We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NATURE'S WONDER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borra Caves

Borra Caves
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“NATURE'S WONDER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Borra caves are nature's wonder. They are fromed due to chemicals found in water seeping through rocks . You can see images of Ganesh, Sai baba, mouth of a horse etc etc formed by rocks. Sunlight coming from the hole on the top of rocks gives beautiful view.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank YogeshSriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    282
    62
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gift of Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was the main attraction for my trip to Araku Valley. I liked this more than the Araku Valley itself. These are caves made of limestone which is very well maintained. The light effect on the cave walls give a great color effect to the place. There is a waterfall also close to this place but you have to take a local car for that. Your normal car wont be allowed to go there, thats why we decided to skip the waterfall :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Subhrajit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Some of the rock formations here are 30000 years old.
They are so beautiful and breathtaking
You might not get proper food there and it will be advisable to pack some thing

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kssriraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Adventures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Recently we have been to vizag for a holiday.
borra caves was also in our list of must visit place and i must say one will regret if did not go here.
the moment we enterd the caves totally different world. kids loved it and the guide whom we hired was also very good in explaining things. cool atmosphere and many imaginable creations have been made by nature here.
only thing to keep in mind is there is a 1 hour lunch break from 1pm-2pm so avoid that time.
early you go better it is.
it takes approx 2 hours from vizag to reach here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shailendraborar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A place to Go to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Borra Caves will be probably the only silver lining once you end your trip to Visakhapatnam. Though the place is known for its beaches, and drives along the beach, Borra Caves takes you to another world. With deep and moist caves and colourful lighting. Its very neatly kept and gives you a feeling of being somewhere away from the whole world.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sirsanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borra Caves also viewed

Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
 
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
 

Been to Borra Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing