We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & Poorly Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Golkonda Resorts & Spa
Ranked #43 of 343 Hotels in Hyderabad
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We planned to spend our anniversary at this resort which I guess seems to be a wrong decision on our part. At the check-in I had mentioned this to the lady at the front desk that not to disappoint us on our anniversary and provide us with the best room she can. She made us wait for a while as she mentioned that the rooms are getting cleaned, this was at 1:30pm. We were then taken to the room which was an exactly I feared it to be. There were filthy stains on sofas and the room had a foul smell, I showed these to the bellboy who just smiled and said that he will bring in an “Air Freshener”. A guy then comes in with a can of air freshener and spray across the room.

Once we were settled in we then realized the condition of the room. There were stains across the walls and the furniture wasn’t even dusted. There were cracks on the walls and there was some patch work done on the wall which wasn’t even painted on. There was a small TV in the room which had an huge crack on the side. The bathroom was the worse with cracked tiles across it. Some of the floor tiles were broken too. There were just two curtains on a window which just didn’t fit the window at all; we later realized that there has to be three in that window. The light just seeps in and there was no way to make the room dark. In the evening we noticed that several bulbs across the room were out and we had to call in the front desk to send an electrician who put in some bulbs, which worked for few minutes before some of them stopped working. The wifi internet just doesn’t work; it kept logging off every two minutes and wouldn't connect to the router. The IT manager came and tweaked around a bit and said that there won’t be a problem. Again the internet stopped working as soon as he left. At night the foul smell was so overpowering that we just couldn't sleep.

There were no bath mats and not even a small carpet/rag beside the bath tub, which could get dangerous with damp feet. There were no hand towels and the several of the regular accessories that you expect in a premium room were missing. Again the bath room was just filthy with soap scum on the tiles and I doubt the floor wasn’t even mopped.

I wouldn't say everything is wrong with this place. The Buffet was good and the staff was courteous. The lawns and the swimming pool were good. It’s just that we were given the filthiest room they got and gave us an preview of all the problems that one could face in that resort. The room doesn’t worth the 7K that they charge, I had seen hotels where rooms for 2k are far cleaner and better than what we were in. And what bothers me is that we were given this room even after letting them know not to disappoint us on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stareflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad.

It is with great concern I have made a note of your comments on the quality of services. I would like to profusely apologize for inconvenience caused to you upon your visit. We do take great care that our esteemed guest don't face any inconvenience, so on this occasion an acceptable standard has clearly not been met, and we have not succeeded in meeting your expectations.

Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve ,understanding and catering to the needs of the esteemed guests. I would like to assure you that matter has been taken up most strongly with the concerned department heads and necessary amends have been made to avoid the re-occurrence of such incidents.

Please may I request you to accept this as a deviation from our normal standards and request you to view this incident in isolation, please do not let it mar your impression of our Resort. I would urge you to give us another opportunity to make amends. Please route your reservation through my office so that I can personally handle your arrangements.

Thank you once again, for your valuable time and consideration. Assuring you of the best of attention and service at all times.

Best Wishes and Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 307 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Expansive we'll manicured lawns greet you leading to a grand entrance leading to the pool and rooms. Green and tranquil away from the hustle n bustle of modern city life.
The rooms are well appointed but need renovation.
The Spa is the best in town a must visit for the demanding traveller.
The restaurant is good with a variety of food offered.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jaytee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedback's like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.
Warm Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Lovely Atmosphere, staff behaviour is very good. Food offered is top notch. Loved every bit of it. If you are looking for a Short stay away from crowded hyderabad then this is the place. Had a great time with my family. Will highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Mr.Abhiroop,
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedbacks like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.
Warm Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

The Golkonda resort and spa exactly defines the comfort as i found it the only resort in Hyderabad which proved the statement "ATITHI DEVO BHAVA". they treat their guests as God. They look after each and every need of their customer. The receptionist, the attendants, The Manager and the every staff is marvellous. I love the food of the resort

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajasekhar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Mr.Lalith,
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedbacks like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.
Warm Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great family stay at Golkonda - excellent room, large tub which my daughter enjoyed :) and good lawns and playarea for my kid. Overall a very calm and peaceful place with a beautiful pool. We only felt that the food was overpriced. The service at the restaurant though was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Ajay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mr.Ajay,
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedbacks like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Recently i have been to this place organized by our company party. It has a beautiful cricket ground. Very spacious and have also well organized conference hall.
Food was good and tasty.
Lot of team member loved the swimming pool and games available in the resort.

They have spa too but i did not get a chance to try that.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kousik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mr Kousik,
Greetings from the Golkonda Resorts and Spa!

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedbacks like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Beautiful rooms, Awesome landscape, fantastic fresh air from Osman sagar and lush green field, makes it the most attracted resort in Hyderabad and surroundings. A must visit place for the any one and every one , cheers guys....keep the same way

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signatureevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GolkondaResort, Front Office Manager at The Golkonda Resorts & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Golkonda Resorts and Spa, Hyderabad. It’s a pleasure to have your valuable feedback and thank you for appreciating our product and services. We will definitely keep up the hold that we have achieved and will surely put in every possible effort’s to make it even more enjoyable for our guests.

It is feedbacks like the one given by you that keeps the team motivated and encourages them to continue to deliver superlative guest experiences.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Hyderabad at Golkonda Resorts.

Assuring you of our best services each and every time you visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Aalankrita Resort & Spa
#33 of 343 in Hyderabad
465 reviews
Banjara Hills
The Golkonda Hyderabad
The Golkonda Hyderabad
#36 of 343 in Hyderabad
796 reviews
Lahari Resorts
#71 of 343 in Hyderabad
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mrugavani Resort & Spa
#31 of 343 in Hyderabad
151 reviews
Hi-tech City/Gachibowli
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Hyderabad Gachibowli
Leonia Holistic Destination
#25 of 343 in Hyderabad
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golkonda Resorts & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Resorts & Spa

Address: Sagar Mahal Complex, Gandipet | Gandipet, Hyderabad 500075, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#33 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range: $144 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Resorts & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right next to the picturesque Osman Sagar lake in serene, salubrious surroundings, the Golkonda Resorts and Spa unveils a whole new appreciation of the soul-stirring enchantment of nature. It's here that you can unwind and make every moment worthwhile, in the midst of nature, lush green flora and alluring water bodies. Strategically located 7 km from the financial centre and 4 km off the express way and 12 kms from the IT hub and the heart of Hyderabad, the resort boasts itself as a city based resort ideally suited for both leisure and conferencing. With a distinctive identity derived from its role as a natural haven, there is everything to experience at Golkonda Resorts & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Golkonda Resorts & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golkonda Resort And Spa
Golkonda Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing