We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wrong assessment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids
Ranked #2 of 270 Hyderabad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wrong assessment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went to this hotel based on Trip advisor's comments "heritage but good price" There was nothing heritage about it! We had a 3 bedroom which was probably located in the old servants quarters. Basic with terrible entrance in the backbuilding. Maybe the main building is really heritage but we felt tricked. Not worth the money. Service was good though and the room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank ailenroc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilagirimithun23, Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Hyderabad .We are noted that you had a bad experience with rooms allocated .Please do accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have recently completed the exterior painting of the hotel building as the final part of hotel renovation process of rooms and guest entrance towards the newly constructed wing under process.

We always endeavour to meet and indeed exceed our guest’s expectations, and please do accept my sincere apologies as we haven’t been able to meet your expectations.

Please do let me know whenever you travel to Hyderabad next, it will be my pleasure to make your reservation in our new wing. I am confident that our renovated rooms will be better suited for you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience and we sincerely hope that our hotel becomes your preferred "home" in Hyderabad

Warm regards,
N.Mithun
Manager –Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    77
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
69
28
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was a pleasant from the word go. I did not expect such levels of service and luxury at such a low price band. This is also a heritage property and you are likely to get more value than you ever expected. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The service is very pleasant and does not give room for complaining! I have decided to make this a regular place during my future visits. Being located on Abids road it is extremely well located to every part of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ashok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilagirimithun23, Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Hyderabad .We are elated to note that you had a great stay and took time off to post your compliments to the team at the hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to note that you found our hotel centrally located with good ambiance, service and clean rooms with the staff willing to go that extra mile with a smile to take care of every guest need. Our associates are indeed our strength and they make all the difference to the guest experience at our hotel. Your compliments have been passed on to them.

Thank you once again and we too look forward to welcoming you back to TAJ MAHAL, Abids sometime soon.

Warm regards,
N.Mithun
Manager –Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Free lancer masseurs on prowl, wonder how hotel authorities let them near guest room areas, they come and knock the door and disturb our sleep & privacy. Wi fi coverage poor. Room service not efficient

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank C V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilagirimithun23, Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing us on Trip Advisor.

We are very concerned to note that we did not live up to your expectations during this particular stay of yours. We are sorry that the internet connectivity was slow and you found service is bad.

Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we assure you that we will make every effort to correct the situation. The team is looking forward to showcase a much improved performance on your next stay with us.

Request you to let us know of your future travel plans, wherein I will be happy to personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us.Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to remain your hotel of choice, whenever you visit Hyderabad!

Warm regards,
Mithun
Manager –Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I travel to hyderabad almost every month n i found out that for a solo female traveller i could feel safe at the Taj Mahal.i do receive a good welcome.
Its worth a stay for a short visit in the city.i would recommend the hotel to any solo female traveller.
Thank you to the staff for all cooperation given every time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank kaushika b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nilagirimithun23, Manager at Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to have your stay with us recently and we are delighted to note that you found our hotel one of the safest for individual lady travelers. Thank you for taking time off to review us on TripAdvisor and for posting a very positive feedback.

We are glad to note that you found our hotel centrally located good staff. Thank you for all the compliments that you have showered on our team and the same is sure to go a long way in motivating everyone to strive for continued excellence.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to remain your hotel of choice, whenever you visit Hyderabad!

Warm Regards,
Mithun –Manager Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food quality of Taj Mahal Abids is very nice. The rooms were comfortable and service was also good. I never faced any issues with the hotel whenever I traveled Hyderabad. The location is alright for those whoever likes to stay around the market place for shopping.

Room Tip: You can go for Junior Suit. The rates are not high moreover you will get a a lot of space. Better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicabachchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel had excellent room service. Ac dint work in my room n there was no use of the assist. Food was great. There was no supply of hot water, had to give bucket to housekeeping. All in all ya a good deal from Cleartrip..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank SHARAT I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had travelled to hyderabad in october,2012 and stayed at Taz Mahal. Its a old hotel with very good service. Very well maintained ,spacious and friendly staff. Don't miss the BF which can be ordered in your room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cool_bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Gunfoundry
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#29 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
BEST WESTERN Ashoka
#59 of 305 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Banjara Hills
The Golkonda Hyderabad
The Golkonda Hyderabad
#35 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Geetanjali
#51 of 305 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Treebo Kubeera Palace
#52 of 305 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Banjara Hills
Ohri's Banjara
Ohri's Banjara
#43 of 305 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids
Address: 4 - 1 - 999 Abid Road, Hyderabad 500001, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 270 B&Bs / Inns in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TMH Abids is home away from home. A choice of rooms and restaurants right in the heart of the city make this hotel a preferred choice. Generations of guests have become our patrons who vouch for the signature hospitality of the Taj Mahal Hotel. Frequented by business travellers and holiday revellers alike, this resplendent property is not just aesthetically pleasing but also equipped with a world of amenities and immaculate service. One of Hyderabad’s oldest and evergreen place for vegetarian food and hospitality. TMH Abids is the place where guests head to, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. An all-day dining place that offers nothing short of a multi-cuisine experience, the three restaurants dish out appetising dishes. TMH Abids has welcomed generations of epicureans who like to indulge into a world of cuisine or who simply love to gorge on the delicious masala dosas and idly vadas. Fastidious by nature, with each passing year quality and consistency get top priority with the bar being raised with every meal made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing