We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Resort. Probably not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golkonda Resorts & Spa
Ranked #41 of 313 Hotels in Hyderabad
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average Resort. Probably not a 5 star”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I guess in India any resort with spa gets a 5 star. Also different websites show different stars so I am really confused about this hotel.

We spent 4 days in this hotel and below are my comments.
1. Check in process was smooth and the front desk knew what they were doing. We were then ushered to our room but the lady was very rude and did not smile even once during the walk. We asked her about something and she tried to ignore us.
2. We were in Garden Villa and the room was really small. From the website it looks like this room has balcony but it does not.
3. The room was very close to the pool so we could hear a lot of corporate crowd which came for the day outing. I somehow felt they got a better deal since they did not pay exorbitant amount for room. There were corporate functions almost 3 days we were there.
4. The food quality was excellent. This was the resort's best feature. There is only one restaurant so it does get a bit boring.
5. Room service was also good. The servers expect tips and this did not make sense when you already paid a lot for the food.
6. Overall property was somehow not 5 star. There were plastic bottles and empty packets that were thrown into the lawn and fountains.
7. The restaurant team did arrange a surprise dinner for my wife on her birthday but it was very hard to arrange. I had to call them 3-4 times and somehow they did not seem to know what I was asking.
8. We did use the spa and it was very relaxing. We were served tea after the message which had a fly in it:) This shows the overall quality of maintenance here.
9. One night there was loud noise from the corporate party at 12:00 and I asked the reception to have them tone it down. Guy at reception told me it is not possible. Are you kidding me?

Hence, I rate my experience 3. Its a nice place to spend time if your company is paying for it but personally I am not a big fan.

Room Tip: Do not go for ground floor room. It feels like you lack privacy. Also ask for room which is away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort to make it even more enjoyable for our guests. We have made a note of your few comments that you were not happy with and let me apologize for the same that happened during your stay with us.

It is feedback's like the one given by yourself, that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences. I sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from visiting us again.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    95
    27
    9
    23
See reviews for
95
54
9
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent a couple of days attending a wedding. Although a bit far from the city and the airport , the ambience , arrangements, catering and facilities were excellent. Strolled across to the nearby lake for a good post breakfast walk .Wondered what the tall structure looking like a watch tower in a concentration camp was . One would have assumed that it is a roof top restaurant but no facilities were visible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g_subbu79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedbacks like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.
Warm Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

the place looks good on many website, the property itself is about 15 years old, the maintenance in the room was very bad. The room service was terrible and they have us stale milk during in our hot chocolate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisheshJayawanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I am writing this while still in the resort... Big risk & v daring, I must say..., no don't get me wrong it's not daring 'coz of the quality of the resort but I think it takes lots of courage to tell that you have been duped when you are still in the resort... I booked a day package with golkonda resort for a day package for 6 adults 1 kid 2 infant @ a price of 1200+ tax for adult but when I reached for lunch I was told I can use only 820 package..... V v bad.. In plain simple layman language this is cheating. My regular agent who never commits any mistake tells me it's 1200 package but the resort tells me different story but they also tell me that they can't connect with the sales rep of the resort.. All those who hv read my previous reviews will understand that I have always tried to find the best of the place I have been but I am being harsh as this is sheer cheating, whether by my agent or resort... Never had such exp with my agent so 1 can understand who is responsible. My point just avoid them even if you have xtra money to waste... Disgusting

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vishal_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have been here few times both for stay as well as day outing. Its a picture perfect resort. well made and maintain. Landscaping is amazing and makes you feel good. Welcome at reception is warm, staff behavior and service is nice and helpful
once you enter the room you will notice generous size of room and bed and wonderful bathroom space. the whole interior makes you comfortable.
outdoor activities are nice, Cycle riding, cricket, tennis, pool, and other indoor sports as well to keep you busy also they have kids pool and play and day care for Toddlers which is plus point and with very nice staffs to take care.
Food is fine I didn't found it great. Spa is very nice and authentic
Overall feeling was amazing and worth spending here.

Room Tip: Front row pool side room are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikashTripurari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for a day attending cousin's wedding. Food was good, rooms were clean and tidy and the service was decent. Swimming pool was clean and people were having good time out there. Lots of activities to do, they have a large ground where you can play badminton, cricket, lawn tennis etc.. In all a very good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

What am amazing property!! The layout and landscaping is breath taking :)
wonderful swimming pool and long winding pathways to relax..
you will enjoy the open air bathrooms ;)
disclaimer..the food is just Ok

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massofneurons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Mrugavani Resort & Spa
#31 of 313 in Hyderabad
118 reviews
Aalankrita Resort & Spa
#38 of 313 in Hyderabad
407 reviews
Banjara Hills
The Golkonda Hyderabad
The Golkonda Hyderabad
#33 of 313 in Hyderabad
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Falaknuma Palace
#3 of 313 in Hyderabad
847 reviews
Leonia Holistic Destination
#22 of 313 in Hyderabad
1,066 reviews
Pragati Resorts
#186 of 313 in Hyderabad
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golkonda Resorts & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Resorts & Spa

Property: The Golkonda Resorts & Spa
Address: Sagar Mahal Complex, Gandipet | Gandipet, Hyderabad 500075, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hyderabad
#22 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Resorts & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right next to the picturesque Osman Sagar lake in serene, salubrious surroundings, the Golkonda Resorts and Spa unveils a whole new appreciation of the soul-stirring enchantment of nature. It's here that you can unwind and make every moment worthwhile, in the midst of nature, lush green flora and alluring water bodies. Strategically located 7 km from the financial centre and 4 km off the express way and 12 kms from the IT hub and the heart of Hyderabad, the resort boasts itself as a city based resort ideally suited for both leisure and conferencing. With a distinctive identity derived from its role as a natural haven, there is everything to experience at Golkonda Resorts & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your The Golkonda Resorts & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golkonda Resort And Spa
Golkonda Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing