We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peerless Sarovar Portico
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The flight and ferry times make it mandatory to stay in Port Blair for at least one night. Then Cellular Jail, Ross Island and a few other attractions make this stopover worthwhile...

After visiting Havelock and Neil islands, we stayed for a night in Peerless Sarovar Portico for a night before catching the flight back home. On arriving, we were made to wait for 15-20 minutes as the rooms were not ready. After some time, we were guided to the rooms. I was surprised to see that there were no towels or hand towels in the bathroom and the floor was still damp. Called up the manager to complain. Were told first that he was busy and will call back. He didn't and we called again after 15 minutes. He said he will look in it and revert but didn't.

The room was okay though and the sea view was decent. The breakfast too was okay. The servers were slow though.

Another let down was Room Service. We ordered Dal Makhani and got other kind of Dal. The Tandoori Rotis were rock hard. On complaining they sent fresh chapatis but charged for both.

It is surprising that the hotel charges more than 5000 rupees per night when the facilities are way below par for this rate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maheep1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    153
    73
    30
    18
See reviews for
129
136
4
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is quite secluded and hence quite peaceful. Located on a nice beach front and expansive gardens. Rooms were well appointed. Food was nice, especially the fish fry with chips. Room service was prompt and the staff courteous. Its around 15mins drive from Cellular Jail. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glads777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in Peerless Sarovar Portico at Andaman. The hotel is located at Corbyn's Cove Beach, the only beach in Andaman. Good accomodation. Very good food, a bit costly. It is at a distance from City, so you should have arrangement of local conveyance. It was a delight to see the sunrise at the beach. The beach is not meant foe bath, though.

if i visit Port Blair again, I, certainly would stay here. VALUE FOR MONEY.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajeev_Noida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Imagine a lovely room with a balcony that faces the sea. Sitting on the balcony and listening to the waves as they hit the walls of the cove that you're facing.
Looking at the sun rise over the sea hemmed on both sides by coconut trees.
Going on a tour and doing deep sea diving and snorkeling. A fantastic week of rest and recreation after the hectic schedule of a wedding - a great time to rest with places to tour so close at hand.
A splendid honeymoon in the spick and span luxury of the lovely Peerless Sarovar Portico.

Room Tip: Please stress "sea-facing" or you will enjoy the sea only when taking a walk. Also do be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdsondhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently visited (5th and 6th April 2013) the Port blair -Andaman & Nikobar Islands and stayed there in" Hotel Sarovar" for two days.I enjoyed my stay very much.The hotel is very near to the seashore.There is access to the shore throgh the hotel's gate.The food served is very good.The staff is very courtious.The hotel area as well as surrounding is very calm and quiet.Though the Port blair is part of India,the visit to this hotel as well as tour to Andaman,we fill like we have visited any foreign country.
I feel that sometimes when the hotel brings out any scheme such as "concessional stay Package"for 3days/2nights etc.we should grab the opportunity and save our money by enjoying the Luxery of the Hotel.I enjoyed the stay so much that I will always look for the Chain hotel of the same group,if I visit other part of India.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Satish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Me and my wife visited Port Blair in February, 2010. Our Travel Agent Ramkrishna Travels gave us accommodation in Hotel Sarovar Portico. The Hotel has a very good property having beautiful garden and sea beach. The property is far away from Port Blair town but traveler with personal transport facility is a good place to relax. Good Food and Breakfast served in the restaurant..The rooms have good gallery attached to rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms are on ground floor and first floor. We suggest to get room on First Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Kochitty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and me spent 4 days in this hotel in our honeymoon. This is an excellent hotel. Location-wise its great.The rooms are spacious and clean. We enjoyed the food most, good buffet. All the staffs are great specially the food manager. They take care of us a lot.. Also we have enjoyed candle night dinner there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sumana086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
1.5 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 32 in Port Blair
588 reviews
2.3 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
413 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in Port Blair
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#15 of 32 in Port Blair
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peerless Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peerless Sarovar Portico

Property: Peerless Sarovar Portico
Address: Corbyn's Cove, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peerless Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peerless Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Sarovar Portico Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing