We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is in a calm area opposite to sea. The old part of the hotel is well maintained. The staff are efficient and courteous. The food is excellent, their buffet breakfast has good choice and quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a see view room
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangassamy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Mr. Rangassamy,

Greetings from Visakhapatnam – “The City of Destiny” & “Jewel of the East”.

I am delighted to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Vizag and found our services, food, especially the buffet breakfast, measure to your expectations. I would also like to thank you for complimenting the way our hotel has been maintained.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.

Warm regards,


Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 511 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

As the saying goes "Old is really Gold". This hotel has been staying on the same spot may be since the last 30 years. It may have worn out physically but it still maintains the charm that it was built with. It is one of those hotels which still has some character left. Although the standard rooms may seem prehistoric to the seasoned traveler, the other rooms are well furnished after the much needed facelift. The Suite rooms facing the sea are the best. The staff are wonderful, food is great and views are unbeatable. Wonderful to have some idyllic time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waywardbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Mr. Guest,

Greetings from Visakhapatnam – “The City of Destiny” & “Jewel of the East”.

Thank you for sparing your precious time and sharing your feedback as we strongly believe guest feedback is an integral part of our continuous journey to excellence.

I am delighted to note you have enjoyed your stay with us and felt the charm and character our hotel exudes, something that all of us take great pride in, being part of the hotel.

Thank you for your complimenting the quality of our associates, food and our sea facing Suites with Private Balcony.

All of us at the Gateway hotel, Visakhapatnam appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back and assure you the best of services and facilities.


Warm regards,


Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had lot of expectations when I first stayed in this hotel. Since it was listed as Taj group I thought it might be of star quality. When I first entered the question was is your hotel 4 or 5 star, and was told 5 star. Unfortunately when I checked online it was listed as only 4 star. Wonder if the employees themselves are not sure. Definitely dint have any mark of Taj group hotels. Clean but otherwise nothing worth mentioning. Dint like the breakfast spread, felt most of the juices were very sour. Very bad showers, had to complain to the management. Looks like the management is aware about it, still they gave this room to someone to stay. Also had trouble with drains in the bathroom as they were not working properly. Since they have marriage hall downstairs and they had some events happening, it was very noisy at the night. Had to complain to the management to receive a reply saying that they cannot do anything. Though they had a spa they had no service. Strange.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel_Traveler444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

This is a short note to thank you for your patronage during your stay with us in November 2013.

It is with great concern I have made a note of your experience, please accept my sincere apologies for the same.

We have noted your feedback about the various aspects of your stay, and would like to assure you that we shall strive to ensure such these issues do not recur.

Thank you for pointing to us about the category listing you witnessed while booking online. While we shall have that checked up with the concerned Website, may I clarify that we are a duly certified 5 star hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel Visakhapatnam and assure you a pleasant stay during your future visits.


Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

i have been to Taj for attending one of my family friend's marriage party and stayed 2 nights in Taj, Vishakapatnam.... its really a superb place to stay and me and my family enjoyed a lot.... the food was excellent and the rooms are also big and classy.... bt its not totally on the beach but one can see the sea quite properly from the room.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saikat_hari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Situated near the beach (except a road between them) . It was a very nice stay. The rooms are neat and clean. The staff is very helpful and professional. The food across the restaurants is good. Breakfast has variety to choose from and is fresh. The only shortcoming was that in the bathroom occasionally there was a foul smell. Apart from that it was a nice 3 night stay

Room Tip: Try to get room on floor 4 or above beach facing
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Mr. Raman,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

I would also like to Thank you for complimenting the services, quality & taste of food across the restaurants and variety of breakfast. I am delighted to know that your overall experience during your 3 night stay matched your expectations.

I have also noted your observation regarding the smell in the bathroom and assure you the same has been discussed in detail with our Chief Engineer and Executive Housekeeper, to ensure such lapses do not recur. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel in future and meeting you in person, and assure you the best of services and facilities

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. You can not get any closer to the sea. It is a kind of a deck, so to say. The best part is the adjoining coffee shop known for its Sunday lunch. Whenever I happen to be in Vizag, I make sure to visit the place just to have the feel of it.

Room Tip: Just leave it to the hotel !
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roylokesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Mr. Lokesh Roy,

Thank you for sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

I am pleased to note that our services measured up to your expectations and you enjoyed the Sunday brunch at our all coffee shop. We appreciate your kind words of appreciation as the same will go a long way in our continuous journey of excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel in the future and assure you the best of services and facilities.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed in the suite room facing the beach, and the view from the room was stunning. Watching the sunrise in the morning was a lovely experience from the exclusive balcony, and we sat there for hours, including the lovely breakfast which we ordered in. The interiors of the room are pretty good as well, albeit slightly in the older decor. We loved the living room and balcony, and could host our friends with the great food as well.

I think along with Novotel, this is the best place to stay in Vizag.

Room Tip: Take a sea facing room with the balcony for an exquisite experience
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karan_Maroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souvik_Bhattacharya, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Mr. Maroo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your precious time to share your feedback.

I am delighted to note you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Vizag and our services measured to your expectations. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the exclusive dining experience & the food in the balcony of your suite.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel in the future and partake in creating many more memories for you to cherish.

Warm regards,

Souvik Bhattacharya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
1.5 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#7 of 72 in Visakhapatnam
884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#2 of 72 in Visakhapatnam
970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#4 of 72 in Visakhapatnam
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treebo Saaket Residency
Treebo Saaket Residency
#35 of 72 in Visakhapatnam
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Beach Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Beach Road

Address: Beach Road, Visakhapatnam 530002, India (Formerly Taj Residencey)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Spa Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#5 Business Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#5 Family Hotel in Visakhapatnam
Price Range: $112 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Beach Road 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel-Visakhapatnam has 95 Rooms including Deluxe Balcony Suites, offering panoramic view of the Bay of Bengal. Located 16kms from the Airport and 06 kms from Railway Station and 02 kms from city centre and shopping district.For Dining-GAD-The Coffee Shop offering Buffet Spread for Breakfast and Dinner and A la Carte for Lunch , Ming Garden-Chinese Specialty Restaurant opened for Lunch and Dinner and Lawson’s Lounge The BAR-opened from 1200hrs till 2300hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Beach Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Visakhapatnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing