We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In serious need of a makeover!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortune Resort Bay Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fortune Resort Bay Island
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“In serious need of a makeover!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a long pending review.

The Good:

1. The views from the lobby were wonderful.
2. The food - good variety, nothing memorable, breakfast was the best part. They used to pack us delicious cheese sandwiches, sausages and juice for lunch during our sightseeing trips. Bar was average.
3. Service was good overall.
4. Pool was small but good.

The bad:

1. The rooms - outdated. In serious need of a makeover.

The beaches in Andaman are wonderful, the hotel, not so. Skip this hotel is possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chocoholic101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    193
    128
    41
    29
See reviews for
192
213
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

decent rooms but pathetic washrooms..great view from the restaurant/bar but food sucks coupled with terrible service..place isnt really worth its price in anything..
this place is just not recommended..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manshul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed there for one night and really enjoyed the stay. Views of sea and islands from rooms,restaurant,Bar and swimming pool is really good. Food quality is really hygienic and good. Staff specially is really good and cooperative.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEERAJ2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The concept of the resort going up and down few levels on the hill is interesting.
However, the entire place is in need of renovation.

+++
Great views of the Bay from the terraces

----
Rooms and bathrooms need new fittings
Buffet spread was oily and did not look fresh
Noise isolation is very poor... could hear the neighboring room conversation clearly
Too many staircases not suited for elderly persons

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milou V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We went there to checkin but were so disappointed with the staff attitude and the restaurant service that ran away from there.
The restaurant service guys took ages ....literally 1 hour to come and take the order....only to be told to us that a la carte would take another one hour whereas buffet was available Immediately. Well the buffet stinked and looked very stale ....so we thought we would see the rooms.when we went to check the rooms ....well they were like tiny mouse holes with terrible view....and the toilets looked even worse. Luckily our friend suggested sea shells ....and we left for sea shells which had very good rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trying_little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Blair hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 18 - 22 March 2014.
Plus point - location, very good view
Negative points - not friendly for handicapped and senior citizens, bathrooms are small and badly designed.

Since the property is located on a small hillock, there are many steps to climb up and down to reach your rooms due to which it is not exactly easy for senior citizens. My parents ( age 75+) especially my mother found it extremely tiresome. A thing which is unnecessary and can easily be improved on is that if you want to go to the restaurant you have to climb up 30 stairs, walk a few steps, climb down 30 stairs and come back to the same level again - which makes no sense. And there is no alternate way or ramp for old people / wheelchair. Very insensitive!

A friendly staff member helped my mother out of this ordeal by showing her to use the kitchen door. A short-cut and straight way to the restaurant. It was really helpful.

The rooms are reasonably sized but the bathrooms are quite small, very plain tiles and badly pasted. The general lay out of the bathrooms, the tile work, toilet seats ... all need to be renovated asap. The small swimming pool has sea water in it which is ok but the water needs filtering.

Apart from these negative points it is a good property.

This is a four star hotel by ITC and as one of the staff member pointed out, it is a four star property by Andaman standards. By which, I don't mean bad at all. It is a 13 year old lovely, cozy hotel. It has a wonderful location. The hotel is on a spot from where the photograph displayed on the 20 Rupee note is taken.

The deck has a fantastic view of the bay and is quite breezy and pleasant. One can attain Nirvana by just sitting on the deck, looking at the sea. The restaurant 'Mandalay' serves good food. The breakfast buffets can be a bit boring as they repeat some preparations. A la carte food is good. sitting out in the open for dinner can be a wonderful experience but for mosquitoes. They need to fumigate the place often. But the staff is friendly and helpful.

We saw many locals coming to the Mandalay restaurant for lunch on Saturday. The perfect location and some good food must have made the restaurant a favourite among the locals.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for honeymoon trip, my first starting destination of honeymoon trip, hotel was very well maintained, the view from hotel is excellent, the room and room service was very good except bath area was small, the food quality and taste was good. overall I will recommend people this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
0.0 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#16 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#9 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#3 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#6 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Resort Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Resort Bay Island

Property: Fortune Resort Bay Island
Address: Bay Island, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Resort Bay Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Fortune Resort Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Bay Island Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Hotel Bay Island
Fortune Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Resort Bay Island Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing