We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must try for the quality of food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golkonda Hyderabad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Golkonda Hyderabad to your Saves list
The Golkonda Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   | Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India (Banjara Hills)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
"LOWEST PRICE GUARANTEE"
Ranked #29 of 300 Hotels in Hyderabad
Vijayawada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must try for the quality of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for a relative's wedding reception few months ago. Though the hotel seems to be a bit smaller in size when compared to the other star hotels in Twin Cities loved the ambience over here. The stay was quite comfortable. Jewel of Nizams restuarant is a must try@Golconda.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajendraPrasad600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    288
    71
    13
    15
See reviews for
131
81
85
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights, arriving at 7:15 in the morning with a reservation document mentioning check in time was 9 AM onward. Reception staff wanted to bill us for half a day extra. Fair enough, 7:15 is not 9 but nevertheless I found it a bit churlish though not incorrect. We decided to just have a long, leisurely breakfast at the buffet instead and sit it out until 9. Buffet breakfast was indeed good, with excellent veg/non veg options, Indian as well as western. Anyway, around 8 AM the reception staff relented and agreed to give us the room without supplement. The room was nice, clean and good value for money. We used the travel desk to book a car + driver twice. Negotiation about the price is required but certainly possible. What irked me though was that in spite of my repeatedly insisting on the fact that the driver needed to be there on time, he was late twice, with the guy at the travel desk lying to my face about the cause ('he has just gone for gas, sir' followed by a 20 minute wait while they were scrambling around to locate a driver and car to begin with, speaking hindi without knowing I could understand them). Mistakes happen but when they happen, assume responsibility and apologise, don't try to fudge things or lie to the customer. This lead to some unpleasantness as I withheld part of the payment for one trip. Other than the travel desk staff I have to say that the other personnel were unfailingly very friendly, helpful and polite. I'm used to staying in business hotels but for some reason the Golconda exudes an air of homeliness with a personal touch in spite of being quite a big place. A special mention goes to the Hyderabadi cuisine restaurant which serves REALLY good, tasty food with impeccable service and has a decent and not overpriced wine list. Special mention goes to the tandoori lobster and the indian breads. All things considered a good stay and I'd return there but the travel desk experience left a bit of a sour aftertaste. I hesitate between giving 3 or 4 stars, 3.5.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenophon2NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Golkonda in January of 2012 and found it to be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The rooms were interesting, beautiful and clean. The service was outstanding. The staff was always ready to help in every way.

We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet which offered both Indian and western food, but why eat pancakes when you can have dosa and idly?

On our final night, we dined in the formal restaurant and loved it. Live traditional music added to the excellent South Indian cuisine.

We have already reserved a room for our return visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edsachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This property is centrally located in very close proximity to the Railway station, Main shopping areas and also within the Airport's reach. The location is quite exciting because Abids, Koti and Lakdikapool areas are nearer and with a slew of multiplexes, complexes and chain stores within reach. The Ambience within the hotel, the restaurant, the breakfast serving South Indian delicacies with Hot steaming Filter coffee and Masala Tea to wash down the hot, jasmine soft idlis are some of the main features. The chef's here are real wizards in the kitchen. Worth staying with with family and friends. This was my first time but would continue to patronise this property for some time to come.

Room Tip: Not many views from the room though but the rooms facing the pool and the main road is worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAJESH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is reasonably close to the airport, a 45 min drive, as well as close to the central areas of Banjara Hills and Jubilee Hills.

The staff is well groomed and courteous. People at reception are very efficient and I have never spent more than 2-3 minutes for check in.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bed and pillow are of of the highest quality and definitely match the standards of Taj & Oberoi. The food ordered over room service is nice, though not superlative. You would be tempted to walk to the Paradise takeaway which is about 100 meters from the hotel.

The buffet breakfast could be much better. Its a standard basic fare, nothing to write about. Hyderabad is known for the excellent food, and this hotel needs to do some work on that front.

Overall a very comfortable place to stay in. Would continue to visit.

Room Tip: The view from rooms is not great. Avoid the ones facing the road, else you would be viewing the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit_Bhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel for one day during some technical confrence. I have enjoyed herwith great food with south flavour. Location of this hotel is also good.

Finnaly i would prefer this hotel in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veerugcet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is very much located in the centre of Hyderabad, and stands out as a beacon of civilisation among the urban misery. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and offer sufficient desk space for working on a notebook computer. The main restaurant facilities are good, yet somewhat basic, but they also offer Western style food, which is a boon to those not used to Indian food. For the lovers of the latter, there is an excellent Indian restaurant on the premises. The hotel is close to some good shopping malls, as well as the excellent Hard Rock Cafe, which is a must to visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gunterseydack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
The Park Hyderabad
#30 of 300 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Mrugavani Resort & Spa
#51 of 300 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aalankrita Resort
#32 of 300 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Courtyard Hyderabad
#21 of 300 in Hyderabad
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 300 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golkonda Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Hyderabad

Property: The Golkonda Hyderabad
Address: | Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#28 Best Value Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Hyderabad 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshingly all new four star business chic hotel in a Heart of Hyderabad and only moments away from the citys main commercial, IT, shopping and entertainment hubs. Beautifully furnished in contemporary style, provides a distinctive level of luxury, comfort and value for money, also the gateway hotel to the city from the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Golkonda Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golkonda Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing