We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Ambience”
Review of Meghalaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meghalaya Hotel
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Ambience”
Reviewed January 21, 2010

i went to visit vizag and once i reached vizag i was searching for hotel in around bus station. to my luck i found this hotel . its very good and affodable prce. they stay at the hotel was plesant

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
22
10
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

If you are travelling alone and want to stay for a night, this hotel is ok, the upper floors are better, ask front office to allot rooms in upper floor, this is very central, RTC complex is almost next to hotel

  • Liked — Central in location, everything is in proximity
  • Disliked — cramp
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteladvice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Good Service
Location was very convenient for quick shopping

  • Liked — Service and food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krangakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vizag
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2009

very bad experience-dont know how the hotel gets the 4 stars....hope some poltical back up.

1. During my stay , my travel desk experience was horrible. Mr. Reddy(employee), dont provide us taxi on time even though we booked it one day before. we feel very ashmed when he called the Auto wala for us.Can a 4 star hotel can do this, so we choose one private taxi otherwise we missed flight

2. the room service is very poor.Respose time is very much, the house keeping supervisor Mr. ramu have no ettiquates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank ohhooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visakhapatnam hotels

India
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

I recently returned from Vizag where I stayed in hotel meghalaya and in my view this hotel does not deserve 3 star status. The room and bathroom was not very clean in the executive class. Food was OK but could have been better. Room service was not good also. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank leo123_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We just spent a weekend at the Hotel Meghalaya. Overall it's an average hotel. I'll first list the pros and cons. So, here goes:

Things going for the hotel:
1. Very accessible location.
2. Nice veg. restaurant.
3. Above avg. service.

Things against the hotel:
1. Room is quite small (though it has everything you expect it to).
2. Sheets used are old and it shows.
3. Some of the walls are damp and show cracks.

Overall, it was a pretty decent stay. We stayed in the 'Standard' room. There's royal room and executive suite as well, which I didn't get a chance to see. Maybe they are better. The service is quite good. The corridors are kept clean. Noise is minimal. However, there's some renovation going on so I expect it to be cleaner in a couple of months time. The room had everything even though it was a little too small. The things that it lacked are a mini-bar/fridge. Other than that, it was quite nice.

The location of the hotel is really good. It's just behind the main vizag city bus stand (called RTC complex). So there's no chance of getting lost. It's also pretty close to Kailasgiri and RK beach (about 3-4km.). It's about 2 km from the railway station, so that helps if you plan to go to Araku valley by train. The staff are courteous and generally quite good.

However, since the hotel has 3 banquet halls, and seems to be quite popular, finding a parking spot was quite a hassle since we drove to vizag in our car. The veg. restaurant was pretty good and is also quite popular with the locals since we had to wait for a table during dinner-time. Ordering from room service would be a better option if you don't have the patience to wait for a table.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank calmchaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vizag/B'lore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We have done my sister's marriage in Lotus hall on April 19. The services are very poor. Food is fine. The Standard guest rooms are better than Royal rooms. Few of the rooms(109, etc) have cracks. The room is burning hot when we entered though we informed them about our arrival 1hour before and it took some time to cool. We booked 8 rooms and I had to call 8 times requesting them to bring in water.
The reception by one of the sales staff is terrible and he does not even mind to hear the guests. God bless Hotel Meghalaya!!!
Overall, I am not satisfied with the service and I am not sure how they could get that 3star status.

  • Liked — Location of the hotel
  • Disliked — Their service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.6 mi away
Ritz Comfort
Ritz Comfort
#21 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Diamond's Pearl
Hotel Diamond's Pearl
#27 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Fort Hotel
Royal Fort Hotel
#62 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#16 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Daspalla Executive Court
Daspalla Executive Court
#31 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
70 reviews
2.2 mi away
Treebo MVP Grand
Treebo MVP Grand
#25 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meghalaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meghalaya Hotel

Property: Meghalaya Hotel
Address: Dr. No. : 10-4-15, Ramnagar, Visakhapatnam 530003, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 71 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meghalaya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Meghalaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghalaya Hotel Visakhapatnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing