We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer service ANYWHERE!!!”
Review of Taj Deccan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Taj Deccan
Ranked #21 of 313 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Customer service ANYWHERE!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Hoteliers from AROUND the WORLD should send their staff here to experience the BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!
We stayed for over a week, and could not have asked for better service. You can read other reviews, and maybe they can give you an idea. I was there in 2009, and have traveled to over 13 countries since, but I can't help comparing all the other hotels by their standard. They are a hard act to follow.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    289
    102
    20
    7
See reviews for
105
48
62
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is as expected from other standard Taj hotels in India.

A very impressive dining area and reception area and an unsual floor layout.

Rooms were clean and well maintained, a great size. Maybe not as modern and impressive as the main areas.

Staff very friendly, may too much. But can't complain.

Food is always good in the Taj hotels and this didn't disappoint.

Room Tip: I am not sure but 221 had a view of a corrogated roof...maybe a better view from the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellyb123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

stayed for 2 nights with overall satisfactory experience. Staff of all sections were courteous and prompt. Particularly breakfast with a fish pond view was a good experience. I would like to come again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a friend's wedding in a standard double with a third bed added. The hotel is well appointed with several restaurants, a bar and conference facilities.

The location is quite convenient to most f the local sites including Charminar and Chowmahalla Palace, although I do not recommend walking to any of these sites due to traffic, noise and pollution. It is also within walking distance of the City Centre Mall

The staff are friendly and attentive. The complimentary breakfast was quite good with a large array of buffet style dishes, cakes and pastries.

The room was clean, with air conditioning as you would expect. They even had a pillow menu, with about 12 different pillows to choose from, which we did not realise until we were checking out. We didn't get free Internet, but there is available wifi and 2 computers to use in their "business centre".

We had no problems during our stay here and would recommend this hotel to anyone on a higher budget.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millzorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
333 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

First thing to note is that there are two Taj's within walking distance of each other, Taj Krisna and Taj Deccan. Location wise, Banjara Hills is a nice area within Hyderabad with a mid sized shopping center within 15 mins walk from the Hotel. I believe that there is also a Hard Rock at the shopping center for those that just must have those t-shirts.

Check in and general service at Taj Deccan is about what I have learned to expect from the Taj Group. The hotel, including the rooms are a bit dated and could do with a bit of moderning. Having said that, WiFi was available throughout the Hotel and everything worked in the room. The restaurants in the Hotel well deserve their reputation and I found breakfast particularly good. I have always found that breakfast at Hotels in India are always a great place to get a feel for Indian food. The buffet laid out for lunch was good and I particularly liked the range of Indian desserts on offer.

Unfortunately my stay was marred due to a loss of a jacket from my room. I had checked out at about 12 midday but spent the rest of the day at the Hotel working. Just as I was about to leave the Hotel at 6pm, I realized that I had left a jacket in my room in the cupboard. The reception desk was very helpful but they were unable to locate my jacket. It wasn't an expensive jacket and probably my fault but it did color my view of the Hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kebuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed for 3 days at Taj Deccan in Hyderabad. The location is good. Warm welcome and nice ambience is good. The rooms were also good and the service was very courteous. The wifi gave lot of problems in my room, however, the technical folks were right there to help me out. The airconditioner seemed to have stopped at 3.30am. I felt stuffy and lost sleep every day in the early hours. The power kept toggling many times and the TV got reset. Sometimes there was a gap of few seconds that the room went pitch dark. Not sure how the UPS / generator did not take over immediately.The breakfast spread is good, though cannot match Taj Krishna. Taj Deccan provided packed breakfast in a nice eco-friendly containers to carry outside. This is a good gesture and I thank them for this.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janaki_thiagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

If the Taj Deccan had been a night club it might have been acceptable. But it is a hotel, a five star one at that and some things are not expected from nice hotels.

The first night was miserable because the room was old (the hotel has not been renovated for centuries it seems) and the airconditioner was clanky and kept me awake the whole night. On complaining in the morning, my room was changed.

Right now I am into the second night which is even more miserable - it is 1 AM and I am unable to sleep because of the extremely louse mouse that is blasting up the atrium from the night club on the ground level. Complaining does not help - a second change of room 15 minutes back still has not changed anything. I expect to spend a second sleepless night here in this hotel.

Their staff is very polite though: they do the best they can under the circumstances.

Avoid the Taj Deccan.

Room Tip: All rooms are old and dated. Go to another hotel in Hyderabad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 313 in Hyderabad
792 reviews
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#16 of 313 in Hyderabad
1,277 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Begumpet
#15 of 313 in Hyderabad
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Hyderabad Banjara Hills
ITC Kakatiya
#8 of 313 in Hyderabad
991 reviews
Banjara Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#9 of 313 in Hyderabad
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Deccan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Deccan

Property: Taj Deccan
Address: Road No. 1, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#24 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Deccan 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Taj Deccan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Deccan Hyderabad
Taj Deccan Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing