We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Andaman”
Review of Andaman Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Andaman Residency
Ranked #25 of 78 Port Blair B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is one of the best hotel to stay with reasonable price . The service is excellent and the staffs are good asset to the hotel. The hotel is located near by the Airport. Breakfast is good and the maintenance of the hotel is also good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank RanjithRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Andaman Residency
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 134 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was in this hotel in November 2012. I booked this hotel before leaving for the trip as it looked quite nice. No, I was wrong. From the outside it looks nice, but once inside it's a different story. The guys of the lobby are very slow in doing anything. After a long waiting for them to fill I don't know which paperwork as I already filled all the papers, I was given the chance to enter the room. The room was a little damp, we had an air-con which was shooting a blizzard-cold-smoke in our room. Yes, it looked like smoke or mist. The bathroom looked not-so-clean and the water from the sink was dirty. Luckily I slept only a night in this shed and the next morning I left early. The breakfast had been horrible too. The order was simple "toasted bread and coffee", the answer was "it's ok Nescafè???". Ok, it's not real coffee, but it's ok... The guy took me coal-burnt bread slices with mysteriously were like gummy rubber, ice-hard butter, yellow jam with some weird back things inside and terrible smelling tea. I complained asking, at least, the coffee. After an almost endless time of waiting they took me a clear coffee that tasted like tea and iron. Horrible. Why I didn't give them a lower rate to this hotel? Because this time I didn't find leachers in my bed and water in the bathroom was running, not like in the reviews in which I gave lower rate. I can't suggest this place to anybody.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A decent hotel and very good service. Food was good and tasty. Trip arrangements are fair. Good & friendly people. Location of the property is on the main and convenient. In short worth for the amount paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VijiGNambiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

DON'T BOOK HERE!!!! I had a confirmed reservation and had PAID in full for my booking but upon arrival to the hotel they claimed to have NO record of the reservation and NO room.....???? Even after showing my printout with the confirmation, they just scratched their heads and said i would have to find another place to stay and work to get a refund when i returned home!!! OUTRAGEOUS!!

Room Tip: Try Port Meridan instead!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
2  Thank taoman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Cleartrip traveler
Mumbai
11
Reviewed January 1, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank A Cleartrip traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I am Dr.sen

Andaman residency's good hospitality, veg and non veg food,service, rooms, arrangements were excellent, we r satisfied for the money we paid, and also very good internet facility. totally this residency is located a good location.

Room Tip: higher floors have less A/c unit noise
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senthilthukaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

One word can describe the hotel..... Horrible...
Staff should be fired immediately.We went around the world including India visiting so many places but I have never seen such lazy staff in a hotel. We waited for almost like 45 mins as the guy who was supposed to make the room ready for the next guest was sleeping. As half of the money has to be paid before your reach and the other half on the very first day, you are left out with no option but to bear the pain of staying in ANDAMAN RESIDENCY. For each and every item you have to tell them at least 3-4 times. The rooms in the basement are damp and wet and thats the one they will give you in the first instance (and say all other rooms are booked). After a chat with the invisible manager Mr. Jacob over the phone you may get a room upstairs. No relief here also, one or the other electric connection in not working be it light or fan or no water is comming in the bathroom. At the end you will say, let it be and give a pass. Each day I saw atleast two guest shouting with the front desk manager about the hotel or the facility and in the time one left. You can imagine the situation.

My only advice, Management please take of your hotel or shut it down. Don't take guest for granted. Get rid of the old staff and get a new batch.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank soumen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
0.9 mi away
Aashiaanaa Residency Inn
Aashiaanaa Residency Inn
#18 of 33 in Port Blair
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shelter at Sea
The Shelter at Sea
#3 of 78 in Port Blair
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Velocity
Hotel Velocity
#38 of 78 in Port Blair
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Seaview Residency
The Seaview Residency
#1 of 78 in Port Blair
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kevins
Kevins
#2 of 78 in Port Blair
20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#12 of 78 in Port Blair
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Residency

Address: J N Road | beside Sagaritara Primary School, Premnagar, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Port Blair
Price Range: $20 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Andaman Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Andaman Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Residency Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing