We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Poor Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Golkonda Hyderabad
Ranked #34 of 318 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel with Poor Staff”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had booked a suite with a preference for a non-smoking one. We were assigned one on the second floor with smoking permitted. Due to a function below us, the noise in the evening was overwhelming. The reception not only lied about the source of the noise but also about when it would stop, refusing to move us to a different room until 11 p.m. and only after we had complained over tent times. Part of the problem was an inability of almost the entire staff to understand English but the main problem was poor attitude.

The English problem persisted throughout our stay.

However we should note that the restaurants were excellent and the hotel has an efficient travel desk. It is also well-located.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin-Sarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr Sarkar,
Greetings from The Golkonda hotel Hyderabad.

Firstly I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and
all corrective steps have been taken to make sure such mistakes are not repeated in future.

Be rest assured sir, that the Head of the departments have been briefed about your complain and i am sure your next stay at the Golkonda will be more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    334
    86
    17
    20
See reviews for
162
92
90
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This hotel is located at the center of the city with places like Banjara hills, Begumpet, Hussain Sagar lake nearby. The AH-43 highway made my travel from the airport to the hotel and back to the airport very easy.

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. The room in which I stayed was very spacious and mine had the view of the city which was nice to look at in the night. The staff at the hotel were very courteous to me. They gave me an hour in addition to the normal 12p.m check-out without any charges. Food was also very nice and it wasn't expensive. Since I stayed here based on an offer it was a very good deal too. I felt very comfortable during my stay here. I hope I get to stay at this hotel once again.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel and you'll know how it feels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Mr Ram,
It gives the Golkonda team immense pleasure reading your feedback and i am thankful to you for taking time to write about us.

We at the Golkonda hotel not only try our level best to make sure that our guest's enjoy their stay, but also try to give them a memory to cherish rather than just a hotel experience.

We hope that you will give us the pleasure to serve you next time you visit Hyderabad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was on official trip to Hyderabad and need a hotel near IDRBT, I luckly found The Golkondas. The Golkonda is an excellent hotel in Masab Tank area , Good gala breakfast, ever smiling staff, neat and tidy rooms , and much more .
A nice swimming pool to relax and gymaniusm to work out . All this in affordable price of rs 3500 only . Really it is a Jewel of Nizam
Really stay at the hotel was memorable .

Room Tip: Pick any room , u will enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reetesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr Reetesh,
Firstly many thanks for taking your time to rate us on the Trip Adviser. It feels great that you liked our hotel and all of our services and we are very much pleased that you felt like a royal at the Golkonda.
We hope that you will patronize us in your future visits as well and we will try to keep our service levels as high as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is located right in the heart of the city with posh areas like Banjara hills and jubilee hills close by and the hitech are not too far. Hotel stay was a gift so I cannot comment on the price aspect but in all other terms the hotel was outstanding.
The morning buffet is also good with decent spread.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mr Parul,
Greetings from Hotel Golkonda and many thanks for taking time out to tell us about your experience at our hotel.
It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay and liked all the aspects of our hotel.
We always take pride in making sure that all our guests go happy.
Once again many thanks for the comments and hope you patronise Golkonda hotel in future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I often visit Hyderabad, but this was my first stay in this hotel.
Fabulous in all ways, stayed for three nights but did not miss my home made food, especially the food in one of their restaurants 'JEWEL OF NIZAM' was too good.
In short it covers all your requirements when you are away from your home town.

"Golkonda Hotel, you have made me one of your permanent guests".

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAWAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mr Pawan,
Greetings from Hotel Golkonda!
It was wonderful to receive your feedback, we are very happy to know that you have liked our food and can compare it to your home food.
Jewel of Nizam is indeed one of the best restaurants of the city and recently it was awarded the best Hyderabadi fine dining restaurant of the city by Times Of India Food award.
We hope you do visit us in your next visit to Hyderabad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A fabulous hotel if you want to stay midway between the city and the airport. Rooms are fabulous for relaxing or working, although the window offers very little in terms of a city view, but the location and everything else make up for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corfumumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Firstly many thanks for rating us on the Tripadvisor, it is very motivating for all the Golkonda team to receive such a positive feedback.
We always strive hard to maintain a high level of service and feedback like this will only motivate us to even do better.
Once again many thanks for the feedback and i hope to serve you in your next visit as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

we were to this place - which was all incl. offer and experience was quite good, the food and buffet spread too is nice, pool , gym all is well attended, moreover your events too could be managed, hospitality too is good, make sure reaching this place is pre-arrange with resort.

Room Tip: all rooms are good - but opt for one away from main lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Golkonda Hotel.
Firstly many thanks for the feedback, and we at the Golkonda hotel are happy to know that you liked all the aspects of the Hotel.
We hope you will visit us in your next visit as well if you visit Hyderabad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Banjara Hills
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Hyderabad Banjara Hills
The Park Hyderabad
#25 of 318 in Hyderabad
1,689 reviews
Gunfoundry
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#31 of 318 in Hyderabad
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#29 of 318 in Hyderabad
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golkonda Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Hyderabad

Property: The Golkonda Hyderabad
Address: | Banjara Hills, Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Hyderabad 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshingly all new four star business chic hotel in a Heart of Hyderabad and only moments away from the citys main commercial, IT, shopping and entertainment hubs. Beautifully furnished in contemporary style, provides a distinctive level of luxury, comfort and value for money, also the gateway hotel to the city from the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Golkonda Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golkonda Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing