We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very poor indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortune Resort Bay Island
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Port Blair
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very poor indeed”
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I've stayed at some poor hotels in my time but in terms of price to quality ratio this probably comes out worst. We paid over 100$ for a room with a large cockroach, peeling paint and mouse droppings everywhere. This was the third room we'd seen in the hotel in an effort to find something clean.The staff on the whole were friendly but nothing could make up for the sheer neglect evident throughout the place. The Welcom group in Mumbai who run it should be ashamed.

A and J, London, UK

  • Disliked — really dirty
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    196
    135
    42
    32
See reviews for
203
220
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Positives

- nice view from the bar or open dining area outside the coffee shop across the bay, could sit there all day
- inexpensive food and drinks

Drawbacks

- staff could do with quite a bit of training
- rooms desperately need refurbishment
- bed was basically a wooden box, creaked at every movement and had slivers of wood peeling off (where there werent actual holes!)
- would be nice to get the room type one requests at the time of booking
- tiny bathroom in a weird shade of blue
- whenever you go to the restaurant there will be management staff dining there, who will then ignore you despite your being one of only half a dozen guests in house (this was off season)
- no internet
- its no good asking for a car beforehand, staff will still look at you blankly when you reach the reception and ask where it is
- odd interior room decoration, felt like a government guest house with the same senseless and tasteless rudimentary furnishings
- ditto for the (greasy) menu
- why is the pool lit with neon green lights at night??
- indoor games equals one broken table tennis without racquets or balls
- the mini museum is so desperately sad it is to be seen to be believed
- pool looked so filthy nobody dared go in
- your Sheraton Platinum status gets you nowhere as the tie up with Welcomgroup doesnt extend to the Fortune brand
- yet to see the Jet Airways points on my account
- a total of two daily newspapers for the entire hotel are kept in the bar area. Two magazines in the reception area dating from January and May (thank god, 2008)

Definitely not staying there ever again. Could drop in for a Kalyani beer (sorry, no Kingfisher here) and sit at the bar though.

  • Liked — the bar area
  • Disliked — everthing else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nagarjuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Blair hotels

Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2007

Our travel agent booked our stay at the Fortune Bay, even though I had reservations about staying at such an overpriced hotel (I had hoped for someplace like the Megapode or Sinclairs). When our trip was changed due to a canceled ferry, the hotel was unwilling to refund or provide some in-kind compensation for the night we were not able to stay in the hotel, even though we provided the information of our plan changes via our travel agent 3 days in advance. When speaking with the staff, I felt lied to when they denied our efforts at contacting them of the change. When I asked to see the manager regarding the situation, I wasn't even afforded the courtesy of her time. The service was the worst of any of the hotels we stayed at, such as looking for room service for toilet paper and not finding a soul, getting a car to the airport and us having to hold the door closed to keep luggage from falling out, and having to look for people to take our food and drink orders because they didn't seem interested in helping us.

  • Liked — The View was nice
  • Disliked — The Service was terrible
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

This is the default choice for professionals visiting Port Blair. It is part of a chain and seems to understand the basic needs of international travelers.

The rooms themselves are nothing special. The basics are there but be sure to check to see if lights, TV and a/c are in working order when checking in.

For travelers looking for fun in the sun and a romantic getaway there are likely better choices in the Andamans.

Internet is available, at a fee in a small room behind the front desk. There is no net connection in the rooms.

The view from the bar and restaurant is nice, especially in early evening. Food is mostly buffet style but I was able to order a late a la carte breakfast after hours and the wait staff and cook went out of their way to make sure I got properly fed.

One colleague staying here at the same time claims he got very ill from eating a prawn dish at the buffet.

I stayed in two different rooms (the latter, 107 nicer than the first) and there was adequate hot water for showering in both rooms.

  • Liked — View from bar/restaurant
  • Disliked — Architecture for room and most of the hotel lacks any charm
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 7J1AIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Nice place to have the vacation, excellent beaches, great hospitality

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank great_traveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
0.0 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#15 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#9 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 31 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Resort Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Resort Bay Island

Property: Fortune Resort Bay Island
Address: Bay Island, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Resort Bay Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fortune Resort Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Bay Island Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Hotel Bay Island
Fortune Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Resort Bay Island Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing