We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Magnificent Palace hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Falaknuma Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #3 of 302 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Magnificent Palace hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I had a five night stay here in February 2013. Perched 2000 feet up on a hill overlooking Hyderabad, and conveniently on the right side of town for the airport, the Falaknuma Palace is a special place. It was built by the prime minister of Hyderabad in the late 19th century, and then bought by the Nizam of Hyderabad after the building bankrupted the prime minister. Abandoned for years after Hyderabad was absorbed into the state of India in 1948 (a year after the British left), the palace was been taken over by the Taj Hotel group in 2005, and after a lengthy restoration reopened as a 60 room luxury hotel in late 2010.

The palace is a magnificent building, with marble floors, ornate ceilings and beautiful chandeliers. It has a vast 101 seat dining table, a fine library and beautiful artifacts, such as a magnificent Chinese cabinet in one of the drawing rooms. The marble staircase is a work of art in itself. In terms of amenities, we stayed in one of the basic rooms (120), but this was spacious and well appointed. The shower was superb, the bed comfortable, and the room had a separate sofa and desk, and plenty of wardrobe space. The place is spotless throughout, carefully maintained by 350 staff for the 60 rooms. There are several attractive terraces with view over the city where you can have a drink, or arrange dinner. There are two restaurants, an Italian cafe for those who want to travel all the way to India to eat European food, and Adaa, the Indian restaurant. Adaa is superb, producing some truly magnificent dishes over the many meals that we tried here. Biriani is a must, a Hyderabad specialty, but the Malabar prawns, chicken tikka and bhindi were all examples of terrific cooking. I have travelled widely in India 14 visits and counting), and this is some of the very best Indian food in the country. As an aside, the croissants at breakfast here are brilliant, made in the pastry section of the kitchen in a temperature controlled room at 16C to ensure optimal conditions for the butter when making the pastry.

It is a difficult place to criticise. There is a very small swimming pool, presumably needing to be in keeping with the,original palace design, and of course it is a short drive into town (perhaps 15 minutes from the Chowmella palace, depending on traffic) as it is situated up on a hill. However this gives fine views over the city, and there are some small but attractive gardens at the front of the palace. There is a regular series of people arriving at the room to provide turn-down service, present little nibbles or just to check up on housekeeping, though of course you can always put your privacy sign (a red cord) on he door to minimize this should you wish.

When we checked in we were taken from the entrance up to the palace by horse-drawn carriage, which was a nice touch, though golf carts are the more usual way to get taken from the place to the gate.

Overall, this is a truly magnificent hotel, a rare chance to blend relaxation with some genuinely interesting history, and get a glimpse into the life of the Nizam, the richest man in the world in the 1930s.

Room Tip: I do not think there are any bad rooms here. Most are clustered round a central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members especially, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

Let us share with you some more interesting information about the Palace restoration.

The restoration has almost took ten years, and the Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces has infused new life into the Falaknuma Palace, which is ready to resume its status as Hyderabad’s most exclusive address to offer its guests a glimpse of the regal lifestyle of the Nizams who governed the legendary city of Hyderabad. After 10 years of extensive restoration, and preserving the priceless art and artifacts, Taj Falaknuma Palace now welcomes guests – completely restored, renewed and reinstated to its former glory.

I’m also delighted to share exiting news with you Taj Falaknuma Palace recently won the prestigious Travel + Leisure India’s Best Heritage Hotel Award 2013 and The Best Spa Interiors award 2013 (Hotel & Resort) by Geospa AsiaSpa India Awards. We have also been awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2013 for consistently earning high traveler ratings by travelers, and also have been featured among the Top 25 Luxury Hotels in the Trip Advsior’s Travelers Choice Awards 2013.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday - a bit longer stay for the next time.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    91
    29
    12
    12
See reviews for
169
239
29
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nothing can prepare you for your stay at the Falaknuma. From the start, your horsedrawn carriage up the hill to the grand entrance, to the end, when you're suddenly showered with rose petals as you descend the staircase to your shuttle down the hillside, this is a hotel with few rivals.

The staff could not be more helpful and attentive. They even arranged our boarding passes and seat assignments for our departing flight - without us even asking! The restaurants are excellent displaying amazing creativity (try the kulfi with rose marmalade for dessert!). The rooms are immaculate and the evening performance of Islamic chanting was magical and evocative.

The building, grounds, staff, and history infused in every room make this a one of a kind experience. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members especially, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

I’m also delighted to share exiting news with you Taj Falaknuma Palace recently won the prestigious Travel + Leisure India’s Best Heritage Hotel Award 2013 and The Best Spa Interiors award 2013 (Hotel & Resort) by Geospa AsiaSpa India Awards. We have also been awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2013 for consistently earning high traveler ratings by travelers, and also have been featured among the Top 25 Luxury Hotels in the Trip Advsior’s Travelers Choice Awards 2013.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday - a bit longer stay for the next time.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just in love with the palace! Amazing property! amazing service! Food is pretty decent .but all in all what an experience! would love to come back over n over again ! Kudos to the staff and management for maintaing this heritage property so well!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poonam0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members especially, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.


I’m also delighted to share exiting news with you Taj Falaknuma Palace recently won the prestigious Travel + Leisure India’s Best Heritage Hotel Award 2013 and The Best Spa Interiors award 2013 (Hotel & Resort) by Geospa AsiaSpa India Awards. We have also been awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2013 for consistently earning high traveler ratings by travelers, and also have been featured among the Top 25 Luxury Hotels in the Trip Advsior’s Travelers Choice Awards 2013.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday - a bit longer stay for the next time.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed there 3 nights. We have been living in India and travelling lots in India, staying lots at Taj. This hotel breakfast was one of the best breakfast I had in Taj. I loved pastry, croissant etc. It was really good standard. The room and the hotel was beautiful and love surrunding.

Only the negative was staff. They were quite slow and not very efficient, but it did not bother me too much, as the hotel was really great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful and detailed review post your recent stay with us at our Palace.

We are glad to note that overall you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us and we did notice that some of the attributes we have not been able to meet your expectations fully. Specifically, please do accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused with regards to the slow service. I have taken up the matter very seriously with our Manager – Food & Beverages as well as the Training Manager and please be assured that we’ll ensure that corrective measures are taken in terms of attentiveness to ensure that such an incident does not reoccur again.


I’m also delighted to share exiting news with you Taj Falaknuma Palace recently won the prestigious Travel + Leisure India’s Best Heritage Hotel Award 2013 and The Best Spa Interiors award 2013 (Hotel & Resort) by Geospa AsiaSpa India Awards. We have also been awarded the Certificate of Excellence 2013 for consistently earning high traveler ratings by travelers, and also have been featured among the Top 25 Luxury Hotels in the Trip Advsior’s Travelers Choice Awards 2013.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday and assure you of our best services and fullest attention at all times.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This TAJ property - the former residence of the Nizam of Hyderabad, is one of the finest luxurious hotels in India, with the ambiance, decor, location, heritage and a view to kill. It is 2000 feet above Hyderabad. The grand chandeliers, rare furniture, grand marble staircases, fountains, gardens, priceless statues and stained-glass windows are worth seeing. The Palace Library, a replica of the one at Windsor Castle. They have 2 restaurants one serving sumptuous Indian cuisines and the other Mediterranean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golujain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members especially, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

Let us share with you some more interesting information about the Palace restoration.

The restoration has almost took ten years, and the Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces has infused new life into the Falaknuma Palace, which is ready to resume its status as Hyderabad’s most exclusive address to offer its guests a glimpse of the regal lifestyle of the Nizams who governed the legendary city of Hyderabad. After 10 years of extensive restoration, and preserving the priceless art and artifacts, Taj Falaknuma Palace now welcomes guests – completely restored, renewed and reinstated to its former glory.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday - a bit longer stay for the next time.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We decided to spend 3 days, including New Year’s eve, at the Falaknuma Palace when in Hyderabad to visit friends. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. The carriage ride from the security stop to the hotel was very nice. The hotel staff greeting was warm and check-in was painless. Our room, a Suite on the second floor was spacious, impeccably decorated and well equipped. A warm bath with rose petals was waiting for us when we arrived. Little touches like both terry and cotton bathrobes were a very nice touch. The property is beautiful and grounds are perfectly maintained. The spa is exceptional. The gift shop is very, very nice. The big disappointment was service and food quality. Having staying in several of the Taj Palace properties (Taj Mahal Mumbai, Lake Palace, Rambaugh) we had an expectation of the quality of facilities and service we would find at Falaknuma – sadly, we were disappointed. The food quality, while very nice, was not the exceptional standard of other properties. The table service was very friendly but not efficient for example, from when we ordered it took 10 – 15 mins for morning coffee to arrive at breakfast; one night our cocktail order took 20 mins. the next night 30 mins. this was accompanied with apologies and explanations that the delay was because the type of vodka we had requested was located in a different bar. I should note that in each case it was not sufficiently busy to account for the service. In every case the staff was very pleasant but it left us wondering whether it would be better to strike a balance between courteous/helpful staff and efficient service. Finally, the communications for the New Year’s Eve festivities (which were great fun) was very poor. No one we spoke to was clear about what time it would start and whether seating was reserved or not and therefore what time we should plan to arrive to ensure a nice table. As it turned our tables had been reserved in advance, ours was lovely and the evening was great fun. The next evening, a price fixe dinner was being served on the outside dining area – we could not find out any information about it in advance. Finally, unlike every other Taj property, we were not asked to provide feedback on our experience – very odd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

i stayed with a friend on 17th jan 2013 ..It was an amazing place to be...the welcome was unique and interesting you are taken to the palace on a horse carriage and the shower of rose petals on arrival is very special...you are treated like royalty. Rooms are very nice ,food and service is extraordinary...A must for every tourist who come to hyderabad ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puneet_Sharnameye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Trident Hyderabad
#1 of 302 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#13 of 302 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Jubilee Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#7 of 302 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#8 of 302 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 302 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
The Park Hyderabad
#29 of 302 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Property: Taj Falaknuma Palace
Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing