We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay @ Megapode”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Megapode Nest
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Port Blair
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our stay @ Megapode”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was a nice place. Booked a sea view room and it was awesome view. Food is descent and value for money. I recommend this for honeymooners. Do book the sea view rooms. They are a bit on the higher end but worth the money spent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinayKamath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    154
    61
    18
    14
See reviews for
124
151
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We visited Andaman and Nicobar In December 2012. We stayed for 2 days and it was the best stay. It is near to airport hence very easy to travel and all visiting points are very close.
The hotel is simple and luxurious at the same time. Rooms are awesome and and comfortable. The food service is nice and have many delicious food items. The hotel restaurant is having an amazing view of the sea. The stay was awesome and have many sweet memories as well.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea face view are costly, but normal rooms are also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namrata S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in Megapode Resort,Port Blair for 3 days in April 2013. We had a great time out here in the resort. The rooms were quite spacious with all amenities. The restaurant was really good with buffet/A-la-carte facility. Food quality was great. The location of the resort was awesome and the beautiful sea view from the balcony was really excellent.

I really recommend this resort for your holidays in Port Blair.

Check out my blog on Andaman Visit here: http://jiteshpurkait.com/blog.html

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms,Bamboo cottages have the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JiteshPurkait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very good view.Very poor rooms.Very poor food quality. I booked this hotel as it was a 3 star property.I had to change two rooms.I had opted in for a bamboo room.in the first room the phone was not working, the reception and the restaurant is pretty far away from the room.in The second room the fan was not working. There are no remote control for the air conditioning. The temperature is fixed. Finally the hotel shifted me to Andaman and Nicobar cottage the next day.I must say this room is excellent. Excellent view of the ocean from the cottage. All in all its good if you are looking for budget stay and not for luxury stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronakpopat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I Stayed in this Hotel from April 4th till 9th.My experience in this hotel is mixed.Stayed for 3 full days in Bamboo Cottage(132) and Standard room (105).I would rate the Standard Room to be superior than its doubly priced bamboo Cottage.When enquired, it is stated " Bamboo is not renovated".Felt the Standard and Semi Deluxe rooms are better Very much Spacious,well lit with good LCD TV, Refrigerator,Hot water kettle and Shower Panels in bathrooms, The last is missing in Bamboo cottage.Also some pest control has to be done in Bamboo cottage.I felt I should have stayed in Deluxe room the whole part of my stay.
The Complimentary breakfast is a good option but not with a very good spread, Only basics.
South Indian choices are good. Lunch and Dinner , please do try out some other places,for Veg choices restaurent of Blue Sea hotel is very good.
Travel Desk is a mess, It is not that worth to book a trip or cab from them ,they charge as they wish.The only help was they booked my cruise ticket for MV MAkruzz.That is the only thing they did good.Also they expect you to hold change as if it is a govt Bus.
Front desk is good ,They responded to my booking enquiries as well.Salim of Reservation Desk was very much helpful.But he could have given me a hint of Deluxe room better than bamboo cottages.thanks Salim.
yes, I will stay in this hotel if I return to Andamans.

Room Tip: Do not book Bamboo Cottage especially 132 133 as it needs renovation,Nicobari cottage should be good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel through Andaman Holidays and were really surprised after going there. It was not like other government hotels and is quite well maintained. The sea view from hotel is amazing, the service is prompt and food was quite good. The room tariff is quite reasonable and the rooms are quite spacious, with LCD TV, AC etc. We stayed there with my family from 10th Oct 2011 - 12th Oct 2011 in a Deluxe room.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cosmoss_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. Unlike many govt hotels, this is well maintained, and clean. Most importantly, the online booking works well.

Rooms : Stayed in both bamboo cottage(133) and deluxe room(111). Both were excellent but would go for deluxe room which was better than the higher priced bamboo cottage in terms of value for money and cleanliness. Both the rooms were spacious and overlooked the harbor and mountains. The rooms were provided with soap, towels, shampoo, good big tv.

Location : Not so far from the city center yet well placed.

Service : Room service was good. Travel desk at the reception (not govt run) was very helpful but found their packages too expensive.

Food : The restaurant tables/cutlery is not very clean but the food was hot.Breakfast buffet was decent. We always had the al-carte for other meals and it was not bad.Food in general in portblair was very expensive and not many options available.


I would recommend this place as the place to stay in portblair.

Room Tip: -Avoid the bamboo cottage: 133. Bad bathroom and view -Please be aware of the service tax on every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.6 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.9 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
22.5 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#3 of 6 in Neil Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#15 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megapode Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megapode Nest

Property: Hotel Megapode Nest
Address: PO Haddo,, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744102, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Megapode Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Megapode Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megapode Nest Hotel
Megapode Nest Port Blair
Hotel Megapode Nest Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing