel managements are helpless about the noise and they do nothing about it, even if you complain hundred times.

Room Tip: Ask for a road side room to avoid darkness. Ask for upper floors to avoid noise pollution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARI_2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A very decent and value for money hotel. Ample car parking facility, just in front of the station; room service even after 11 pm. Good Bihari breakfast; spacious rooms during business trips;
Bath room can be better; very helpful staff

Room Tip: Take rooms at the back side, so that there won;t be vehicle noise;
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxbbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in Chanakya hotel last week when I had to make a sudden trip to Patna. Many of my friends had recommended this hotel so I went ahead and booked it without giving a second thought. I am glad so I did. This hotel is a boon to business travellers for several reasons. Firstly, there could not have been a better location. Being just a couple of minutes away from the airport as well as the station, this is one of the most easily accessible parts of the city with well maintained and clean roads. Secondly, this hotel is perhaps one of the largest in Patna with several restaurants and banquet halls. It's a perfect spot for setting up a meeting or a conference. The food is definitely something to rave about. During my 2-day stay I tried their Indian and continental dishes all of which I thoroughly enjoyed. I recommend the chicken mercury which also happens to be one of their signature dishes as well as a visit to Takshila, the Indian restaurant. Although The rooms are old yet they are spacious and well-maintained. Good experience overall. Definitely a must-try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prateekshatayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stay only one night. But I regreted. Wall dirty, tv does not work then I called reception then they said to some one to fixed and nobody shows up. The tails on the bathroom disgusting. This is not even 3 stars. Way below for 100$us is disgusting. Look for different place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamejiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on 11th February 2014. The only saving grace for this hotel is its location to the airport. I stayed in this hotel for one night (thankfully!). Firstly, the hotel is a complete rip off. They charge 7.5 k for a high end room. The breakfast is not included in this rate. Second, hotel is tired looking. Third, the engines at the train station and honking from the the road nearby do not allow a good night sleep. I was up at 5 in the morning with all the train noises and i thought that i might as well grab a cup of tea (which by the way in their menu is mentioned to be available round the clock). I call up room service to be greeted by a groggy voice. After i explained to him what i wanted the phone just went silent on the other end. When i tried to call back i got an engaged dial tone. Basically, someone had kept the receiver away from the phone so that one should not disturb their sleep.

I hope some day the city gets a few marquee brand names.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patna hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Maurya Patna
Hotel Maurya Patna
#1 of 31 in Patna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Patliputra Continental
1.5 mi away
The Panache
The Panache
#2 of 31 in Patna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
#9 of 31 in Patna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Westend Hotel
The Westend Hotel
#26 of 31 in Patna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Archie Inn
Hotel Archie Inn
#19 of 31 in Patna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chanakya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanakya

Property: Hotel Chanakya
Address: Beer Chand Patel Marg, Patna 800008, India
Location: India > Bihar > Patna District > Patna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Patna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chanakya 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chanakya at Patna the leading four star business hotel . We have 112 centrally air conditioned rooms with premium lifestyle. Samrat is our 32 year old multi cuisine restaurant located on the ground floor is famous for its Mercury Chicken & tomato baked fish . Madira our well stocked bar is the best place to quench your thirst located in the lobby level . We are proud of our specialty restaurant Takshila located on the first floor that serves mouth watering Indian delicacies . The Murg Malai and Murg Mirch Tikka which our regular guests and food connoisseurs swear by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chanakya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanakya Hotel Patna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing