We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel with a Fantastic Restaurant in the Heart of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids
Ranked #2 of 274 Hyderabad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Hotel with a Fantastic Restaurant in the Heart of the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Located in the heart of the Hyderabad city in Abids, I stayed for a day here. Although, it was in the middle of a busy shopping location, the noise did not penetrate into the room. The deluxe room was comfortable with neat and clean sheets. The AC was very efficient. The coffee/tea maker was very useful. Room service was excellent. The interiors can be done better. The attached toilet needs to be upgraded. There was a problem with the running hot water and the mixer. Food was from the attached restaurant. The vegetarian spread was excellent but spicy and hot. Travel desk was not efficient. If one needs to travel to the airport or any other destination, it is better to reconfirm the bookings. The hotel accepts all credit cards. And beware of touts and auto and taxi drivers, as they make take you some other Taj Mahal Hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cancer_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
72
29
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed during a visit with wife and son

Excellent & Central Location. Hotel has good, clean & comfortable rooms. Rooms are generally large but the AC is adequate. Price is value for money

The attached restaurant seves awesome south indian food, though some one not used to Andhra fare may find it spicy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srinivasan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

Situated in Banjara Hills, overlooking its own private lake, this hotel offers tranquil relaxation, spacious comfort and excellent amenities. The hotel is just a 10-minute drive from the bustling business and shopping districts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

They need to change the interiors and make sure rooms are clean. The south indian food is awesome though

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lolopot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

The hotel hav 20 spacious and sophisticated rooms. Rooms are divided into Superior and Deluxe rooms. All the rooms are stylish and comfortable having the guest amenities like international direct dial facility, channel music, minibar, tea/ coffee makers and colored television. any one can feel very comfortable wen a person stays there.Since the hotel is located at the heart of the city that is abida we can go to any tourist place if the visit was for trip.the food was damn dilicious OMG i cant stop eating

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Hacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

I thought I had booked at one of the other Taj's - there are several in the city, and I would recommend staying in the one in the Abids area. This hotel was distanced from all the tourist sights, and a lot of the autorickshaws wouldn't use their meters because they considered the hotel out of the city.

I didn't have hot water once during my entire stay. I mentioned this to the management and they assured me I would have it on my last morning. I did not. I called the front desk and they said that somone would be up to fix it in five minutes. They never came. The management later told me that the entire hotel had had a water problem - this was symptomatic of the entire weekend - every time I expressed a problem, they would shift blame elsewhere.

The hotel arranged for me to catch a tourist bus to a nearby sight. They said the bus would be at the hotel at 8 and that I would reach the destination by 9. The bus showed up at 8:30 and we didn't get to the attraction until 10:45. By that point I couldn't stay because I had a late-afternoon flight, so I just returned to the hotel.

When I was ready to leave the managment convinced me to take a cab to the airport rather than an autorickshaw. They called a cab company and told me it would be a 30 minute wait. After an hour, several phone calls, and little acknowledgment from the management, no cab had arrived and I ended up taking an auto after all. I cut it very close to my fight time.

Overall a huge disappointment. Pass this up for a spot in the busier and more-centrally located Abids area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey_Underall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Gunfoundry
Royalton Hotel
Royalton Hotel
#28 of 306 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
BEST WESTERN Ashoka
#63 of 306 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Banjara Hills
The Golkonda Hyderabad
The Golkonda Hyderabad
#32 of 306 in Hyderabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treebo Kubeera Palace
#51 of 306 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Hotel Geetanjali
#48 of 306 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
The Manohar Hyderabad
#59 of 306 in Hyderabad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids

Property: Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids
Address: 4 - 1 - 999 Abid Road, Hyderabad 500001, India
Location: India > Telangana > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TMH Abids is home away from home. A choice of rooms and restaurants right in the heart of the city make this hotel a preferred choice. Generations of guests have become our patrons who vouch for the signature hospitality of the Taj Mahal Hotel. Frequented by business travellers and holiday revellers alike, this resplendent property is not just aesthetically pleasing but also equipped with a world of amenities and immaculate service. One of Hyderabad’s oldest and evergreen place for vegetarian food and hospitality. TMH Abids is the place where guests head to, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. An all-day dining place that offers nothing short of a multi-cuisine experience, the three restaurants dish out appetising dishes. TMH Abids has welcomed generations of epicureans who like to indulge into a world of cuisine or who simply love to gorge on the delicious masala dosas and idly vadas. Fastidious by nature, with each passing year quality and consistency get top priority with the bar being raised with every meal made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Taj Mahal Hotel, Abids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing