We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
Ranked #7 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Been there in this property from 02/07/2014 to 04/07/2014. Checking was smooth and excellent. Meet and clean rooms. Very cooperative staff. Good breakfast. Overall this is a property worth staying.
Narayanan

Room Tip: This property gives value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amborummal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

I am delighted to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Vizag and our services & rooms measured to your expectations. It is especially encouraging to know that you enjoyed our breakfast spread, as we also have an “Active breakfast” to complement the existing spread that cuts across regions to cater to different palates.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel in the future and assure you the best of services and facilities.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    171
    49
    11
    5
See reviews for
115
58
26
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have been to Gateway Vizag few times and have always felt the warmth and affection from everyone which makes me feel at Home.Harsh Rathore is like my best friend and displays amazing dedication towards all his guests.

Delicious food at Ming is an added asset to this Place.

All In All A Complete Home !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your valuable feedback.

I am delighted to know you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel.
Thank you for complimenting the quality of food at the Ming Garden and the services rendered by Harsh, my colleague at the Front Office.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.


Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

During a recent official trip to Vizag, I had the opportunity of staying at this wonderful property. Right from the first interaction, the Taj Experience was very evident.

There was a marked difference in the way a Taj property greets and interacts on phone as compared to other rivals. In fact none of the hotels come even close to the courtesy and politeness displayed by the hotel staff.

Front Office. Just as the name implies, it is the face of a hotel and leaves a lasting impression on the guest while checking in/out. Mr Harsh and Mr Shoaib are doing a great job there, managing the place effortlessly. The courtesy of the front desk staff makes you feel like a king at the hotel. The staff goes out of their way to help the guests in whatever capacity that they can. A huge credit goes to them for maintaining the 5 Star standards of this property.

F&B. Again the hotel lives up to its name in the F&B department. The service and etiquette of the restaurant staff is worth a look. The quality of food is great and never did I eat out even once in the two week stay and never ever had a complaint about anything. Banquet Manager Ma Tomishra has been doing a great job handling the GAD.

Housekeeping. Inspite of being a slightly old-ish property, the engineering and housekeeping staff has ensured its superior hygiene and habitability. Mr Adarsh, the House Er leaves no stone unturned to maintain the property.

Overall, this GATEWAY is worth a visit and definitely far superior to other rivals in every sense. You would also agree with me that... Taj is Taj !!

Great going guys.. Keep it up!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ServiceBeforeSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

It is encouraging to know you enjoyed your visit with us during your recent trip to Vizag and found our services measure to your expectations.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words of appreciation, and it will indeed be a pleasure for me to share them with my colleagues.

I am delighted to know that the softer aspects of your experience with my colleagues was complimented by the quality of food at the GAD, and the upkeep and maintenance of our hotel.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Vizag.

Assuring you the best of services and facilities, that we at the Taj are known to deliver for all our guests.


Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

It was our first visit to Vizag. We were pleasantly surprised to be greeted by a very cheerful and friendly reception staff. Check-in formalities were a breeze, thanks to Mr. Harsh Rathod. We stayed in a comfortable beach facing room on the fourth floor.

We stay regularly at Gateway Hotels during our visits across India. But the experience at this Gateway property was different. We stayed for 3 nights and did not venture much outside the hotel. The views from our room were breath-taking.

From the moment we checked-in to the time we departed, we could not have experienced a better quality of service and food. Thanks to a very efficient house-keeping, we had everything from our bed to minor things like a computer chair or power extensions taken care of. Hygiene levels were top-notch. We could not find a corner in this hotel where the house-keeping was lacking.

The room service was second to none. We are regulars at the Taj Luxury properties and this was quite a surprise. Everything from the food oil and spice levels to the tea were to our specifications. Same at the restaurants. We are grateful to Chef Sarat and his fantastic team for treating us to a variety of very tasty dishes.

The F&B team headed by Mr. Noor Mohd. (someone you must meet) is among the best we have experienced in a Taj Hotel. Every one is so courteous and spontaneous. Worth mentioning Mr. Surya and Mr. Roy at the coffee shop. Breakfast in the room was simply superb and very punctual. They took great pains to make us comfortable !

We happened to meet the General Manager Mr. Souvik. We knew him from Taj Exotica Goa (one of the best resorts in India) which we frequent. Must say, he has brought the fragrance of perfection to this property. He is a very nice gentlemen and makes sure that each guest is well looked after.

To sum up, this property scores on its superb location, excellent staff, top-notch hygiene and of course yummy food !! The property is a shade old but well maintained.

We did visit the Novotel next door just out of curiosity. The lobby and the restaurants looked very gaudy for our taste. Also we were not impressed by the service and food at the coffee shop. Can't comment on the rooms as we did not visit any.

We eagerly look forward to staying at the Gateway Vizag sometime soon.

Room Tip: Go for a beach facing room on the forth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Banerjee_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Banerjee,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Vizag and found our level of services, quality of food, hygiene and cleanliness measure to your satisfaction. Rest assured me and my team will strive to keep it that way.

Mr. Banerjee, thank you for your generous compliments.
Your kind words of appreciation mean a lot and I shall share the same with my colleagues, as they are a constant source of inspiration for all of us to further excel in our journey of delighting our esteemed guests.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.


Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Location is one of major attraction of this hotel , renovated rooms are good & service quality is excellent ...being old property not like new hotels , TV reception quality definitely needs improvement ....

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on 3ed floor facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Nitin,

Greetings from the Gateway hotel Visakhapatnam.

At the outset allow me to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

It is encouraging to know that your overall stay and service experience with us has been to your satisfaction.
Thank you for complimenting the quality of our rooms, food and above all, the level of services at the hotel. It will indeed be my pleasure to share your words of appreciation with the team at the hotel.

We strongly believe guest feedback is an integral part of our continuous journey of excellence. On this note, I’d like to assure you that we are working on the quality of Television channels and shall strive to make a positive difference to the same during your future visits.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel in the future and assure you the best of services and facilities.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very good location i.e. near beach.
Good beach view rooms.
Friendly staff and superb service
Need to improve on TV Channels.
Electricity is a major concern as lifts were getting stopped frequently
Food is OK.

Room Tip: Check for beach view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitharaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

This is a short note to thank you for your patronage during your recent stay with us!

I have noted your feedback about the television channels and would like to assure you that we are taking requisite steps to ensure such issues do not recur.

We have also noted your feedback about the disturbance in electricity and would like to assure you that the hotel is adequately backed with the required generators. During the changeover period of the power outage, the facility may face a shortage of electricity for a brief few seconds before the generators come into play. I regret the inconvenience caused and apologize for the same. I assure you that I shall discuss the same with our Chief Engineer to see how we can mitigate the same.

I am delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel’s location, rooms & found our services measure to your expectations.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.

Warm regards,


Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Nicely located hotel. Well placed near beach, Inox and shopping center. Rooms are good, food is also very good. The only problem is selection of channels in TV. I believe after hard day of work, we should sit back in the evening and watch some TV. Many channels in my room number 206 were jittery and were stocking.

Leaving this other things such a electricity is a major concern as lifts were getting stopped frequently.

Towels are also not very good in quality.

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms, one which face sea and other which don,t. Check TV channels if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navneetarya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mr. Arya,

This is a short note to thank you for your patronage during your recent stay with us!

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your feedback as we strongly believe guest feedback is an integral part of our continuous journey to excellence.

We have noted your feedback about the television channels & quality of linen, and would like to assure you that we are taking requisite steps to ensure such issues do not recur. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We have also noted your feedback about the disturbance in electricity and would like to assure you that the hotel is adequately backed with the required generators. During the changeover period of the power outage, the facility may face a shortage of electricity for a brief few seconds before the generators come into play. I regret the inconvenience caused and apologize for the same. I assure you that I shall discuss the same with our Chief Engineer to see how we can mitigate the same.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.



Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
1.5 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#3 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#2 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
WelcomHotel Grand Bay
WelcomHotel Grand Bay
#13 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Beach Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Beach Road

Property: The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
Address: Beach Road, Visakhapatnam 530002, India (Formerly Taj Residencey)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Spa Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#5 Business Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#5 Family Hotel in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Beach Road 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel-Visakhapatnam has 95 Rooms including Deluxe Balcony Suites, offering panoramic view of the Bay of Bengal. Located 16kms from the Airport and 06 kms from Railway Station and 02 kms from city centre and shopping district.For Dining-GAD-The Coffee Shop offering Buffet Spread for Breakfast and Dinner and A la Carte for Lunch , Ming Garden-Chinese Specialty Restaurant opened for Lunch and Dinner and Lawson’s Lounge The BAR-opened from 1200hrs till 2300hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Beach Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Visakhapatnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing