We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing view of Hyderabad from - well - a palace!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #2 of 317 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An amazing view of Hyderabad from - well - a palace!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Taj people have again worked their magic! The palace has been superbly furnished and transformed into a hotel with a luxurious pool area. The Taj staff were as always ready and eager to please. The carriage ride up the driveway is rather fun. There is an excellent guided tour of the hotel by a local historian. The views of Hyderabad and the surrounding countryside are stunning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellinGuy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    103
    32
    14
    14
See reviews for
230
309
34
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel/ palace sits above Hyderabad and provides great views, it took 10 years for the Taj group to fully restore the old palace and it is wonderful to wander around and take it in as you please. The pool environment here is really very relaxing with thick lawns and lovely big old trees. Every night Qawali musicians play music and really put their soul into it, this happens on a glass covered veranda that overlooks the old town. A great place for a drink after a hard day at the pool and the palace tour with a glass of champagne. The hotel doesn't have the same knock your socks off customer service that the Lake Palace has, but it is not far behind. The pool attendance was particularly good. The food is very good as you would expect and it is a destination hotel where you don't need to leave, which is lucky as there is not a lot to Hyderabad. I would happily go again.

We both had great spa treatments there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithcomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Falaknuma Palace is a breathtaking Taj heritage hotel. To have 32 green acres including a Zen garden in the middle of jam packed Hyderabad is in itself a coup, and that too on a hillock is even better. The pick up at the hotel gate by horse drawn buggies is a delight, the rose petal shower and the run down on the rich past is a pleasure.
Tarry...all this is even before you enter the hotel itself. Step in to witness luxurious libraries and cigar room, the largest dinning table in the world, sprawling gardens, suites fit for royalty and of'course Sufi music on an open courtyard with Hyderabad by night on the horizon.
Falaknuma is defined not just by its regal luxury, but also by the rich essense of the era that wafts through the palace as also by the quite efficiency of the staff that treats you as royalty.

Room Tip: Matters not where you stay at Falaknuma....its all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivineDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian in Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

An aerial view is the best way to see how the Baroque-style palace is actually laid out like a scorpion with two stings spread out as residential wings in the north. The vast gardens are its belly. The suites across the courtyard are named after the swashbuckling Mughals. In the swirl of brocade, balustrades and tinkling cut glass, the emperor’s table is the most gasp-worthy. The 101-seater, the longest in the world, stretches across a vast hall and is set with Versace crockery and silver cutlery, watched over by thousand-piece Belgian chandeliers. The acoustics are such that you can hear every spoken word from the opposite ends. A spectacular location for that once in a lifetime celebration.When twilight descends, the 400-year-old city of Hyderabad, sprawled 2000 feet below ‘lights up’ and you feel like a monarch surveying his kingdom.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the gym on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel Management from GM Girish Sehgal, Mohit Malhotra and related staff help me plot and plan a surprize Birthday extravaganza for my wife. No hold or expenses barred as the objective was to give her "THE experience of a lifetime". Wife only knew the destination when she got into the hotel Jaguar at Hyderabad airport. Nothing could have prepared her for the 3N/4D experience only accorded to royals that awaited her. Others have described in detail similar experiences, so wont repeat details. In summary, transfer from Jaguar to the Nizam's private horse drawn carriage at hotel gate to be taken up to the Main entrance; exotic welcome drink; escort with coat of arms; rose petal shower, private valet throughout the stay as a single point contact to satisfy every wish and whim for M'lady; the best in class Hyderabadi food at the Adaa restaurant; the freshly baked croissants at the Celeste for breakfast; the High Tea at the Gol Bungalow with spectacular view of the City, 2000 feet below; the Birthday lunch with her closest family members as a surprize; the Romantic Dinner for two at an exclusive private location with a customized Menu, served on the finest china and cutlery in the world; the Jiva Spa with the top of the line 2.5 hour bliss that you would never experience at ANY spa (and we have been to the best around the world). Words or pictures on the hotel website can NEVER do justice to the real life experience, because you NEED to experience the superlative service at the Taj Falaknuma to know that this is the BEST in the world.
I have lived in all the Palace hotels in India and this has the be the very best. After my personal experience, a few close family members and friends who live outside India have planned to have their own experience at this Palace and know what it feels like to relive in an era gone by.

Finally, special mention must go to our personal valet, Minak and our Celeste waitress Sheetal, and Ms. Padma at the Spa, for making this the most memorable and talked about travel experience of our lives!

Ms. Jyoti Narang who heads the Taj Luxury Hotels Group worldwide, thanks for enabling fantasies and dreams come true! GM Girish Sehgal, you and your team are simply the bestest! Grateful thanks!

Room Tip: The historical Charminar Suite, where we stayed, is one of the best. Has a private verandah with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is the most luxurious experience I have had, right from arrival to departure. The staff at Falaknuma Rikshit, Anmol, Himanshu (to mention just a few) truly make you feel like royalty at this palace hotel.
There is nothing that has not been thought of...little things like a rubber band put along with the shower cap in the bathroom, the tub being filled with hot water for a refreshing bath, the most amazing body scrub, a little silver cup filled with body lotion kept by your bedside at night...and to top it all delicious cookies at night..also a shot of chocolate mousse that we could not even try as we were so full with the dinner..the dinner is amazing set up on the terrace overlooking the city..all lit up like a fairyland..
I could go on, but then I would spoil the surprises that the hotel offers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bagladyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, especially for Reekshit, Anmol & Himanshu. Its feedback such as yours that inspires me and my team to constantly strive for excellence and to ensure that all our guests leave the palace with fond memories.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Taj Falaknuma Palace, Hyderaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Taj Falakhuma Palace is not a hotel but an experience. Horse-drawn carriages, champagne, personal valets, complimentary desserts and framed photographs await guests. The rooms are large and comfortable, the Indian restaurant serves a great meal, the pool area is beautiful and the mountain-view of Hyderabad is stunning. The staff is friendly and incredibly helpful; you can ask them nearly anything. The gym is small but quaint and quiet when I was there, while the spa is also small yet desolate; a fewer number of rooms certainly doesn't warrant a massive gym/spa area. A neat experience, but personally I don't really need so much attention and opulence, so much pampering and unnecessary extravagance. It's as though the good people of the Palace have forgotten that there is a city surrounding them, and a vast world on the outside.

The palace offers a historical guided tour of its front rooms which is worth the hour. Unfortunately the tour is open to the general public, and when I joined there were just too many people, many of them not as interested as I was. One man was playing with the museum objects as our guide lectured, while another was taking non-stop photos of his wife in any conceivable spot and angle. People talking and phones ringing was downright annoying.

Room Tip: Aside from the suites, the rooms all face the inner garden so there is no real difference. Don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CasualDebris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Its feedback such as yours that inspires me and my team to constantly strive for excellence and to ensure that all our guests leave the palace with fond memories.

I would like to reiterate that personal service is our biggest forte, however we would request you for your full name so that we can update our profile to ensure your preference of non indulgence is captured and recorded for your future visits. The Palace tour is a service offered to all resident guests and it is but inappropriate to advise guests on their behaviour during the tour. I am so glad that a conscientious person like you have mentioned this.

You will also be glad to know that Taj Falaknuma Palace has been awarded the No. 1 Hotel in Asia & Indian Ocean and among the Top 10 hotels in the World by Condenaste Traveller Readers Poll UK 2012. This is our 2nd award in a row of 2 years. I would like to extend my thanks to you for your continued patronage and support.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

Girish Sehgal
General Manager
Taj Falaknuma Palace, Hyderaba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#17 of 317 in Hyderabad
1,305 reviews
Trident Hyderabad
#3 of 317 in Hyderabad
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Deccan
#22 of 317 in Hyderabad
729 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#29 of 317 in Hyderabad
824 reviews
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#5 of 317 in Hyderabad
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Property: Taj Falaknuma Palace
Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing