We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and stay is ok”
Review of Hotel Daspalla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Daspalla
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food and stay is ok”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed in Dasspalla many times. If you like good andhra vegitarian food, it is the right place in vizag. Rooms are bit old and well maintained. Specially service and hospitality are good and better than any 5 star hotels. Amenties are not up to the mark,but quit managable hotel for business and family visitors. Located in centre of the city and you can find many shops near to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    92
    36
    8
    8
See reviews for
64
22
17
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Go to the Restaurants in this Hotel with no expectations. The food would be late & cold - without any accompaniments which would come along in another few minutes by which time you are too upset to eat cold food... Poor customer service - oops - they dont know what "customer service" is actually so.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandanaVandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a very short stay in this beautiful port city.

Located in the heart of city and that is the only plus.

Stayed in a suite room and it was very well done. Spacious and comfortable.

Service and maintenance is an issue and it is highly recommended to stay in the new hotels along the beach road.

Stay only if it is not chargeable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellyquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days for attending a conference.Breakfast was good ,veg tali was an average service is also not to the extent that the reputation the hotel had.room service was good.bed was comfortable with good a/c .LCD tv was good but not having all channels. Provided free wifi but was not speed enough.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laxman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel Daspalla is centrally located, with everything of any importance being just a stone's throw away. That is one of its best features.

Next, the food at the Daspalla is fresh and tasty. They have both vegetarian restaurants as well as ones that serve meat. However, you only get typical traditional fare. Since I enjoy eating local food, I love my meals at the Daspalla, whenever I visit Vishakapatnam. On the last night of my stay I usually dine at Dimple, a restaurant where they also serve liquor. I like the singer there who sings old Hindi songs. The woman singer is not as good, but in general, dinner at the Dimple is very homey, not at all what you might expect at a bar.

The not-so-good points about the hotel stem from its popularity, actually. There are usually such crowds thronging the hotel for their restaurants that things can get pretty noisy. There's also some event or the other happening all the time, with hordes of flashily dressed people going up and down perpetually.

Also, the staff, while very friendly, only speak Telugu. This can sometimes be a challenge, but most often, whoever you are dealing with fetches someone else who can communicate in Hindi or English, and you can get things done.

I was told that this hotel is a great favourite with road travellers, because drivers are given accommodation, and the hotel also packs meals for eating on the road.

It was a bit shabby when I last visited, but they were renovating the place, and I'm sure that the Daspalla has done a good job of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank factorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I am still in the hotel.I think its a hotel which has grown from their status ONLY
because of their location.Every one of their staff seems to be loyal to their owner and zero
consideration for their customers.

I have already complained thrice about the banging upstairs,but all the answers I get is that its the boss's orders."Sorry you are not important to us".
There are some funny light systems which I have not seen ANYWHERE in the world and I have travelled 34 countries!!
When I wanted to switch off the lights,I just couldnt do it.Finally I called housekeeping and with some trials,he could switch off the lights.
THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR NEWCOMERS.And definitely not fror someone who wants to relax,

Room Tip: AVOID if possible.If not enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

With its long history, Hotel Daspalla is a Vizag icon, in a way. It is centrally located, within walking or a short ride to most attractions, and a very popular spot for weddings, receptions and meetings. That is the reason for its good and the bad.... The Good: the management has done a terrific job of overhauling the previously tired rooms, with nice touches, electronics, and ample creature comforts. The beds are comfortable, furnishings thoughtful and lighting well done. The Bad: They are not as well insulated from outside noise however, (probably not possible to do so, because of the older external structure and the high levels of noise from outside especially when weddings are going on in wee hours of the night). Also, my room was between two "hospitality suites" which were being used by wedding parties, and the hotel staff was busily stocking these and cleaning them late at night.

But, the very attraction of this hotel creates the excellent restaurants, food, and friendly people that are present here. It is well worth a slightly higher price paid compared to the sister property, Daspalla Executive Court--if able, stay here!

Room Tip: If able, seek something "interior" away from outside windows to minimize noise. Select the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.5 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#3 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#14 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#2 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
1.1 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
0.2 mi away
Encore Inn
Encore Inn
#5 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daspalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daspalla

Property: Hotel Daspalla
Address: 28/2/48 SuryaBagh, Visakhapatnam 530020, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Daspalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daspalla Hotel Visakhapatnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing