We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel is worth staying in just for the fantastic view of the ocean from all the rooms. It is situated across the road from the beach, but the beach here is very dirty and not worth visiting. It is far better to sit in the room and watch the boats, ocean and activity. The room is a reasonable size and comfortable, with a bed big enough for all 4 of us (the two kids are young). A good range of food was available at breakfast and lunch and the price (of lunch) was reasonable. Our only complaint is the half-day charge for checking into the room early. Many hotels allow early check-in when rooms are available, but they charged us an additional half-day rate, which made the stay over-priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Sunjoy,

We appreciate your review and the time taken in posting your comments with regards to your stay experience in our hotel.

I am delighted to note that your stay was comfortable and you liked our rooms, food & services. However kindly accept my sincere apologies for not being able to address your concern on half-day charge for early check in , at the time of your check out.

At Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotel.

Hospitable Regards

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    281
    66
    9
    22
See reviews for
295
109
42
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

'beach side' is true but it didn't look particularly inviting! Culturally interesting to watch out from the poolside to the hundreds of locals dipping their toes in the sea.... Feels like you're in India which is a positive when on a sterile business trip!
The hotel had recently been done up & looked clean & fab. Slightly irritating that, at the time, you couldn't order drinks to sit outside in the evening while outside as you had to go into the bar... Not the biggest deal!
Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank London_Redstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in the month of April at Visakhapatnam. We appreciate the time taken to share your feedback and expressing your concern. Your feedback means a lot to us and we appreciate every comment that allows us to improve our services and get patronized by guests like you.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We have positively worked on your comment and have started the service by the Pool since summer this year.

I am sure on your next visit at our hotel you will enjoy the service at poolside.

The team here looks forward to welcoming you soon at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach!

Hospitable Regards,

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

OK I have seen many hotels in India, this is the only one with a wonderful view of a green sea. The Mumbai hotels have a view of a grey murky sea. Great rooms, Swedish inspired minimalist and clean. TV did not work some channels scratchy some missing. AC was erratic either too cold or too warm. Many other guests also had complaints about the AC.
Great food and very reasonable prices, breakfast buffet Rs 300/- plus? Lunch for about 700/- all inc.? who gives you this in India?
Great restaurant and jogging track on the rooftop.

Service is patchy, new staff needs to get experienced.
Nuff said, just go there will you?

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room with a full view, some rooms may have partial views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Sir,

It is a real pleasure to receive such a heartfelt note on our hotel. We appreciate the time taken to share your experience with us. We assure you that we will try to improve your less positive comments for future guests or for your return visit.

We appreciate your feedback and suggestions. It is through guest such as your goodself, we get an opportunity to forge ahead towards improving our services. We wish we could have met you during your stay here and resolve all your discomforts.

We hope you will give us another chance to showcase the warmth and services.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you and your family soon at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach.

Hospitable Regards,

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyk
Level Contributor
403 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 874 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is situated right opposite the beach , just steps away from the shore ! the area of the beach on the left hand side (facing the beach) is the one of the busiest beaches in the city with temples, restaurants, etc. There are 2 other hotels just a stone throw away from novotel and an Inox theatre just behind the novotel.
the hotel itself is nicely done with modern touch. the pros are - the rooms, the swimming pool, the spa, the location .
the cons are - the food and service is avg and needs improvement...

If you are a beach fan and plan to stay in a modern and fresh nice hotel ... this is the place ,as the other ones nearby are a bit old and very contemporary and not great views of the beach...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nyk1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel as your preferred accommodation in Visakhapatnam and we appreciate you having taken the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to learn that you liked our property, our rooms and other leisure services. Also we have noted your comment on Food & Service and the same has been appraised to the team. We are leaving no stone unturned to get the best of our services extended to every guest who stays with us.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and look forward to welcome you soon at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach.

Hospitable Regards,

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a new hotel that has been thoughfully and beautifully designed. Every room has a view of the Bay of Bengal. The rooms were clean and we loved the glass shower that had a bright open air feel to it.

The main restaurant, The Square, has a great buffet plus pasta & pizza on request as well as an a la carte menu. The food is terrific - really! It also has a view of the bay and we enjoyed tranquil early morning breakfasts gazing at the water and the ships passing by. The second restaurant, Zaffran, offers wonderful Indian cuisine. Compliments to the chef!

The gym is very well equipped and has the same great view.

The only issues we had were the room hallways were quite warm and steamy. A few comments to the duty manager and they seemed to get the A/C working. They were still working on completing the roof where a fitness track and restaurant/bar were planned with panaramic vistas.

In all we had a great stay, highly recommended. We'll look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Lorin ,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent visit to Visakhapatnam. We appreciate and value the time you have taken to share your experience with us.

We are certainly extremely thrilled to learn that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach. Your positive comments regarding the buffet at The Square , and our authenticated Indian cuisine restaurant The Zaffran, we will happily share with our Chef and his culinary team.

We are delighted to note that you liked our property and leisure services especially the GYM. We have noted your comments w.r.t. the Air conditioning at the Room Corridors. Our sincere apologies for the discomfort.

We are glad to inform you that our sports jogging track on the roof top is now operational and very shortly we are opening a new restaurant called "Infinity" on terrace, which will be probably operational before your next visit to our hotel

Accolades and appreciation such as yours only encourage us to further improve our services and facilities.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Novotel with your family and friends.

Hospitable Regards,

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went to Vizag to attend the annual conference of Medical and pediatric oncologists of India.
This was my first trip to Vizag.
The entrance to the hotel is nice but even better is the view from the hotel overlooking the beach,really great!
The lobby is a bit cluttered.The staff are courteous but not professional enough for a hotel as this.
All the rooms have a lovely view of the beach,saw nice sunrises.The rooms are spacious,the corridors are carpeted but the upkeep is bad.Food is good - spicy and inviting.
I stayed for 3 days ,the buffet breakfast is well laid out,we got to taste the Andra delicacies as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank highstandards00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Govind,

Thank you very much for choosing Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach for your recent stay in Vizag. I am delighted to note that inspite of your busy schedule you were able to take time and describe about our property and services. I hope the team was successful in demonstrating the standard of services and live upto your expectation level.

I am glad to note that you found the food matching to your taste buds and we wish to serve you more often with your choice of menu during your future visits with your family and friends.

Your observation regarding the upkeep of corridors has been noted and necessary corrective measures have been initiated. It is only through experienced and valuable guests such as you, we are able to continuously improvise on our services and achieve laurels.

Thank you once again for your feedback and suggestion and hope to see you soon!


Hospitable Regards,

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is worth a stay and is a real value for money. The hotel is located very close to the beach and all the rooms provide a view of the beach. Even the swimming pool is such that it looks like it is a continuation of the beach in the hotel.
the food quality and spread is very good and the room service is prompt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karnajalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Karna Jalan

Thank you very much your review. It gives me an immense pleasure to know that you liked our property, service and food. Nothing gives us more joy than to know that your stay with us was perfect.

At Novotel, the team strives to exceed our guest’s expectations and your encouraging feedback will motivate us to scale greater heights of excellence.

We are glad to inform you that our sports jogging track on the roof top is now operational and very shortly we are opening a new restaurant called "Infinity" on terrace, which will be probably operational before your next visit to our hotel

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach.

Hospitable Regards,

Mohd Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
1.5 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
0.7 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#3 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
#7 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#2 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
856 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Bheemili Resort Managed by AccorHotels
The Bheemili Resort Managed by A...
#18 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach

Property: Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
Address: Beach Road, Visakhapatnam 530003, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed right on the beach stands a model of architectural brilliance and an epitome of hospitality, Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach, the first and only 5-star deluxe hotel of the city and the entire state of Andhra Pradesh. With major accolades of the hospitality world added to its name like the "Best New Hotel of the Year 2011", "Best Hotel Design in Project Stage -PAN India 2011", "Best Business Hotel in Visakhapatnam" etc., Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach is the golden pendant on the diamond necklace, i.E., The VUDA marine drive. Be it a wedding/conference/exhibition, our banquet halls spread over 56000 sft, are crafted beautifully to give you the best of facilities and ambience. NVVB holds the credential of having the largest pillar-less banquet hall by any hotel in the state, called the V-Convention, which can accommodate up to 1250 guests. The whole banquet area of the hotel can be adjusted into 12 banquet halls, each to its own speciality. The Gen-Next Eureka room with customized modular furniture for power meetings has become the most sought after meeting venue in and around the city. With a dedicated entry to these banquets, they are spaced out to hold gatherings as much as 4000 there by making them one of, in the entire state. Our dining solutions have left our guests drooling from day one. The signature Square restaurant is an all Day Dining/Contemporary Interactive Buffet restaurant. Over-looking the Land-scaped pool gardens and the Bay of Bengal, the Square has the largest buffet spread in the city. Cantilevered design, live stations and cooking counters, and elegant wine display will make you want to come back for more. Zaffran, the Specialty Indian restaurant set by the pool and landscaped lawns overlooking the ocean, prides itself on serving the best and most authentic Indian food in the city. The restaurant also includes 2 private dining rooms each accommodating 10 guests. The roof-top Infinity bar and kitchen placed 150ft above the sea level serves delicious multi-cuisine food. A panoramic aerial-like view of the Bay of Bengal is its USP apart from the scrumptious delicacies. The in-house guests are lodged in a vast abode of 225 rooms, all with a breathtaking sea-facing view. Superior Rooms and Premier Rooms are at your service for short leisure and business trips. Our Extended Stay Rooms have been home for many people including leading MNC personnel. The Executive Suites will pad you with all the comforts you can think of and for those who want nothing less than king-size, make the Presidential Suite your dwelling. We also hold the unique asset of an accessible room for differently-enabled people which is customized beautifully to help them feel at home. All our guests, be it in-house or otherwise, have an access to a variety of fitness and leisure options. The State-of-the-art 24 hours fitness centre, In Balance also offers access to a unique landscaped terrace jogging track and 24 hours outdoor infinity pool which are also the first in the state. The Dew, beauty salon and spa offers the most relaxing and rejuvenating solution in the city. The happening parties of the town are hosted at our Vue Bar and Infinity Lounge, which are known to be home for all the party animals of the city. Altogether, the hotel is reputed in delivering the fantastic 5-star deluxe experience time and again and is not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing