We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but central location”
Review of Meghana Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Visakhapatnam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meghana Hotel
Ranked #22 of 83 Visakhapatnam B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic but central location”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is a city centre hotel. It is basic but fairly clean and comfortable. We had a standard double room costing 2299rps a night this included a buffet breakfast, although on the second morning there was no buffet.

Room service was a bit of a joke, we asked for a sandwich and were told no one could do this! This hotel is not able to cope with international tourists, very few staff speak english or hindi. However given its location and cost, I would say it is average value for money.

The staff were polite and when we could understand each other were very helpfull. If you expect a bit of luxury this hotel is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rilliesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Meghana hotel is located in leela mahal centre, central in location. Walkable to many places, shopping, entertainment, temples, hospitals and etc. Rooms are clean and bed sheets, towels are looking fresh. There is a restaurant quite opposite to the reception which serves indian food. Food quality is good but not too tasty. No complimentary breakfast. Room service is very late. Room service is very bad, understanding levels of staff is also poor. You order for something, you will get something. For solo traveler, for short trip, i think one may choose this option. Rates are very convenient and pocket friendly.location is the key for this hotel, very central.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoteladvice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2010

Meghana Hotel in Visakhapatnam located Darba Gardens. My experience with hotels in Visakhapatnam was never good including this visit that happen to be the 3rd time I am in this city. We reached the hotel after midnight. The potters refuse to unload the bags from the carriage on top of tempo traveller. Yet they had the cheek to ask for tips just because they load it into the elevator and brought to our rooms.
We were given 2 bottles of water for each room on complimentary. But the following morning we had the room service guy going from to room to getting signatures from us on pretext that we had ordered for water bottles. How is that? Upon query I was informed by the room service guy that if we had carried ourselves the water bottles from reception it would had been free. But as it was brought to our room than it is chargeable. It’s a cheap tactic to squeeze money from the guest but it worked.
This hotel is from hell as all the shameless tips stalkers are pooled here. It was bad, bad and bad. It is so suffocating to be seen in any part of this hotel. The security guard was practically holding onto to our tempo’s door waiting for tips. The housekeeping people expect tips for cleaning the rooms.
The room service staff practically wanted tips for every single trip they make to our rooms. The rooms are spacious but the sheets and pillows look like recycled ie not washed. The rooms had some kind dusty and damp smell. The hot water works if you let the water run for nearly 15 to 20 minutes. Extremely wasteful!!! The water tariff must be dirt cheap in Andhra Pradesh. To make the matters worst I think I saw stain of feaces on the bathroom floor but for the good of God I hope its curry stains. The location is relatively convenient. But the location alone is insufficient. I doubt much I will ever stay in this place ever again. The experience sucks to the core.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PunitaMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Visakhapatnam hotels

hyderabad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Nice place to stay in heart of the city.......good place with lots of shopping around and around 4 kms from beach...one can enjoy at cheaper price in VIZAG ....please dont miss out CMR shopping mall...and do enjoy movies in INOX

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vskpavankumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.0 mi away
Treebo Saaket Residency
Treebo Saaket Residency
#49 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mantralaya
#35 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Akshaya
Hotel Akshaya
#13 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#16 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meghana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meghana Hotel

Property: Meghana Hotel
Address: 46 - 15 - 29 Upstairs Daimond Park Road | Dondaparthy, Visakhapatnam 530016, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Visakhapatnam
Hotel Class:2 star — Meghana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing