We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not as good as I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #29 of 316 Hotels in Hyderabad
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as I expected”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I stayed at the Marriott Hyderabad for 7 nights as part of a large conference group, for a conference held in the newly built Marriott convention centre. Overall this was a good hotel, but in the finer points of Indian 5 star it lacks. I am probably being overly fussy, but for an Indian 5* I would have expected greater attention to detail.

The room itself was typical Marriott, nice and comfortable. But as always I was disappointed to have to pay extra for Internet access in my room. The hotel laundry service was excellent and very quick.

Food was excellent, but breakfast was chaotic. The hotel was full all week I was there and the rush for breakfast was silly. At 8.30 I was told there would be a 15 to 20 minutes wait for a table… no good is you want to grab a quick breakfast prior to a 9am meeting start.

Regular power outages are a way of life in India, but the hotel seems ill prepared and it always took several minutes for the backup generators to kick in. The worst day for more than 10! The knock on affect on WiFi access was father annoying.

I would highly recommend the club level… bar, nibbles, free wifi, snooker table, etc. Great place to relax after work!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    328
    151
    41
    41
See reviews for
124
76
64
593
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2009

we started from bangalore on friday night and reached there saturday morning. We had break at the hotel. It was very elaborated break fast and very tasty. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel. In the evening we visited lumbini parks and few other places there and then returned to the hotel. We had dinner at the hotel. Next day morning we explored the other facilities like health club, swimming pool etc. It was great plasure and very nice experience.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — views
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vikaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
549 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Center is simply sensational. The best thing about the hotel is not its modern decor or its view of the lake, but its well-trained staff who anticipate your every need. They are smiling, helpful and appear to really enjoy what they are doing. This is a far cry from the service in other Indian hotels where the staff look like they were forced to be polite.

The hotel is in a good location with easy access into the city, though as with most Indian hotels walking for tour outside its premises is not a fun thing to do because of the traffic and the nothingness of the surrounding area.

The rooms are very comfortable, with extra soft pillows and mattress. They are relatively soundproof and I was not disturbed once by the commotion on the city streets. It is truly a great businessman's hotel if you need to do some work in the room.

The fitness center has plenty of good exercise equipment. The restaurants, Okra and Bidri's, rank among the best in the city and serve delicious food. Service in both is particularly prompt and the staff really know their foodstuffs.

Overall, I would say the service at the Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Center is what sets it apart from all other hotels in India. It is a pleasant place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Well located hotel offering good view of the lake. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have all amenities and facilities of a 5 star hotel. The hotel is not overtly luxurious but meets all expectations of a business traveller. The Indian restaurant is uper and a must-try.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Athing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I had to travel to almost all parts of Hyderabad, except Hitech city almost every place was close to the hotel. Helpfull staff, great service. The Indian restaurant was wonderful. Highly recommend for both business and leisure travelers

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yograj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I had decided to organise a wedding dinner for my friend and had gone to Marriot to book a banquet room. I was directed to their sales office which looks like a calll center on the inside. I was asked to wait in the lobby(which had no chairs or sofas to sit). There were a lot of staff passing by and would greet when they passed by me. But that was it. I think they are indoctrinated to do that. I waited for more than 25min but no one turned up. I've decided never to go to marriot again and would never recommend it to any one either.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arrora16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Marriott Hyderabad has found a class apart from any other hotels in Hyderabad on account of the location where is it placed. The most splendid aspect of this hotel is the Gym at 9th floor over looking the Hussain Sagar lake

Just like any other mariott, the hyderabad property has upheld its glamour except when it came to thier mini bar. Probably it might not be good idea to have them unless you are doubly sure of the expiry date of the products placed. Though it was funny to watch your roommate drink pepsi from a can which has expired a year ago, it is equally dishearterning.

The lounges and restuarants are amzing, especially the platter they serve at Okra.

Another disappointing fact is the room service is done on a tray instead of a dining table portable dining table. If leaves you only with an unfortunate choice of having food on the desk or bed.

Bed, tiolets, rain shower is outstanding as usual..

All in all its a amazing place and truely value of money property.

  • Liked — Lake view
  • Disliked — Mini Bar
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Courtyard Hyderabad
#17 of 316 in Hyderabad
589 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 316 in Hyderabad
814 reviews
Taj Deccan
#23 of 316 in Hyderabad
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Hyderabad
#26 of 316 in Hyderabad
1,654 reviews
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#15 of 316 in Hyderabad
1,288 reviews
Banjara Hills
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Hyderabad Banjara Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: Tank Bund Road | opposite Hussain Sagar Lake, Hyderabad 500080, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#31 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Hussain Sagar Lake, Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre blends fresh style and traditional aesthetics to provide premium accommodation for the business and leisure traveler. Situated in the heart of the city, Hyderabad Marriott is conveniently located just 35 mins from the Rajiv Gandhi International Airport and has an easy access to the business districts US Consulate, HICC, Hitech City; along with the historic monuments like SalarJung Museum, Charminar, Golkonda & Laad Bazaar. An ideal destination for conventions, the hotel houses a Convention Centre with the latest AV and interpretation facilities. The hotel’s picturesque location with 13,000 sq ft of outdoor spaces and sumptuous restaurants make it a popular Convention destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyderabad Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hyderabad
Hyderabad Marriott
Hotel Marriott Hyderabad
Jw Marriott Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing