We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taj Deccan”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taj Deccan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taj Deccan
Ranked #24 of 306 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taj Deccan”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in March 2013 for business travel. It is a brutal 45+ minute drive from the airport, but the hotel manages to keep the Hyderabad madness at bay. They were out of king rooms so I ended up in a twin room, but the twin beds are much larger than twin beds in the US, almost as large as a double bed. The hotel is older, with solid wood doors and furniture, giving it more of a boutique feel. I'm not much of a TV viewer, so didn't mind that it was a very old, small TV. I slept well both nights I stayed here. The breakfast buffet had a wide variety of dishes: continental, Indian, and American (bacon). My colleagues and I also had dinner in the large atrium, but it is very noisy, with horrible soft jazz, ala Kenny G. No amount of Kingfisher can make up for that. Overall, I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    280
    99
    19
    7
See reviews for
99
45
61
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Though the first look from outside I'd not that great the inside ambience is great.the reception area,the lobby n the dining hall are v spacious.the decor is also good n lil different.the staff is helping.the room is big enough and the furniture is good.view from the window is also good.the complimentry water bottles n the toiletries were more than needed.the house keeping was excellent.the breakfast was v good with many varieties to offer.the only saddest part was that it had no free wifi.it was chargeable n expensive.wud recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dprakash533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in Feb and the service and the welcome was fantastic especially the restaurant staff and the reception.All staff were brilliant and knew how to please the customer.I never had a welcome like it absolutely fab made e feel like a king. Food excellent great desserts.

Room Tip: Request a more modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at Taj Deccan recently on 26th Feb 2013. The hotel is situated at Banjara hills very close to the Karachi Bakery and Paradise Biryani !!
I stayed for business trip and had very confortable stay. The rooms are very large and have a very good indian style recliner with Round Pillows !!
I took the dinner in room and ordered Veg Kabab Platter and they were undoubtedly one of the best I have ever tested. Very soft and melt in mouth type ! Must order dish !

The room are very quiet and air conditioning is also proper.
The Gym and swimming pool are also well maintained and pool is large !

The breakfast at the coffee shop is the highlight of the stay. They have so many things to offer that you are spoilt for choice. They give 6 varieties of Dosa alone ! 5 varieties of Juices and 4 type of Cheese !

Overall a nice stay and in line with Taj hospitality. Only one negative mark here.They still have old picture tube type 21inch TV in teh rooms and they are not all matching teh overall decor of teh room. However I am told that yhey are upgrading the facilities and New 32 Inch LCD Tv are being provided in phased manner in all rooms....

Room Tip: Ask for room with LCD TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Taj Deccan is part of the Taj group in Hyderabad. Its veryvsuitsbly locsted and right across the higher end taj krishna.

It has all of the facilities of a business hotel but its old.

It has an amazing breakfast spread and thebpeople are very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Usual Taj hotel, trying hard but a little worn !
Nice staff impressive foyer and good restaurants.
The bar is small and has little atmosphere and is usually empty.
Good location in town and you can walk over a foot bridge to the Taj Krishna.
Good value at about £65 per night.
I left some clothes in my room and they couriered them back to me free of charge !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The first impression was not very great as the outside facade and the lobby area / interiors seemed old and dull ... Few fake coconut trees - a little out of place, seemed to have been taken out of the master plans of Taj Bengal, but mising the latter's glory. The warmth of the staff made a huge difference - very friendly and helpful, right from being escorted to the room across the round corridoors overlooking the lobby below, to the check out.

An ex-Holiday Inn if I remember correctly, the hotel rooms are large and comfortable with all the amenities of Taj group. One test I always do to check the service quality in a 5* is asking for an Iron / Ironing Board ... TD wins hand's down as this was delivered in a couple of mins rather than 12~30 mins in the best of 5*s everywhere, including Taj Vivanta hotels. Had requested for packed breakfast as I had an early departure ... and it was ready as requested and an excellent one at that.

Only issue I faced , which was kind of major one but not too much for me personally, was used shoe shine and missing toothbrush from the amenities. Shared my concern with the duty manager and they were worried. Sent the same in the online feedback form but no revert from the team. Guess they fail somewhere ... but overall a good experience. Would have given 5* had the experience been perfect. Excellent location as well is a positive ... though am likely to stay at Taj Banjara next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelsOnOurFeet_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 306 in Hyderabad
765 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#16 of 306 in Hyderabad
1,242 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Begumpet
#15 of 306 in Hyderabad
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#5 of 306 in Hyderabad
583 reviews
ITC Kakatiya
#10 of 306 in Hyderabad
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Deccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Deccan

Property: Taj Deccan
Address: Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#24 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Deccan 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Deccan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Deccan Hyderabad
Taj Deccan Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing