We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Megapode Nest
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“overall good”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

hotel location is very good....you get sea view from your room.rooms are well maintained,clean.yeah but you need to walk a lot to reach to restaurant. dinner was good.....but breakfast which was complementary was not having options same menu were getting repeated everyday.but if you consider price its costly...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vab1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    154
    61
    18
    14
See reviews for
125
150
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

it's a very good hotel, you can have a great sea view from this hotel, location wise its far from market,room amenities are very good,we stayed in semi-deluxe rooms for 3 nights,morning buffet breakfast was complementary.overall value for money.

Room Tip: we stayed in semi deluxe rooms,nos 115,116 & 117, they are very goodv as per room amenitywise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manash s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

First the good. Excellent location overlooking a picturesque bay. Beautiful property with gardens and sprawling premises.You'll have to be located in a cottage for the view of the sea though. Thats about all thats good.Standard rooms are average. My room no. 105 had hastily painted unevenly fixed painted plywood walls that remind you of a government guest house. The shower was leaking and the hot water geyser would not operate. Since it was only for 1 night I thought it netter tolerated. Service takes time and when the food we ordered finally came, the knives and forks did not. Breakfast is an unimaginative bread /toast / cornflakes/ idli. I was told by my friend who stayed 3 nights, that it was the standard fare for the last 3 days. Extremely slow replenishment of the spread, so prepare to spend some time if you want to have milk with your cornflakes, or use a spoon to eat it with. Cashier messed up the check out process and forgot to give a promised discount. Didn't know how to reverse the Card transaction. If you like a good view, have transportation or a taxi, and can tolerate average service and rooms, this IS the place for you. Recommended for families and couples

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sanhan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The title says it all. Our otherwise rather drab room was infested with bedbugs, we woke up with 40 or 50 bites each. The aftereffects lasted almost a week, the one night here almost ruined the rest of the trip for us. Fortunately we got some remedies from the small hospital on Neil Island. Sent an e-mail to the hotel about it, never heard back from them.

Also, they insisted that we make our own way down to the town so that they could get copies of our passports. For some reason this was impossible for them to do, they almost wouldn't let us get to the room first. Of course you should always carry a couple of copies of your passport when traeling in India, but we had run out, and a hotel of this size should have a photocopier

All in all, even though there are other hotels that are quite nice, we wouldn't recommend anyone to spend time in Port Blair if it can be avoided. Try to get an early flight in so that you make the last ferry to whichever island you're going to.

Room Tip: Check for dark spots under the mattress before you leave your baggage in the room. We should have, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndersLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hi

This is a government hotel which is located far from city and market,rooms are good and the ambience of the hotel and restaurant is nice.the sea view from hotel is very gud.
The food is average ( or if u r food lover its below average)The service is pathetic, even if u call for water they will take more than 30 mins.
I had a bad experience in restaurant as i ordered fish and they brought chicken after a hour.
so its good if u r only staying here and not using the restaurant.

Room Tip: if u select semi deluxe 118 119 is better, ( after 114)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greatprabhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nestled among the greenery and natural beauty is the Megapode Nest Resort- operated by ANIIDCO (a Government Undertaking). It is not a big sprawling hotel, but a decent sized hotel (considering its not 5 star but a 3 star!!). The hotel is located on a hillside that faces the sea. We had booked the "Bamboo Cottage" and could actually view the sea (through the tree-tops) from our balcony. We could also view the boat jetty from where the vessels to Havelock Island departs. Therefore, the hotel is conveniently located. Its about 10-15 mins from the Airport (and all the major places in the city of Port Blair). The breakfast buffet has limited choice (Cornflakes, Omlette, Toast, Tea, Coffee, Juice, Idli (or Appam) with Sambar, Butter, and Jam) but is decent. The dinner spread is also limited but is quite decent. The service and the staff is also good.
The Bamboo Cottage (128/129) offer one of the better views as compared to the normal rooms.
The overall experience at Megapode Nest Resort was quite good.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Cottage (Room 128 or 129) offer better views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in May'12. Rooms are dated but spacious & clean. The best part of this hotel is sea view. Food is not that good. Service is of average level. But the location of the hotel is quite relaxing. All tourist destinations are nearby. Harbor is very close to hotel from where u can catch Macruzz to Havelock island. I will recommend this hotel whoever is planning for Andamans.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manisha05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.6 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
413 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 32 in Port Blair
588 reviews
0.9 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
144 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in Port Blair
329 reviews
22.5 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Megapode Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Megapode Nest

Property: Hotel Megapode Nest
Address: PO Haddo,, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744102, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Megapode Nest 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Megapode Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megapode Nest Hotel
Megapode Nest Port Blair
Hotel Megapode Nest Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing