We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #3 of 307 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Bombay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“heaven on earth”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Falaknuma is no ordinary hotel stay, its an experience in every sense of the term. From the Jaguar that fetched us at the airport and drove us till the entrance of the palace - a clock tower, then a transfer to the reception area in a carriage drawn by 2 stallions with shimmering black coats - this was only the start. We already felt so regal and special.. We stayed in the magnificent Charminar suite overlooking the whole city of Hyderabad with its lights twinkling in the distance, hearing the entire city reverberate to the call to prayer in the evening. The food at both the restaurants -Celeste (Western/Mediterranean) and Adaa - (Indian) was delicious and innovative ..We finally had Hyderabadi Biryani in Hyderabad which was incredible as was the Patthar ka gosht ( lamb cooked on stone) The Taj group has reached the pinnacle of its hospitality with this palace - its staff were amazingly attentive and discreetly intuitive - taking the phrase - your wish is our command to a whole new level. The treatments at the Jiva spa were very good too. A guided tour of the palace made us feel that we were walking through the pages of history - Mr Prabhakar the guide was an excellent raconteur. The emphasis at the palace seems to be - make a guest's stay magical and memorable and they have scored commendably on both counts. We had tears in our eyes when we walked down the marble staircase..and from nowhere, a shower of rose petals rained down on us as we stepped into the carriage once again this time drawn by 2 white horses, back to the clock tower, back into the gleaming Jaguar as we regretfully drove back to the airport. Just waiting to get back here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khorshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    100
    30
    13
    14
See reviews for
216
296
33
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

When one decides to go and eat out in a place like Taj Falaknuma, it is not because they have the best food or the best prices; it is because it has what no other fine dining experience can offer, the royal touch.
Right from the time one enters the grand gates, to the walk up the entrance staircase, through the library and into the courtyard, you feel the richness of the Nawabi culture in action all around you.
Reservation are mandatory for the dining experience, an experience which is worth all the trouble it take getting there through the mad traffic of charminar.
Celeste was our choice of the day, Celeste serves classical Italian and Mediterranean. The moctails were a little bit of a let down (too flat), but the starters and the main course lived up to its expectations. The service was immaculate, not for a moment did one have to turn around looking for help, the servers were right there, waiting on you as if you are the center of their universe (guessing that’s teh service royal guests would have recieved) it did feel nice to be looked after that well.
If it were only for the food I would have called this place expensive, but if you talk about the entire experience I would rate this place far above any other place I have been too, worth every bit you spend.
It is recommended to go there while the evening sun is still out, enjoy the royal approach to the palace, chill out at the Hookah Lounge, where there is live sufi music (Playing all through June 2012 as per latest info), till around 8 enjoy the intoxicating view the soothing music and the charming drink, then head of to one of the best dining experiences and it would be a evening well spent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniruddha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It was a chance, that we visited this place and almost decided not to go in. The place was restored by Tata folks and took them 15 years to do that. It is not a wasted effort I can assure you. If you are visiting Hyderabad, it makes sense to stay at least for a night here.

The place is managed by staff that is very courteous and takes care of you. Don't hesitate to ask for something or to know more about a piece in the palace. There is a guided tour at 5.30pm everyday. One should not miss, if you want to look at the complete palace. Taj Management does not allow people to loiter around in Guest areas (residence) otherwise. The palace is absolute beauty and is maintained and accentuated in Luxury by Tata people. The rooms are very well done and you get the royal feeling inside.

We had booked Italian restaurant Celeste'. We were greeted and then taken to our table. The menu is very well designed and explains the dishes very well. The staff also helps you to make a selection, if you are having problems with the names or the ingredients of the dishes. The food was just wow. We had a salad, Cocktail followed by Main course. God we were full once we were done with the portions served. It was amazing how the flavors were maintained. Hats off to the chef.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank errich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
291 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This truly is a fabulous hotel. Even by Taj and Oberoi hotel standards it is outstanding. The building is spectacular full of history (The hotel reception is a very understated affair in the Nizam of Hyderabad's old study) with much of the old furniture in the formal rooms making it almost a museum. It has been lovingly restored by the Taj group, a project which took the best part of 10 years, in conjunction with the Nizam's ex-wife (Who, it would seem, won the Palace in the divorce settlement!). All guests are invited on a guided tour of the Palace formal rooms including the 101 room, so called because the dining table will seat 101 guests! THe guest bedrooms are all at the back mostly off beautiful tranquil courtyards. They are really spectacular and the view over Hyderabad is tremendous. This is all well and good, but the thing that made this hotel stand out was the quality of the service. It appeared that all employees at the hotel knew our names personally and would greet us appropriately. They even opened the restaurant especially for us when we were late back from a tour of the city. The Indian Restaurant is a must the food is excellent and the service, once again, outstanding. Were there any criticisms I can make.Yes. We had some slightly wilty flowers on our table one day. Also when we paid the bill they undercharged us slightly and had to ask for our card back. That is about it! Overall the hotel was spectacularly luxurious without being in any way intimidating. I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is the best place we have ever stayed in and we have been to some pretty spectacular places!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, you cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardVUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This has to be the most wonderful place I have ever stayed in India, or for that matter anywhere in the world, and I am a seasoned traveler of luxury hotels.
From the moment you arrive in a horse drawn carriage, with rose petals showered on you from above, you know you are in for a very special experience.
We stayed in the Charminar suite (Room 303) called an historic suite, this suite has the most wonderful private terrace overlooking the forecourt and facade of the front, (which is stunning at night) and also the best views of the city, equally stunning at night and the sound of the call to prayer is magical.
The interiors of the hotel are impeccable and redolent of a bygone era, such a change from the utilitarian interiors of today's hotels 5 star or otherwise. Only Taj knows how to deliver the 5star palace experience.
Apart from the sumptuous interiors, the staff have been hand picked and trained to the highest standards imaginable, they speak English perfectly, cannot do enough for you, treat you like royalty, remember every wish like or dislike( which are few).
The service in all departments is the most attentive, I have ever experienced, the food is excellent , and the restaurant staff are wonderful, charming and will do anything to cater for your needs.
Do take the Palace tour it is such an interesting highlight, beautifully explained by the palace historian. I must say my thanks to Manu(asst front manager), Vishal Nagar(Concierge), Cyril a charming welcomer, and the lovely Rebika and Chumki guest relations.
You are not staying in an hotel but as a guest of the Nizam, and that is how you are made to feel.
Whether on business or pleasure, Hyderabad is a fascinating city, read up and choose what you want to see, but what a joy it is to return to your palace at the end of the day.
Do not miss this jewel in the Taj crown.
Thank you everyone for making our 4 day stay so memorable, we will be back.
Julian Asgaralli (London)

Room Tip: Book room 303, (Charminar Suite), it has I feel the best location in the hotel, a huge private terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julian_asgaralli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

If you are in Hyderabad for at least 2 days, PLEASE stay at this Palace. I had read other reviews which influenced my decision to stay here, BUT my expectations were EXCEEDED!!!! They pamper and coddle you so much here, you feel as if you are really royalty. I have never experienced this level of service ANYWHERE and I've been to several 5 star places in my years of travel!!!! I don't want to spoil it for you by giving you all the details, but BELIEVE me when I tell you that this is a great way to spend your hotel experience in this very busy city. There are 360 degree views of the entire city from this estate so that alone is worth the price of admission. While this place is a little pricier than the average hotels, it is worth every penny. I was happy to give them my AMEX card! Whenever I am back in Hyderabad, I will be staying here again! I loved it!!! Thank you Faluknuma staff for making my last 3 days in Hyderabad so special:) PS The only thing I would have them change is to offer free Wifi.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulup4071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The experience was royal to say the least, the service par excellence, the food scrumptious, the palace elegant, the spa service was rejuvenating, people friendly and helpful. All that said and done, i would recommend not spending more than a weekend here. Soak in the royal heritage and the very beautiful city view, take a tour of the palace, eat your breakfast in the jade balcony,have a spa treatment if you like, sample the two restaurants, listen to local qawwali as the sun sets on the city and then go home. I personally think it would get a little boring after two days, and if you have to stay longer in the city, you could always get a comfortable room for a cheaper rate in another hotel.
I absolutely loved being pampered while i was there, and plan on returning there whenever i need to get away from the hustle and rigmarole of the city life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudeepta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Trident Hyderabad
#2 of 307 in Hyderabad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#16 of 307 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Banjara Hills
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
Park Hyatt Hyderabad
#9 of 307 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#7 of 307 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Ramoji Film City Hotel Tara
#1 of 307 in Hyderabad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Vivanta by Taj Begumpet
#14 of 307 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Property: Taj Falaknuma Palace
Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#2 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing