We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, ok food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune Resort Bay Island
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Wellington, Tamilnadu
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, ok food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed in the hotel with a group for three days, the hotel location is awesome the view from the restaurant is really great. food serving is just average for such a resort, the food quality is ok but very less variety in the menu. Rooms are ok. Shower knob was broken and was not repaired in three days. Room lighting is also very dim and all pale yellow. Looks like the resort was good at some point of time but lost its charm now. Better to stay in sea shells which is next door.

Room Tip: do ask for room with front sea view and not side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKK2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    203
    135
    42
    34
See reviews for
208
225
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night after returning back from havelock. Very good location as you can see the north by light house from the hotel which was quite a surprise for us.

Food variety at the breakfast is very good.

Rooms were a little too small.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is good. Sea facing rooms have a beautiful view. Rooms are in good size but a bit old. Room service was good. Staffs are very friendly.
Bathrooms are extremely small in size and not that well maintained. Dim lighting in the rooms and bathrooms make the place unsuitable for the children. The rooms, swimming pool and the restaurants can be accessed only through staircases which makes the place unsuitable for the elderly. Food was Ok but does not have variety. Most of the breakfast menu items were repeated for the four days during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumoni98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to Port Blair Fortune on our honeymoon trip and its the only top class hotel available at Port Blair. We have got nice welcome with welcome drink (coconut). Staff was very nice and polite.
Rooms are precious but neat and clean. tho shows some signs of wear and tear. Its got very nice bar where you can seat and relax watching sea. Nice breakfast. Good place for family too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

As other reviews have noted, the rooms in this charming hotel have seen better days, the bathrooms in particular seem rather dated in comparison to other hotels of this size and standard. In fact, the room standard was a bit of a let down, given that the rates are in line with 5 star hotels in other parts of India.
However, the hotel does have a certain charm. The terrace overlooking the bay was a wonderful place to relax with a drink, and the food in the restaurant was some of the best Indian food I tasted in my 3 month stay in India.
Staff were generally very helpful, organising tours and making sure that our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottravel32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamli, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good location, quick formalities at the reception. Stunning view of the sea at the lobby of the hotel. Rooms are not upto the standard of the name of Fortune. The toilets are below standard. all in all not a good experience as we thought in our mind in regard to the brand name. Food is OK not delicious. Overall the hotel is not a value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartygarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The only reason why this Hotel gets an "Average" rating is because of its stunning view of the North Bay light house at the lobby! In all honesty, I was surprised to see that the rooms are not kept upto the standards that we have come to accept from the fortune brand.The bathrooms are the greatest dampeners to your trip. They have god-awful blue tiles and is quite the birdcage. All in all a very bad experience if you are very particular about your bathroom and its cleanliness. However, the hotel somewhat makes up for this inadequacy with the view it offers on its main lobby.Which is its saving grace in this matter! If you ask me, Go try Seashells hotel down the road.Makes your trip that much better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkshayG1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
1.4 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 32 in Port Blair
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
416 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Port Blair
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#14 of 32 in Port Blair
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Resort Bay Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Resort Bay Island

Property: Fortune Resort Bay Island
Address: Bay Island, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Location: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune Resort Bay Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fortune Resort Bay Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Bay Island Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Hotel Bay Island
Fortune Hotel Port Blair
Fortune Resort Bay Island Port Blair, Andaman And Nicobar Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing