We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Ranked #10 of 318 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not quite right”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

For such a nice hotel and with the prestigious Hyatt name on the front there is something disturbingly off. I'll start with the good and end with the terrible service that I would've never imagined. The facilities are very nice, maybe the nicest of any hotel I've stayed in. Most of the staff is friendly, helpful and provide the right amount of server. Some of the staff are what I can only call overly friendly and helpful, or maybe intrusive. For example, whenever I would see the cleaning staff upon exiting my room they would insist on servicing my room even though I had the "do not disturb" sign on my door. On two of those occasions they even physically removed the sign causing me to stop and have a dialogue about how I don't want my room serviced then, let alone on their normal twice a day schedule. Where things get bad is that there are a lot of vague issues that seem to come up on the business side. The hotel was on a list of recommended places and discounted rates provided by my client. When I inquired about the special rate provided to that client I got an response that was 50% higher than the amount the client listed, but my travel dept had already made the reservation. Due to this and some rescheduling we canceled the Hyatt reservation. On the date of the original reservation I got a charge for one night. When we contacted the hotel they said they we had made two reservations for the same stay. One of those reservation had the name of our company's booking system, but not of any employee who would've made the reservation. After some back and forth they agreed to comp one night if we booked my stay for the revised dates, which we did. While it's completely possible the travel department somehow made two reservations we've never seen this problem before, let alone with no record of who did it. Finally, where the business side goes from questionable to deceitful was upon check out I was charged for all of the "complimentary" things I'd received. Upon getting the bill I disputed several charges which some of them were removed on the spot, but my breakfasts, which the staff reminded and assured me were complimentary on four occasions, were not. I thought I'd be able to take care of it when I returned state side but the hotel refuses to refund the charges and the corporate office acts as though it's a lame duck. I wouldn't have expected to have such questionable business practices from an established chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHyattH, Public Relations Manager at Park Hyatt Hyderabad, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Hyderabad and appreciate your constructive feedback.

We would like to clarify your statement regarding the double booking we are pleased to provide the booking details.

All your stay bookings were made through GDS (Global Distribution Services) by your Travel Desk. When the bookings are processed through GDS very minimal details are shared on the booker and hence we were not able to provide you with the necessary information.

- The first booking was processed on 21.01.2013 for the stay duration from 02.03.2013-09.03.2013 under the best available hotel rate.
- One day later, 22.01.2013 this booking was cancelled by your travel agent and rebooked again on the same day for the same duration under a different rate of corporate travel, which was more favourable in comparison with the initially booked rate.
- The second booking ran no-show and you were charged one night retention as no-show charge, as we had no information about your booking to be postponed.
- On 08.03.2013 a new booking has been made from 19.04.2013-28.04.2013 and as a gesture of goodwill we did not charge the first pre-booked night due to your early arrival on 20.04.2013. All the rates which your agent booked you for were on room basis and hence did not include breakfast. Upon check in the same was reflected in your registration card, which was signed by you and confirmed by our colleague in addition. During your stay you were charged for breakfast daily and you confirmed the charges by singing the restaurant cheques daily. We did our best to make your stay comfortable with us and as appreciation of your long stay included a spa treatment with our compliments. All the courtesy gestures were made by our hotel and hence you were not paying for them. Kindly note that breakfast was not part of your rate offer and therefore the charges for the same were reflected in your final bill.

Rest be assured that the hotel does not have any intention to ask you to pay more than what your actual bill is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    152
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
102
66
39
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Check in and out was a breeze. The room was large and really worth every penny. The staff is very accommodating and my late night calls to the guest services were attended within no time. Stayed here for 2 days and felt very relaxed. The wi fi was reliable. All bakery items were yummy. All staff members greet merrily and not bothersome.

The only negatives for me were the bathroom and food. Might not be safe for the elderly and children and does not have a phone inside.
The breakfast buffet serves only continental food. Indian breakfast items must be served A La Carte which i found a bit odd.

All in all the hotel is of very high standards and i would be glad to recommend it and visit the beatiful property again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vagaboundgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Positives - New Hotel - large rooms - good spa - excellent service - good location
Negatives - Restaurant selection somewhat limited - 3 to be exact - a general restaurant service a mix of Indian and continental cuisine - an Italian restaurant (that is quite good) and an Asian restaurant focused on small plates.

I booked the Park Suite King - a truly amazing room - one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in - beautiful bathroom - large living room and bedroom. One negative - the air conditioning was quite cold and the controls on the wall seemed to have no effect in regulating the temperature. One point to note, this hotel is not a traditional hotel in India - it has very modern fixtures and amenities - if you want a classic Indian hotel this would be the wrong choice. If you prefer modern European functionality then this is the perfect choice.

The limo service was excellent - I was upgraded to a BMW when I left for the airport - and the service was always topnotch.
The spa was nice - and the outdoor pool - although somewhat small - was quite pleasant - clean and warm.
The exercise room was adequate - somewhat small, but not heavily used.
The hotel seems to have relatively low occupancy - it appeared that all guests were being put on the 6th floor - this was fine for me - but I was surprised how few guests were in the hotel.

Overall a great experience - the hotel was an Oasis of calm in the bustling city of Hyderabad!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Park suite King is an perfect choice - wonderful large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One among the latest hotels in Hyderabad, this hotel is also one of the best. The whole architecture is too good. The ambiance makes you feel relaxed. The food is very good and so is the service. The staff is also very co-operative. Though did not stay there, but attended some functions where we spent quite some time there. The overall experience was very very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sree1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February 2013 over a couple of occasions. The first thing that strikes you is the architecture and spacious interiors.
The check in was ultra fast and effecient. The rooms were beautiful, and extremely spacious. Only gripe i had was that the water from the shower area tended to leak out to the room (happened both the times i was there, so i guess it is a design flaw).
Excellent gym and a pool.
The restaurants were excellent, especially the Italian restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the atrium or corridor as they practically have a zero view. On a weekend night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drmadhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow! Stayed for the first time in this property and was quite impressed by what they've done with the limited area they have. All is swank and stylish, a refreshing change from the other faded if fabled properties nearby. Top service as expected from Hyatt and also a little bit more - I hope they continue to be as keen even as the days go by. Nice touch with the complimentary chocolates and wine!

The bathroom 'area' is quite different and takes some getting used to but I like it! Only thing is the shower area and bath tub need to be overlaid with non-slip material as otherwise it can get dicey, especially as there are no grab rails. It can in fact be dangerous for senior citizens (though I'm not there yet :-) ). But overall, an excellent refuge from the din an dust!

Room Tip: Some people complained here that the windows look out on the atrium but I had no problem with it as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidT766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My goodness what an afternoon at the Park Hyatt.
The buffet was sensational. The produce brought in from all over the world was amazing.
An extravagant lunch for my family but we were very pleased we did it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#17 of 318 in Hyderabad
1,307 reviews
Trident Hyderabad
#3 of 318 in Hyderabad
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Hyderabad Banjara Hills
The Park Hyderabad
#25 of 318 in Hyderabad
1,689 reviews
Taj Falaknuma Palace
#2 of 318 in Hyderabad
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Hyderabad

Property: Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Address: Road No 2, Hyderabad 500034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 318 Hotels in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Hyderabad 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Banjara Hills, an upmarket locality and commercial center in Hyderabad, this hotel is the first urban Park Hyatt hotel in India. A contemporary and elegant hotel offering business travelers and local guests, a sophisticated ambiance for their stay. The hotel features 185 spacious and elegantly appointed rooms, 24 suites and 41 service apartments. Each of the hotel's guestrooms and suites are among the largest in Hyderabad. It is equipped with a range of facilities and world class amenities which includes complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hi-tech media hub. Designed by the renowned architecture firm of John Portman & Associates, each room at the hotel is designed to cater to the discerning individual seeking privacy, personalized service and luxurious elegance of a contemporary hotel. Offering comforts of home and more, The Residence at Park Hyatt Hyderabad is the preferred address for all residents who look for a perfect blend of luxury and personalized services. The generously proportioned and well-appointed residence is the city's first and most contemporary and spacious fully serviced apartment. With 41 apartments forming The Residence, each one of them is set up with well- furnished intricate details and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing