We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience at the palace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Falaknuma Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #3 of 305 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely experience at the palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay for two nights after arriving late from mumbai , we were enchanted with the wellcoming at the palace , the staff very courteus and friendly , the food at the Indian rest very well presented and very good , they could improved more we ordered some wine and they did not have all the selection they offered, but they day of our departured our flight was canceled until late afternoon and they let us stay until 4 oclock in the rooms , when you traveled to the south you need to be patience not everything is like Rajasthan but they tried they best to make you feel confortable and happy

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bellis60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    99
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
206
286
31
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I went to enjoy this hotel for an evening out to see the palace, enjoy the tour and drinks on the terrace followed by dinner.
The palace is spectacular. The tour hopeless. The guide's voice didn't project well hence we couldn't hear her plus her information was thin. We walked away having learnt very little.
We then went to the beautiful terrace for a drink. I had to find a member of staff to give us wine menus. Not a good start! The order took forever. Not the level of service I would expect from such a hotel.
Once we were seated in the restaurant we were fortunately looked after by a very competent waitress. The food was ok but I have eaten better Italian food at other restaurants in Hyderabad.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OO1HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace, Hyderabad!

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Taj Falaknuma Palace.

Please accept my sincere apologies on behalf of the team, for a less than satisfactory experience. With regards to the Palace tour, while we do have our regular Champagne Palace walk for our resident guests at 1730 hours which is conducted by our very experienced Palace Historian, who has been with Taj Falaknuma Palace for the past 20 years, recently on a popular request we have started a 1845 hours Palace walk for our non-resident patrons. While the second tour has also been well received by the guests, we will surely look at the process and confirm that only our trained associates conduct the tour at all times.

With regards to the Italian food please accept my apologies for the discomfort caused. I have taken up the matter with our Chef, and you will be pleased to hear that we have recently got our new Chef on board, for our Mediterranean and South Eastern cuisine restaurant Celeste, and we would within a week also be launching our new menu for this is restaurant.

At the Taj group and the Taj Falaknuma Palace, we pride ourselves on our professionalism and hospitality and it is indeed very concerning that we have not been able to provide you with a great experience. I have addressed your concern with the concerned associates, and have also shared your feedback with our team. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback very sincerely and will ensure that our services live up to the esteemed expectations of our most valued patrons, such as you, at all times.

I hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back, and I assure you that you will find a definite improvement on your next visit.

We would like to once again thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

There is no doubt that the property is magnificent and one of the most beautiful estates of its type in India.

However, the service is mediocre at best, with staff inadequately trained and not close to the standard expected of comparable Taj luxury resorts, Oberoi or Aman hotels.

A specific billing problem was reluctantly addressed by an assistant manager, a request for a subsequent call not returned, the problem not resolved before checkout and a final request on departure not followed-up.

The General Manager, Girish Sehgal, should be singled for specific comment - he made no effort to introduce himself, was inaccessible (except to one seemingly important family) and by inference, sets the standard for an apathetic approach to guests.

Overall, our experience was deeply disappointing, particularly given the high cost.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Taj Falaknuma Palace.

Please accept my sincere apologies, for a less than satisfactory experience. I am informed that your billing concern was to find out the room rate that your Travel agent was paying the hotel. I would like to share with you that the special contracted rates between the travel agents and the hotels is not disclosed to guests across the entire hotel industry, and the same was communicated to you by our team. In addition to assist you, without breaking our contract with the Travel Agent we shared our published rates, and even connected you to your travel agent to get a clarity on the rates charged. After that there was no further request from you to the Manager on Duty who was handling your request.

While I do try and ensure that I meet all our in-house guests, apart from sending a every resident guest at the Palace a personal welcome and departure note, I would like to apologise to you that I was not able to meet you personally during your stay of two days, over the New Year eve, when the Palace was running full occupancy. I am also concerned about your impression that the General Manager was inaccessible. I have checked all the records and have spoken to the associates whom you have dealt with, and none of them had any information that you had wanted to meet me, at anytime during your entire stay. May I request you to please send me your feedback on my email address girish.sehgal@tajhotels.com along with any other service feedback, as this will help us improve our processes.

At the Taj group and at the Taj Falaknuma Palace, we pride ourselves on our professionalism and hospitality and it is indeed very concerning that we have not been able to provide you with a great experience. Let me assure you that we have taken your feedback very sincerely, and the team and I will ensure that we work on the feedback provided, and live up to the esteemed expectations of our valued guests, such as you, on your future visits.

We would like to once again thank you for your review and do hope that you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for a memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

As you enter this memorable palace in the horse carriage (the traditional welcome that every guest gets) and the wonderful welcome the hotel gives you (which is a highlight - flower petals being showered on you from the top) with a intro of the hotel entrance, you will be amazed and excited as to how much the hotel has in store for you... but alas ! except the main enterance which has been resorted with lot of pain and effort, the rest of the palace leaves with wanting more..

I am writing this after a splendid experience we had in Umaid Bhavan palace, the other Taj Palace property of Jodhpur where the entire property, experience, rooms, service was the best ! Here what you have is a splendid Nizam Palace which is awesome, especially the Champagne tour with the Historian, but other than that the rooms and the property didnt have the richness one could expect..

Hence the but in the review title.. The food and the restaurant experience were all damn good.. but the Spa disappointed us majorly.. especially the lady who was the manager there.. we had a very bad experience.. it left us with a major disappointment in terms of the atitude..

Overall a great property, but comparing with Umaid bhavan, i would go with the latter !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srikanth_Iyer1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we felt like we were part of the palace. everything from the horse carriage entrance right till the checking out. I can not describe in words how amazing the service was they made us feel so welcome and gave us so much warmth that we were overwhelmed and very humbled. The manager, the staff, security, every single person took the time out to make us feel welcome.
The hotel was gorgeous nother than the Taj group nobody could have done what they have accomplished with the restoration of this palace. They have paid attention to the slightest detail and tried to make sure it was restored like its original state. Simply amazing.
The restaurant we ate was Celeste for lunch and the food just left us in awe. Their pizza was so light and refreshing felt like I was in Italy not India. We did the unique dining experience where we were seated in the terrace overlooking the city.....there are no words to describe this experience you just have to be there.
Overall this hotel was more than 5 stars, I am looking forward to coming back and experiencing the magic all over again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prncss03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
932 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We landed with very high expectations. These were exceeded in EVERY respect - Care, Comfort, Aesthetics, Beauty, Delectability, Entertainment - you name it. We would not have left the Residence for the five days had we not made the trip to attend a family wedding.

We are sure the General Manager is the conductor, but Reekshit Siddhanta, Manager - Palace Services and his Team Members were there to take care of every wish.

As opposed to other Taj Palaces, at Falaknuma the rooms are not in the Palace itself, so we enjoyed the casual spaces in excellent environment and yet could enjoy the palace rooms and gardens open to guests at all times. The grand tour of the palace is interesting but the pains taken by the Princess in restoration close to its original state is a remarkable feat.

Worth the visit anytime.

Room Tip: Palace Suites are in a serene setting nearer the spa and pool, but we were happy with the Palace Del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

the luxury and service at this hotel is unparallel to any property i have ever stayed at in the world. it deserves all the accolades it receives as being one of the very best. the interiors are mind blowing and the rooms really take you back in time. if you cant feel like royalty here then you cant feel like ti anywhere. the food is wonderful and staff is courteous. the only downside is the this hotel is located in the old city and outside the hotel there is congestion but why would you ever leave this hotel is the real question

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaurav797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Trident Hyderabad
#2 of 305 in Hyderabad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#15 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#6 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#5 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Mercure Hyderabad KCP
#4 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Property: Taj Falaknuma Palace
Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing