We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was left speechless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #2 of 347 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I traveled to Hyderabad for a series of meetings with my colleagues from Turin and were super tired after visiting 4 other cities in India. On the way, our taxi lost it's way and didn't know the way to this palatial hotel.
This is exactly what the doctor ordered for us. After getting off at the entrace, about a km away from the main hotel building, we were taken in a horse drawn open top carriage. We had one of the best check-ins possible unmatched anywhere in the world, especially important when you're really tired from days of meetings and travel across India.
We were pampered. Unfortunately, we were on business or else we would have loved to spend all day at the palatial hotel itself.
People long to leave the hotel when on a trip, but this one compels you to stay there and experience the pleasures it had in store for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chipalkatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

936 - 942 of 974 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

I can't add anything to what others have said about this beautiful palace hotel, except that the staff have mastered the art of anticipating every possible need or want, and making it seem as if it is their pleasure to be of service to their guests.
I stayed for three days after attending a conference in the city, and would have happily stayed longer. I had room 130 -- a "standard" room, which was lovely. My favorite memory is of breakfast on the veranda outside my door, in the lovely morning sunlight with the sounds pan flute played from the steps of the main building, courtyard fountains, and bird songs.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChipAndJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

If you want to experience the life of India's Mughal rulers and relax in a stunning setting with great service then stay at Taj Falaknuma Palace. I've visited palaces in Rajasthan, but the Taj Falaknuma is by far the best I've seen. I cancelled my scheduled city tour just to spend more time at the hotel!

When we arrived at the magnificent gate, we were met by a horse drawn carriage that took us to the palace. This meant that there were no car fumes within site of the palace, which is on a hill top above the city of Hyderabad. After enjoying a refreshing local drink, we entered the palace with rose petals showering on us from above - just like royalty! I stayed in a palace suite that was beautifully appointed and comfortable. My only complaint is that it was pretty dark with no private patio or balcony. I recommend booking a room with a private patio - some of the rooms open out to a hidden private pool. The grounds are beautiful and a lovely place to walk and birdwatch. The food was exceptional - we had an excellent Italian meal with personalized attention from the chef. I had lunch by the pool one day, sitting next to a waterfall and flowers and eating excellent Asian food. There is musical entertainment in the evenings before dinner on an alcove that is a nice place for an evening drink. The staff are friendly and attentive without being overbearing.

My only complaints are that the spa services are average, the cost of a 30 minute drive to the airport is excessive ($75), and they don't put a water kettle in the room to boil water for tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trvladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

i visited this place with my wife and this is probably the best hotel in south india
the staff are very friendly and they'll do their level best to ensure that you have a very memorable stay
bit expensive but worth it
has fantastic views of the city, esp. during night time
it is located on a hill top ~2000ft above sea level

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DVT26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

I had the chance to spend a couple of nights in this magnificent palace just before its' grand opening as a Taj property earlier this month. The restoration of the palace is still in progress - but is splendid insofar as it has been completed. The staff is very attentive - although they were still working out some kinks prior to the opening. The room was as comfortable and quiet as any I have ever experienced. All of the food was superb. The cultural entertainment (Qiwwali singers and a dancer) on the balcony overlooking Hyderabad at night was magical.
This is truly an opportunity to reside in a museum.
Guests are whisked from the gate to the palace entrance in a horse-drawn carriage, showered with rose petals and escorted to the room by a personal butler.
The views of Hyderabad are stunning in all directions.
This place is pricey, but well worth it for the unique experience it offers.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel is more than just a gorgeous, luxury hotel - it is a jewel like piece of history. Meticulously restored, and impeccably manned by motivated, hand picked staff, this magnificent property can hold its own with the most luxurious palace hotels of the world.What we enjoyed was the 'Aadab' - the gracious way of greeting guests from well dressed, sherwani-clad managers. This adds a refined, old world touch to what was once the Nizam's residence in the erstwhile state of Hyderabad. Several small touches (a silver salver with a soothing, herbal body lotion placed by the bedside at night) make this an opulent , sensual experience on every level.It's magnificent architecture astonishes but does not overwhelm. The cuisine in the two restaurants is splendid, as is expected in a city that celebrates its well deserved culinary reputation.There are 62 well-appointed rooms that retain the original character while boasting of state of the art amenities. We stayed in the Aurangzeb Suite, with its muted colours and understated detailing. We loved the marble bathroom.... in particular, the bevilled mirrors behind the tub. The bath products were great. But, the biggest indulgence was the shopping experience at 'Khazana' - the Taj Boutique, which on this property, is housed in a haveli and boasts of the most exquisitely sourced objets, gifts, shawls, jewellery and more. Local crafts and fashion designers get top billing here. We splurged! Even though we weren't planning to.
Yes, all this and more comes with a fancy price tag ( starting at Rs. 30.000 a night). But I'd say, if you have the dosh - come spend it here. It's not everyday that a hotel let's you live like the legendary Nizams. I did miss having the famous Jacob diamond as a paper weight.... ha ha. But even without that famous rock, I felt 'royal - put it down to the courteous, courtly service. And those soft spoken 'Aadabs', of course.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superstar075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Hi-tech City/Gachibowli
Trident Hyderabad
Trident Hyderabad
#1 of 347 in Hyderabad
1,072 reviews
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#5 of 347 in Hyderabad
2,379 reviews
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#17 of 347 in Hyderabad
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Taj Deccan
Taj Deccan
#22 of 347 in Hyderabad
798 reviews
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#12 of 347 in Hyderabad
735 reviews
Jubilee Hills/Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#29 of 347 in Hyderabad
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Address: | Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range: $498 - $895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing