We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fortune Resort Bay Island
Nearby Hotels
Anugama Resort(Port Blair)
$61
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sentinel(Port Blair)
$95
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
J Hotel(Port Blair)
$59
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$50
$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Haywizz(Port Blair)
$50
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaShell, Port Blair(Port Blair)
$119
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sinclairs Bay View(Port Blair)
$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The North Reef(Port Blair)
$73
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveler rating
158
216
143
45
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
216
143
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnico barsea facing roommandalay restaurantrupee noteneeds renovationwooden flooringlight housetravel desktable tenniscoconut waterwelcome drinkexcellent viewsea breezeview of the baynorth baybeautiful propertyreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 598 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed in this property long time back but overall experience was good. Actually one of my friend's friend was posted at Naval base there so he arranged for stay in three different hotels in our 10 days stay in Port Blair. Out of those 3 we found Fortune resort bay island best in terms of Ambience, Location, and Service

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing near pool room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBhardwaj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I will remember this hotel for its location. With a scarcity of five star hotels in Port Blair I was not very sure when I booked this hotel on booking.com. I found it expensive but the best based of reviews online.

Its an old style property with wooden floors, a very open layout and a spectacular view of the Bay of Bengal. Its the view that blew my mind when I walked into the hotel and that is what will stay with me.

Its overpriced given that its not a premium hotel and an old property without world class amenities. The rooms are nice and spacious with huge french windows into the balcony. There is an old model TV, fridge and music system in the room. This reminded me of the early 90s.

The hotel staff are polite and helpful. The breakfast spread was super tasty and the Nico Bar was well stocked.

Definitely a place to stay if visiting Port Blair.

Room Tip: Make sure you are booking a sea facing room. An absolute must.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPallavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is ideally located on picturesque point really gives lot of relaxing. Wonderfully made of wooden structure over looking the Bay of Bengal. The swimming pool was not functional, the rooms gives a peculiar smell but got used to after a while, bath rooms are too small and not of great maintenance while looking at the promoter, the ITC group. The service is good and the food quality is good.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Bay of Bengal in my view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venugoapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Without a doubt, this should be the best property in Port Blair. Excellent food topped with a further great service! The staff make you feel very important :)

The size of the rooms and especially bathrooms could have been bigger considering what they charge. The wooden floor smells in a peculiar way, although this was not a put-off.

I would recommend that one should stay this property if you can get this in your budget. When checked out, I made a promise to myself that I will come back to Andamans and stay in this property again...really nice experience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swami_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I visited the Andaman and Nicobar islands last week with my wife and stayed at the splendid Fortune Resort Bay Island ( courtesy a cheap’n’best 5n/6d package by 99andaman.com) bordering the Marine Hills in Port Blair. This is probably the best restaurant in Port Blair and when compounded with the beauty of the idyllic beaches bordering the resort the beauty of this resort is really unparalleled.

Being a part of the famous ITC group the Fortune Resort Bay Island was a tad bit expensive on extra services( dryclean.fone,landline,laundry etc) but the comfort and convenience justified the cost. Almost all rooms opened to a view of the Bay of Bengal, and hence the choice of rooms makes little importance. However the rooms on the corner provided the best view because of its panoramic feature and hence if available these should be on your radar.

We got a room in the ground floor on the eastern side facing the sea as well as the garden. The room was around 50 sqmt in area and was replete with all the facilities you would expect in a far off island. The room balcony provided an amazing view, something which we again enjoyed from the restaurant and the Bar.

The Service is excellent and the staff were very well mannered and always ready to help. The manager also liked giving personalized attention and reserved a table for us on most days from where the sight was again breath taking. Amidst this entire quixotic milieu the food invariably felt delicious.

The bar is known as the "Nico Bar" was superb and had a wide collection of wines and had good options to choose from. Although there was only one restaurant at the resort but the delectable preparation and smiling chef made up for it in more ways than one. Overall, it was a great experience and would gladly recommend this resort to everyone travelling to Andaman.

Room Tip: all rooms open up to sea
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sanchit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews