We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunray Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunray Village Resort
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

- Must visit place. Must visit hotel. Very curtious staff. Awesome overall experience. I will plan a second trip to Aruku surely. Good food. Awesome service. Complete security. Friendly staff. We had a great time and wish could spend some more time in Aruku @ Sun Ray Village Resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanmoy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM S, General Manager at Sunray Village Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

I am glad to know that you had a wonderful time in our resort. Reviews like this are always encouraging for us. I will pass on your comments to our staff.

We look forward to welcome you again on your next scheduled trip to Sun Ray Village.

Regards,
Durga Rao Kanumuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    68
    8
    8
    12
See reviews for
139
34
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We recently checked in the first week of August. Im not really satisfied with the food, it's not worth to the price. Other than the food we checked in 4 rooms for 2 nights and we payed 33k, where if add another 7-10k, we can stay in Novotel with a perfect beach view and very into city. Traveling from Sunray to the city took us almost 1 hr. but other than all these backdrops Sunray got a pleasant and beautiful place where a couple or family can come just for leisure, good anemities, pool, garden etc.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mownish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM S, General Manager at Sunray Village Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Though you have appreciated the Resort and the amenities, It is apparent that you are unhappy about our pricing and Location of the Resort. I would like to take this opportunity to clarify regarding the same.

1) Our current room tariff is 3222 + Taxes, for which we provide the below amenities.

1) Complimentary breakfast for two adults.
2) Welcome drink on Arrival + Complimentary Fruit and Snack Baskets in room.
3) Complimentary access to Indoor gaming zone (Snooker, Table Tennis, Xbox, Air Hockey, Foosball etc).
4) Complimentary access to outdoor gaming Zone (Cricket, Basket Ball, Tennis, Cycling, Trampoline, Skating Etc).
5) Complimentary access to club house amenities (Swimming pool, Health club, Home theatre, Library and Business centre).
6) Complimentary Pick up or Drop from Airport or Railway station.

In your particular case the final bill of Rs 33,000 is for the below facilities used during your stay with us.
1) 8 Executive rooms (4 * 2 Days).
2) 4 Extra beds.
3) Total Food expenditure for two days for 9 adults + 3 kids.
4) Mini Bar expenditure.

2) Leisure Resorts are ideally located away from the chaotic urban settings, similarly in our case we are located 38 kms away from the centre of Visakhapatnam city, which could be comfortably reached in 45 min drive on the National Highway No 5. Considering the amenities we provide it will be difficult to accommodate them in busy cities like Visakhapatnam.

I Hope that I have explained about the concerns you mentioned, you can also personally contact me for further clarification if required at GM@SUNRAYVILLAGERESORT.COM

I wish you will give us an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Durga Rao Kanumuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I checked in August with my family and we had lot of fun and joy. pool was excellent and they have good cottages better then Vijayawada resort.My family looking ahead to spend more time on next visit.

Room Tip: next to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunny081081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM S, General Manager at Sunray Village Resort, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. It’s great to read that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in our resort.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed our much-acclaimed swiming pool and the resort villas.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sunray Village.

Regards,
Durga Rao Kanumuri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

one of the best places in AP to spend your holiday, the best class hospitaliy& service , & the food was awasome.Every one can have real fun time in this resort. This is the only resort in Vizag which is having all the eminities like cricket ground , tennis court , basket ball court.......

Room Tip: higher floor have lesst ac unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bathula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM S, General Manager at Sunray Village Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your wonderful comments about Sunray Village and many thanks for this review given to us.

I am glad to know that you had an enjoyable time throughout your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next scheduled visit to Sunray.

Warm regards,

Durga Rao,
Genral Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

But...It is still in a WIP state.

When you look at huge billboards aligning the not-so-busy streets of
vizag, with images of pretty cottages, a crystal-clear-pool and name
as peppy as Sun-ray resort; your mind does paint a happy picture.

This place which is apparently being advertised in and around
Hyderabad was recommended by a friend who lives there. Thanks to his
recco, we landed up at this beautiful resort - which is
located...hmmm...in midst of nowhere! (on the outskirts of Vizag)

The entrance to this resort is tastefully done up. A never ending road
surrounded by trees, saplings and plants on both sides gives you a
glimpse of how its been perfectly set-up in the heart of a picturesque
location. A two minute drive on the golf car and you are dropped off
at the reception/check-in area. Brightblue, checkered tiles, lots of
fountains, a chandelier made out of tree branches and little saplings
make the entrance post-card perfect. As you enter the lobby, a huge
structure of the world famous pirate-Johnny Deep (sigh!) stands tall.
It is made entirely out of spare-broken down parts of machines and is
an example of art-work at its best! It lends a very gothic feel to the
check-in area-a stark contrast to the landscaped exterior. (At this
point in time- the welcome drink would have been perfect to provide
some relief in the hot-summery-vizag weather in the month of june. But
we weren't offered any. That's when I realize, there is something
amiss with the service)..may be I was judging too soon.

Later we were escorted to this cottage which was lovely! Neat rooms
(not very very spacious)-but very resort-like. The entrance to this
cottage was adorned with a traditional brass pot with colourful flower
petals forming a rangoli-like pattern..feast for the eyes I say!

Once we checked into the rooms, we were disappointed with two aspects
- the light fitting system was very complicated (there were a total of
25 switches in a single room) and we had no clue which one served what
purpose. Disappointment no 2 - water supply! It made us feel as if
there was a drip irrigation pump installed instead of a faucet! This
is one aspect-they really have to get right.

Once out of the cottage-there is so much one can do. Swimming, bike
riding, basketball, cricket, football, squash court,billiards,
trampoline-you name it and they have it all! There are earmarked
grounds for each of these outdoor sports and all very well managed. I
think a skating ring would be a nice addition to their already
exhaustive list of facilities.

If sports is not what interests you, then you can just take a walk
around the huge property or read a book on the hammock...and while you
take a stroll - do visit the beautifullllllllllllllllll (not
exaggerating!) Lotus pond. Do it twice-once in the morning (to check
out the wonderful collection of fishes and to click pictures). The
setting is so perfect that a click anywhere; and you will end up
having your own desktop-dislay-picture. Once again, visit the same
place in the night! Wait for the lights to be switched on by the
security staff and witness the magic as it unfolds. Once the lights
are switched on, the lotus pond turns breathtakingly beautiful. :)

Head to the restaurant and try some delicious andhra cuisine (Do ask
for complimentary chips and curd-mirchi). Yummilicouss!!!

So; all in all - this resort has all the right ingredients of a
perfect weekend getaway. The only thing which is missing in parts is
the service. Here, I must clarify that the room service attendants and
all the other staff members are very helpful and will be happy to
guide you with a smile. The missing link is the service "management"
team who essentially heads the overall function. (We were informed
that they are in the transition phase and are re-aligning their
management team). Hoping it happens soon. This place has a lot of
potential and is yet to be tapped.

So - should you visit this place? Yes - if you happen to be around
Vizag; you should surely offer yourself the luxury of being in a
beautiful setting. This is provided you are ready to pay through your
nose and don't mind a few hiccups due to lax service.

Here's hoping this place stays beautiful and untouched for years to come..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dhara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raj i, General Manager at Sunray Village Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

There is nothing more rewarding than knowing that you have gathered so many special and unforgettable moments in our resort. Thank you so much for this thoughtful review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the picturesque landscapes, Food, Cottage Villa, Sporting facilities, Fishponds and particularly the Lotus gardens. It also gives us immense pleasure to know your appreciation towards the hospitality of our staff.

I would like to share that there is Skating facility under construction in the sporting zone next to the sports cafe, which will be opened shortly. And also we serve complimentary welcome drink on arrival for our guests and I need to check what went wrong on that particular day, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the same.

I have personally discussed the concerns you have raised in your review about the room with the rest of our team to ensure that appropriate remedies are put in place to prevent similar lapses from occurring again. We also discussed about the missing links you mentioned in our staff-training center.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit to the Resort and thanks for your concern about the resort we will do everything possible to maintain and improve the beauty of the resort.


Kind Regards,

Durga Rao

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
20.2 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
21.5 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
21.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#2 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
21.5 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#1 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
22.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#17 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunray Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Village Resort

Property: Sunray Village Resort
Address: At Bhogapuram National Highway 5, Visakhapatnam 531173, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Ray Village Resort is located 38 Kms from Vizag city Centre. Resort is located in the 120 acre gated community surrounded with lush gardens and landscapes. Equipped with amenities like swimming pool, cricket field, basketball court, tennis court, children indoor and outdoor play areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sunray Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing