We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #2 of 317 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We went to the Taj Falaknuma for a special treat before leaving Hyderabad, and decided to have the English afternoon tea. The service from the moment we arrive was impeccable - I couldn't fault it apart from the fact that it did start to get a bit suffocating, but I guess that is just the different cultures.
The food was really nice, very tasty little nibbles - sandwiches, scones and whatnot. They offered to refill, and having been to The Ritz, I assumed this was included in the price - I'm afraid not, we got charged extra for some more sarnies!
The setting is amazing, really something worth seeing - it is just such a pity that it is surrounded by such poverty and suffering, I couldn't help thinking that had I known there were slums all around I might not have come, it made me very sad.
Service was great, value for money was ok, novelty value was up there - I do have a weakness for afternoon tea though, so perhaps if that's not your thing you wouldn't be so impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Taj Falaknuma Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

844 - 850 of 902 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is the Nizam's property, exquisitely beautifully restored and efficiently operated.

The palace rises above the city of Hyderabd and mornings & evenings are beautiful. The breeze 'wow'.

The food is nice but quite expensive. The staff make all the effort to make you feel like Royalty. The best season to go would be Monsoon and Winters.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lawns and pool are very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JayVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

You will feel like the maharaja of this gorgeous palace when you stay there. With only 60 rooms, it feels like you are in a semi-private retreat, a feeling amplified by its positioning on its own hill, surrounded by a palace wall, perched high above the city. At night the view of the city from the terrace is nothing less than stunning. You can't help but feel that you are surveying your kingdom--a feeling I had more than once during my stay. There is an adequate and very clean fitness facility, a lovely outdoor pool surrounded by beautiful landscaping and a charming bridge across the middle, a gorgeous jade room filled with fascinating jade pieces, an elegant game room, and a rare books library that makes a bibliophile salivate. Ask to take a palace tour and you will see the old living quarters of the maharaja's family who lived there until the mid-20th century.

The staff is so helpful--almost unbelievably so. When my camera batteries ran out during dinner, one of the butlers ran back to my room for me--not once, but twice--to get my battery charger. And the uniforms of everyone from butlers to maids to groundskeepers make them all look so very slick and professional. There was one particularly smart butler--who also happened to be the only female butler I saw--who gave me the most articulate directions at one point. I asked someone else later what kind of training they have and was told that many of them are studying hotel management at university. This is a truly top-notch staff.

Do not miss the view from the terrace--and try to catch the evening music if you can. I think it starts at 6 pm. It is hard to describe how beautiful the view is, especially against the backdrop of the palace.

This is a very special and unforgettable place.

Room Tip: There is no bad room in this luxury palace. The rooms with the front patios overlooking the city are...
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ZukiMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Dear Ma'am,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

"A reflection of Heaven" --- that is what Falaknuma is suppose to mean and that was what it was built to be. I had one of the most memorable 24 hours at this palace hotel. A beautifully restored palace that is just awe-inspiring. Once I stepped through the gates of the palace, i just did not want to leave the grounds. It was peaceful, tranquil and you feel like royalty without being overwhelmed.

The rooms are enormous, tastefully furnished and allow lots of natural light through the lovely floor to ceiling windows/doors that opens out into the central courtyard. A palace tour around the property led by one of the staff who was there from day one of the restoration made our stay even more memorable as you uncover the history of the rulers who lived there and hosted royalties and socialites to lavish dinners and parties. Every piece of furniture, every pillar, every book and inch and corner of the palace has a story waiting for you to discover.

The most beautiful part of the palace is the lovely terrace overlooking old Hyderabad. Looking out over the city on a clear cool morning over one of the most wonderful breakfast I've ever had...it really felt like I've tasted a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaszy_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Dear Ma'am,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Beyond the realm of reality is a palace which takes you by surprise. Haing travelled to many hotels india and abroad, this one truly takes the cake. Me and my friends made reservations for dinner at the indian restaurant ( u must !!) and the experience was worth the travel...the food, presentations and service staff were very courteous and looked after us very well. the highlighted was having desserts at the lounge outdoors overlooking the old city.........hopefully, some day I will be able to afford to stay here too............ just one word for this place....awsome....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Himanimohit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

Dear Ma'am,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

On the plus side, exquisitely beautifully restored, peaceful. and they go through the motions of making you feel like royalty...and the "monsoon package" is a fantastic deal. The food at Celeste (the italian restaurant) is excellent, if expensive. The Hyderabadi food at Adaa is good but nothing special -- you could get better food in town at lower prices, but the ambience in the Adaa private room is truly special.

On the minus side, they haven't got some of the most basic issues sorted out. Cannot make a decent cup of filter-press coffee or cappuccino, take twenty minutes to serve a glass of wine when the open bottle is sitting within sight of us, not enough towels in the bathrooms (just one bath towel per head in a grand royal suite), some of the royal suites smell moldy (wet patches on the floor in the corridor outside the suite), not great for asthmatics (ask for a standard room in the new wing rather than a historic or royal suite) -- they keep spraying very strong-smelling pesticides all the tiime -- wish they would use organic alternatives. The first suite we were shown was literally stinking. No one seems to have checked the bathroom before assigning it to a new guest. To be fair, they did move us, but took their own sweet time to do it.

Overall, about half the staff seem to be unclear about who is doing whom a favor, and behave as if they'd rather not have you there, instead of trying to make you feel comfortable. The other half are sweet and do try to please. To make this a truly top ranked hotel with service on par with top hotels in SE Asia (say, Aman resorts) is going to be an uphill task for the Taj with the current levels of training and staff attitudes.

I have also come to value the honest opinions of real travelers on this site much more after our stay at the Falaknuma. We had two very close friends, on a writer for Traveler, and the other a travel blogger for the Taj group, who were both being given the tour and royal treatment when we were there, and believe me, they did not get to experience what we did or see what we saw. I am sorry to say that this is a hotel that cares less about its guests than about its media coverage.

Room Tip: Take any packages on offer
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edinaglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Even the arrival at Falaknuma Palace is impressive and set up to transport you into another world! The moment you turn into the palace's driveway you leave behind the bustling city. After a few minutes you arrive at the first entrance gate, where you leave your vehicle and change into a carriage drawn by 4 beautiful arabian horses. These pull you at full speed up the hill and stop just in front of the palace, where you are very ceremoniously greeted, offered a refreshing drink and you have the first view over the city. This was the favorite palace of the last Nizam of Hyderabad (he had 21!). It is easy to understand. The Taj Group has made an enormous effort to restore it to its original beauty. The entrance hall of the palace is made to give you the impression that you are entering heaven. This definitely sets the stage for the rest of the experience. I do not want to spoil the surprise or first impression. Suffice it to say that the rooms are wonderfully decorated, very spacious, have wonderful and huge bathrooms. The gardens are beautifully manicured, peacocks wander around, parrots fly around. The food is delicious. There are two main restaurants. The chef can prepare great Indian fare, even for the most delicate western stomachs not used to spicy food. The breakfast on a terrace overlooking the city is breathtaking. There are many terraces where you can have drinks and snacks or simply enjoy the peace over the city. The staff is tremendously helpful and cordial. It is easy to feel like a prince or princess in a fairytale. Maybe the only not quite up to the same high standard set up is the pool, which is almost too small and less inviting. This is the perfect place to come and relax. You can take a break from all the bustle, noise and crowding in the rest of India. You are not only transported into another world, but into a reality where time seems to flow slower. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diver994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taj-Falaknuma-Palace, General Manager's Office at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and effort in sharing your feedback. It enables us to measure and improve our performance as we endeavour to provide you luxury hospitality. It is feedback such as yours that inspire us to constantly strive for excellence.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you to Falaknuma Palace again.

Sincerely,
Taj Falaknuma Palace
General Manager's Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#18 of 317 in Hyderabad
1,337 reviews
Taj Deccan
#22 of 317 in Hyderabad
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 317 in Hyderabad
843 reviews
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#4 of 317 in Hyderabad
2,239 reviews
Trident Hyderabad
#3 of 317 in Hyderabad
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range: $476 - $943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing