We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golkonda Hyderabad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golkonda Hyderabad
Ranked #34 of 305 Hotels in Hyderabad
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

My stay at The Golkonda, Hyderabad was pleasant & comfortable. The hotel is great for business travelers. Room Service & Food is steep. The hotel is in the heart of the city. Great restaurant. Good service.F&B is on the higher side. I would say a decent 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praksun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEGOLKONDA, General Manager at The Golkonda Hyderabad, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at The Golkonda Hotel, Hyderabad and for your valued feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its associated services.
It is our constant endeavor at The Golkonda-Hyderabad to deliver an unsurpassed customer experience with an exquisite range of facilities to match.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the The Golkonda-Hyderabad.
Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    320
    78
    17
    17
See reviews for
148
87
89
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days while doing research in Hyderabad. The location is great as it is pretty much in the middle of the city and right at the end of the flyover that takes you toward the airport. The Old Town is about 15-30 minutes away by autorickshaw and the Hussein Sagar Lake is just 10 minutes away.

I had a standard room which was really nice, not big but for one person it was fine. The bed was really comfortable and I loved the bathroom with the spacious shower cabin.
The only downside of my room was that it was facing the little garden on the back of the hotel where some evenings there were parties going on with loud music that literally made it impossible doing anything in the room - I couldn't even hear the TV when I turned it on. On the other hand rooms on the other side of the hotel face a very busy street so maybe the occasional party is to prefer... There is free wireless internet in the room which is great!
The swimmingpool is also a nice place to relax although it is a bit exposed (people in nearby buildings can see you while you sunbathe or swim, and it feels a bit awkward as in India normally I like to cover up as much as possible when out in public so as not to offend anyone...).
I usually had dinner in the hotel (room service), the food is good but the vegetarian choices were a bit limited. I do recommend the biryani from the "Jewel of Nizam" restaurant in the hotel, very good!
Overall it was a good place to stay in while in Hyderabad and I recommend it to anyone planning on visiting the city that is looking for a nice, clean and friendly but not super luxurious place to stay.

Oh and a tip for the hotel management: TURN OFF the music in the corridors, it is extremely annoing as you can hear it also from inside the room...after a few days it will drive anyone crazy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmaae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

For me as a busness traveller free Wi-Fi and parking is enough to make my self happy.Above this a restaurant, bar, outdoor pool, fitness center and a 24-hour front desk.

Air-conditioned room with a minibar and coffee/tea making facilities adds up to my busness work.

You must try Hyderabadi Dum Biryani in restaurants

An outdoor swimming pool, and provides BBQ, as well as laundry and dry cleaning facilities. Airport shuttle takes you to the airport without any truble.

Room Tip: You must try Hyderabadi Dum Biryani in restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merajulhaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My daughter and I just returned from our trip to Hyderabad. We had a wonderful stay at the Golkonda. The front desk staff were very helpful, the room was very clean and spacious, the food at the hotel restaurant was delicious, and the location was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this part of India.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minnesotafarmkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Perfect for business travelers. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Polite staff, Fantastic restaurant serving authentic delicacies. Centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Varunkapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
353 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

The location is what works for the hotel.Very close to banjara hills.
I was told that the property was recently renovated,but quite honestly the rooms are very average.
The staff could do better with some more training.had only one meal at the restaurant "Jewels of Nizam".The food was bad and the music too loud.
Thankfully there are nice eating options in the vicinity so managed the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UrbanNomad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Hotel is centrally located. It is recognised by the locals. It is aptly named i.e. to match with the location in the City. The bar has very good range of brands and my choice was available and so is the case with my colleagues. Breakfast is lavish. What I enjoyed is the very good spread of south Indian varieties. Other preparations are of average quality. Rooms are good and not reflecting luxury. But the bed and pillow quality is tempting. I had good sleep there on both the days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmanokaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Gunfoundry
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#29 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
The Park Hyderabad
#26 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#28 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Banjara Hills
Ohri's Banjara
Ohri's Banjara
#43 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
BEST WESTERN Ashoka
#60 of 305 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golkonda Hyderabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golkonda Hyderabad

Property: The Golkonda Hyderabad
Address: | Banjara Hills, Masab Tank, Hyderabad 500028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad > Banjara Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#23 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golkonda Hyderabad 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refreshingly all new four star business chic hotel in a Heart of Hyderabad and only moments away from the citys main commercial, IT, shopping and entertainment hubs. Beautifully furnished in contemporary style, provides a distinctive level of luxury, comfort and value for money, also the gateway hotel to the city from the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Golkonda Hyderabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golkonda Hyderabad Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing