We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
WelcomHotel Grand Bay(Visakhapatnam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Treebo Sea Rock(Visakhapatnam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Supreme(Visakhapatnam)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
99 Residency(Visakhapatnam)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gupta Inn(Visakhapatnam)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Winsar Park(Visakhapatnam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
279
207
60
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
207
60
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restauranttaj groupming gardengad restaurantsea viewvalue for moneybeach roadmorning walkbusiness stayin room diningcoffee shopexcellent viewpersonal touchduty managerf bexcellent serviceexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
474 - 479 of 568 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for a little less than a week, during a recent business trip.
Loved the location of hotel and view of beach from the room. The location is such that each room would give a similar view. Staff was professional and courteous. The price was competitive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dushyant1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahipal_Singh, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Beach Road, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and happy to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Vizag.

We hope you would have carried fond memories with you. We are happy to receive your positive feedback on the services you have experienced and we look forward to welcoming you soon with you at The Gateway Hotel, Visakhapatnam.

Kind regards,


Mahipal Singh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel gives you a taste of the quality of service you can expect from a Taj Property!! The location is very good next to the beach and you can really laze around and enjoy the holiday with a team that can take care of every requirement of you with warmth and a friendly smile.

Room Tip: choose a room on top floors
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijaymannur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed on a high floor in this hotel for 3 nights. Great location with a lovely view of the sea and also the hotel swimming pool. Staff are very courteous and service is good. Room was okay, decent-sized with all the required toiletries provided. We checked in after a late night flight but the manager made sure we were escorted to our rooms. Our room had a good view but smelt of cigarette smoke. Since other sea-facing rooms were not available, the manager was apologetic and even offered to spray some air freshner. Food was okay. Buffet breakfast was so-so, nothing great. Buffet lunch was also mediocre. We ordered some north indian set (lunch) and also some sandwiches, soup (dinner)for in-room dining and they tasted good.
Minus points - a long walk from the rooms to the breakfast dining hall, overall pricey food and room, local call charges exorbitant. Rooms look dated, not worth the price they charge. Internet charges high.No iron or ironing board in the rooms - they took a long time to find one for me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the high floor, insist on a full sea-view, some rooms have very little sea-view with remaining view being the wall of the building.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris29_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had been to this hotel twice during last year. Its in great location with Sea facing rooms n a mall just opposite to its main entrance. I preferred the top floors, right side u'll have port n mall view and left is beach view.
The staff r very courteous n service is excellent. The only drawback is the room service is very slow, food taste is very bad. I tried Hyderabad Chicken Biryani and Fish both are horrible tasted. U don't get room service after 11 pm. Even the Buffet breakfast is so..so. But the restaurants are having great view. The rooms are well appointed and lobby is elegant with its old world charm. its value for money stay minus food.

Room Tip: choose top floor
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kskalyanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had a good business stay at this sea facing hotel. The hotel is initially owned by the Taj Group. The location of the hotel is really amazing with sea in front. Staff offered great courtsey. The food I had here was excellent. Signature dishes like Szechwan peppercorns added sizzle to authentic Chinese preparations. Over all nice and re-juvenalizing stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitoshverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews