We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blew my expectations !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Yaaa...Its all about gateway !! My parents made the reservation and i had no clue about the room. Once the door was opened to the room...i was just staring wide ! in front of me was the blue ocean...clean and pristine !! Yaa...we were in a suite and the best thing about gateway is that the suite rooms have a private balcony open to the sea (no other hotel in vizag has). The room was very well done. It had all the amenities. The living room also had a mini bar ! The bed room had a large cozy bed, a good study table and a decent bathroom.

It is a wonderful property by the beach. Our family had a wonderful time. The staff were very courteous and polite. we stayed during christmas and I got atleast twenty "Merry Christmas Sir" wishes from the staff...!!

The food,though, was not very good. Ala-carte at GAD was good but the buffet was not very tasty. Although there are better places to stay in vizag you will not get the gateway experience elsewhere.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea facing. But choose a room onto the south side they have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wittyboy371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 531 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

The last time I stayed at TAJ, Vizag as it was earlier called, I found it to be horribly old which needed a desperate revamp. The management might have thought the same and now it stands facing the sea with clean, refurbished rooms, an excellent restaurant and polite & courteous staff. The rooms are Neat & Tidy. Service is excellent. Sleep Quality is great. Location is picture perfect. The breakfast and the dinner were great, although I could no taste their coveted Lunch Thali. The best part about my stay was the staff go out of their way to serve you. We are leaving for Ichapuram at 6.00 in the morning and since the breakfast would only start at 7.00, the service guy attending us packed some tasty sandwiches and gave us which really helped as there was no decent outlet during the entire journey.
So much so while checking out the guy attending my room, packed a handful of those tasty andhra podi's for me to take home and be with the taste. Kudos.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with Sea View and if on a holiday go for the weekend package..Great VFM
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddy-Oscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Its the Taj Gateway brand and very business hotel. They are very different to the Vivanta & luxury hotels of the brand and hence cannot be compared.

Very well situated on the beach road and all rooms from 2nd till 6th floor are sea facing. The hotels is very quiet and is a business hotel and not all that for kids or holidays. It has a swimming pool and health club and 2 restaurants.

The staff are very courteous and good value for money compared to other star hotels in the vicinity. Nice renovated rooms, but one has better options near by for better rooms & hotels.

Room Tip: If visiting Vizag for a holiday with family and kids, one would have better options. For business tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akashgupta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the Gateway twice, 2nd oct and 5th Oct. Most of the hotel is renovated except for the 6th floor and that also seems to be getting a makeover. Just one lift was functional and that resulted in longer wait times for getting in and out of the room. Stayed on the 6th floor and 4th floor. 4th floor room was renovated and was much bettter compared to the 6th floor room. they claim sea view for all the rooms but all you get to see is a small portion of the sea. Mostly you get to see the Novotel (if you are staying in the odd numbered room-607) or an apartment complex if staying in an even numbered room (402). The dining options are limited and during our stay the restaurant was having Chettinad food festival! The restuarant was empty and vrey stuffy. So chose to walk across the road at the Novotel. The buffet was good and spread was interesting at the Novotel!
the hotel design is a bit odd though. From the room you have to walk quite a bit (and one floor lower later) to get to the restaurant. The view is good if you get to sit outside but due to bad weather we were confined to sit indoors. the corridors to the restaurant are stuffy and no airconditioning even in the peak of heat!! So the walk was quite uncomfortable.
The internet speed was good but was charged at 600+taxes. This being the cheapest amongst the hotels, i think it was better value for money as compared to the rest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at the Taj Vizag for 4 nights for a family getaway. Hotel is right next to the beach and amongst a cluster of 3 hotels- Novotel and Welcomgroup being the others. Was booked into an Executive room but was dissapointed at the size of the King bed. It wasnt enough for the both of us and my 4 year old.
Asked for another room and was given a Twin bed but had a fantastic view of the beach. Did not want to move on further. 2 restraunts only- Chinese and All day coffee shop. Food was ok, but service was good. In fact the only thing I liked about this hotel was the helpfulness of the staff, right from the lady at room service who suggested food for my sick son to the front office staff and the duty manager who gave us an extended check out.
Billing was all messed up as usual, but nothing much to complain. Gym was occupied by a lot of Russians who I guess are staying in groups here..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We went to Vishakhapatnam during the long weekend of August 2012.Overall experience was good except that the bathrooms could do with a hair dryer & a bathroom scale.The food needs improvement as the menu is very obvious both for the breakfast and the meals.Food taste was also not so good for the Taj group standards.The rest all was very nice.

Room Tip: Please go for the rooms facing the ocean view starting from the 2nd floor onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Luvly hotel, excellent view of the beach from the room, prompt service and the Manager was very helpful and arranged things promptly. We stayed there for 3 days and it is a really memorable stay for us.
The swimming pool is a give plus point for the hotel, must try the food was excellent too

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumit_Dhar_kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
1.5 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 73 in Visakhapatnam
929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#3 of 73 in Visakhapatnam
996 reviews
0.1 mi away
WelcomHotel Grand Bay
WelcomHotel Grand Bay
#9 of 73 in Visakhapatnam
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#4 of 73 in Visakhapatnam
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Beach Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Beach Road

Address: Beach Road, Visakhapatnam 530002, India (Formerly Taj Residencey)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Family Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#4 Spa Hotel in Visakhapatnam
#5 Business Hotel in Visakhapatnam
Price Range: $108 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Beach Road 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Hotel-Visakhapatnam has 95 Rooms including Deluxe Balcony Suites, offering panoramic view of the Bay of Bengal. Located 16kms from the Airport and 06 kms from Railway Station and 02 kms from city centre and shopping district.For Dining-GAD-The Coffee Shop offering Buffet Spread for Breakfast and Dinner and A la Carte for Lunch , Ming Garden-Chinese Specialty Restaurant opened for Lunch and Dinner and Lawson’s Lounge The BAR-opened from 1200hrs till 2300hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Beach Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Visakhapatnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing