We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Banjara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Ranked #28 of 316 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Khammam, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Banjara”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This used to be the name of the Hotel until it was taken over by the Taj Group. The hotel is almost 30 years old and the first 5star hotel in twin cities. This hotel was the favourite destination of all filmstars&cricketers once upon a time. The property looks a bit old though.The rooms are good and the room service is also nice. It has a Nightclub"Underdeck"which is a bit crowded over the weekend. The best part of the hotel is its restaurant"Kabab-e-Bahar"which is next to the lake. We have been to the restaurant numerious times as the food over here is really delicious. However, the foul smell from the lake is a bit disappointing. This hotel would need a bit of renovation and things would fall in place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviPratapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    294
    160
    32
    27
See reviews for
137
62
76
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for three nights and must say the property is not of Taj group standards. To begin with the location is in Banjara hills which is central and the property is located next to dirty stinking lake. The service was fine, be it checkin and checkout, room service, housekeeping etc. all smiling and effficient. The rooms are run down , quiet old style and all the linen , Tv etc was outdated. The buffet breakfast is also average ,not a star hotel spread.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had the Skal Meeting with Cocktails & Dinner With Gazal Nite at the Taj Banjara, Hyderabad on 29th Jan 13, which was also attended by our over seas Delegate from South Africa who were here for a road show. The Cocktail Snacks was extremely good and tasty, so was the Dinner Buffet Spread .The service perfect and all the Guest enjoyed the evening and we received great feed back from our African Guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi_Kartik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as I had to attend a conference in Hyderabad. The hotel has a pretty good lobby and entrance. The hotel staff are nice but not upto the mark as one would expect in a 5-star. The hotel has 3 restaurants, a coffee-shop, an authentic Indian restaurant and the last serving continental.. The coffee shop has very limited things on its menu.. A pretty good place to have a drink but not that great on food. The Indian restaurant is pretty good and is in the open air. They also have Ghazal performances, which adds a perfect setting for a relaxed evening. But coming to the food, it is very average. Right from the starters to the desert, all were served cold irrespective of repeated reminders. Due to the bad food served, I dint dare to try the other restaurant. I stayed in the standard room, which was very small and the beds were not that comfortable. The furnishings were also very average, what one would get in a 2*. The only plus-point is its location. Its very near to the most happening shopping and eateries in Hyderabad. In the end, I would definitely not recommend this to anyone as we have much better options than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahul99rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I came to this hotel as part of a business trip across India. My first time in Hyderabad, I'd heard a lot of positive comments about the Taj Banjara Hotel.

The staff are very very polite and helpful - plus point. And the rooms, upon first inspection, are very nice and comfortable - plus point.

It is only after being in the room for a couple of hours you notice that the whole place is very tired. The smell of must and mould got almost over powering in my room and the bathroom was very dated.

The beds were bareable but I wouldn't say they were very comfortable so I didn't sleep very well for any night I was there.

The room service menu is OK and they offer a Walnut & Chocolate Brownie which is to die for.

I'm not sure I would stay here again as I'm sure there are nicer, newer hotels that dont suffer from both the musty smell and the smell coming off the man-made lake in front of the hotel.

Average at best I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the lake and try to get one that has had a new carpet recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briangreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The iconic Taj Banjara is again a great place. The old world Hyderabadi Charm and the Taj experience combine in here.

I have stayed here many a times and every time the hotel wows me. The rooms are excellent, spacious and mine overlooked the lake. The unfortunate part is the lake is kind of dead and since all lakes are owned by the government, the apathy is limitless. The Taj management seems helpless but they do try their best that the guest do not get inconvenienced. The pest control is amazing! but you may get big mosquitoes in the evenings if you plan to take a walk around the lake.

The restaurants are nice and serve almost all cuisines, but I really liked the buffet with its spread and fantastic service of the staff. I had meetings at a nearby hotel - Taj Residency another Taj hotel and the both hotels were very kind to pick me and drop me every day for four days to and fro. I really liked the sense of service. Thank you and I am sure whenever I can, I will be at Taj Banjara :)

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I am a frequent visitor at Taj Banjara, From the time of my very stay i rememeber the staff being very warm,courteous. The stewards and the chefs there actually remember your likes and dislike. Very Clean, good ambience. The Room rates are not too high.I feel like home when am here.

Room Tip: Request for a Lake view side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJanet19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Taj Deccan
#23 of 316 in Hyderabad
714 reviews
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#15 of 316 in Hyderabad
1,290 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Begumpet
#14 of 316 in Hyderabad
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Hyderabad Banjara Hills
The Park Hyderabad
#26 of 316 in Hyderabad
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Banjara Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Banjara Hyderabad

Property: Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Address: Road No.1 Banjara Hills, Hyderabad 500034, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#40 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Banjara Hyderabad 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Banjara Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Banjara Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hotel Hyderabad
Hyderabad Taj Banjara Hotel
Hotel Taj Banjara Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing